The Audyssey Pro Installer Kit Thread (FAQ in post #1) - Page 45 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1321 of 5614 Old 03-15-2012, 05:55 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
sdrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Hey guys,
Just got my own Pro kit, and I have a simple question:
Is the mike holder supposed to be so, well, loosely attached to the boom arm? I screwed in the boom holder as per the diagram on Page 7 of the Pro guide and attached the mike through the hole on the holder, and it seems that if I lower the boom too much, the mike holder keeps coming off. The holder will stay in place, but only if I don't angle the boom too much. That's a bit of a problem, since I'm trying to measure by having either the tripod behind our sofa in a very tight position to avoid moving the MLP, or have the tripod nudged behind one corner of the sofa and my one of my subwoofers.

Other than adhesive, any ideas about how to keep the boom more stable so I can keep the mike holder stable, and the mike pointed straight up?

Thanks,
Stuart

Stuart

 

Denon 4311 with XT32 and Audyssey Pro

Oppo 93 and 103

Panasonic VT50

Sherwood R-972 with its version of the Trinnov Optimizer

MiniDSP 10x10 HD

PSB Imagine T2, Center, and Surrounds (as of 5/2014); HSU ULS-15 subs (2)

 

The Audyssey FAQ Guide can be found here:

http://www.avsforum.com/...

sdrucker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1322 of 5614 Old 03-15-2012, 06:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 6,839
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 650
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdrucker View Post

Hey guys,
Just got my own Pro kit, and I have a simple question:
Is the mike holder supposed to be so, well, loosely attached to the boom arm? I screwed in the boom holder as per the diagram on Page 7 of the Pro guide and attached the mike through the hole on the holder, and it seems that if I lower the boom too much, the mike holder keeps coming off. The holder will stay in place, but only if I don't angle the boom too much. That's a bit of a problem, since I'm trying to measure by having either the tripod behind our sofa in a very tight position to avoid moving the MLP, or have the tripod nudged behind one corner of the sofa and my one of my subwoofers.

Other than adhesive, any ideas about how to keep the boom more stable so I can keep the mike holder stable, and the mike pointed straight up?

Thanks,
Stuart

I'm having difficulty picturing what is going on here. The mic holder screws onto the end of the boom, and the set screw tightens it down. So that shouldn't be the problem. Then you stick the mic into the holder, which is a rubber ring. The mic is slender at the top, and thicker at the bottom. You need to push the mic far enough into the holder so the holder is gripping the thick part of the mic. It take a bit of effort to slide it all the way in. Once the mic is in place, the holder should have a firm grip on it, and there should be no chance if it falling out.

Now, where is the issue?

Edit: take a picture if necessary.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #1323 of 5614 Old 03-15-2012, 06:32 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
sdrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post


I'm having difficulty picturing what is going on here. The mic holder screws onto the end of the boom, and the set screw tightens it down. So that shouldn't be the problem. Then you stick the mic into the holder, which is a rubber ring. The mic is slender at the top, and thicker at the bottom. You need to push the mic far enough into the holder so the holder is gripping the thick part of the mic. It take a bit of effort to slide it all the way in. Once the mic is in place, the holder should have a firm grip on it, and there should be no chance if it falling out.

Now, where is the issue?

Edit: take a picture if necessary.

Will do if needed....but you may have helped answer my question with that answer about the set screw. I'll find out later tonight once I get the living room to myself again. The issue was with the holder and the boom. Probably a stupid newbie thing....

Stuart

 

Denon 4311 with XT32 and Audyssey Pro

Oppo 93 and 103

Panasonic VT50

Sherwood R-972 with its version of the Trinnov Optimizer

MiniDSP 10x10 HD

PSB Imagine T2, Center, and Surrounds (as of 5/2014); HSU ULS-15 subs (2)

 

The Audyssey FAQ Guide can be found here:

http://www.avsforum.com/...

sdrucker is offline  
post #1324 of 5614 Old 03-15-2012, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 6,839
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 650
Here are some pictures. Pics 1 and 2 show the mic properly inserted in the holder. Pic 3 shows the set screw which locks the mic holder in place.
LL
LL
LL
AustinJerry is offline  
post #1325 of 5614 Old 03-15-2012, 06:46 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
sdrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post

Here are some pictures. Pics 1 and 2 show the mic properly inserted in the holder. Pic 3 shows the set screw which locks the mic holder in place.

Problem solved; I'd had the mic holder configured with the set screw the wrong way, which made the mic unstable. I thought it seemed strange...the picture set me straight, so thanks, AJ.

Edit: I'd read the 60-odd pages of this thread over the weekend and leafed through the manual, so combined with AS-EQ1 experience and running XT32 a few times this week, I was able to get a basic six position run done tonight. Not enough that I completely believe the certificate (yeah, right, 110 Hz crossover as the first choice on a CS 8080 center with the sub volume at 12 o'clock), but what I got for the fronts (40, 80, 60 for Mythos ST at 12 o'clock; I took 80) and surrounds (90 for Gem XLs) isn't too far from what XT32 gave me, and the trim and distances for speakers and my two Hsu subs were pretty close. Plenty of time to run many more positions and see what I come up with, and refine. But so far, I'm impressed with what Pro gave me: much punchier percussion and match of the surrounds on some MC music (Talking Heads Remain in Light) I tried - even an live concert MP3 didn't sound too bad with PLII Music.

Stuart

 

Denon 4311 with XT32 and Audyssey Pro

Oppo 93 and 103

Panasonic VT50

Sherwood R-972 with its version of the Trinnov Optimizer

MiniDSP 10x10 HD

PSB Imagine T2, Center, and Surrounds (as of 5/2014); HSU ULS-15 subs (2)

 

The Audyssey FAQ Guide can be found here:

http://www.avsforum.com/...

sdrucker is offline  
post #1326 of 5614 Old 03-16-2012, 11:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Hugo S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: France
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Hi,

So my feedback after my previous problem with Pro 3.5 (details posted above), as today I've reinstalled everything:

1- Prolific latest 1.5 driver
2- Pro 3.5 (latest version with Onkyos)

and after another "time out -2 way communication" problem... solved by switching off/on the 4311, everything went smooth, as previously.

... and yes, happy again!!!

Hugo

Hugo S is offline  
post #1327 of 5614 Old 03-16-2012, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cavchameleon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 50
That's great to hear Hugo! Glad it went well.

Ray

 

"Listen with an open heart and mind."

 

cavchameleon is offline  
post #1328 of 5614 Old 03-16-2012, 11:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
magicj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake district, England
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Would the pro Mic be any good for taking REW measurements?
magicj1 is online now  
post #1329 of 5614 Old 03-16-2012, 11:15 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by magicj1 View Post

Would the pro Mic be any good for taking REW measurements?

If you had a calibration file for it it would.
pepar is offline  
post #1330 of 5614 Old 03-16-2012, 12:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
magicj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake district, England
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

If you had a calibration file for it it would.

That's the tricky bit I believe.
magicj1 is online now  
post #1331 of 5614 Old 03-16-2012, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 6,839
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 650
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugo S View Post

Hi,

So my feedback after my previous problem with Pro 3.5 (details posted above), as today I've reinstalled everything:

1- Prolific latest 1.5 driver
2- Pro 3.5 (latest version with Onkyos)

and after another "time out -2 way communication" problem... solved by switching off/on the 4311, everything went smooth, as previously.

... and yes, happy again!!!

Hugo

Hugo, just curious. When I get this error, I can resolve it by simply disconnecting and re-connecting the USB cable and proceeding with the calibration. Did you try this?
AustinJerry is offline  
post #1332 of 5614 Old 03-16-2012, 12:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
When I first asked about differences between 3.4 and 3.5 I was told it was only for new devices. Then when I sent in a file that gave different cross over order between 3.4and 3.5 I was told that the reasons were improvements in 3.5 that led to the xovers difference. When I asked what the improvements were, I just got am email that this was proprietary but the changes were mainly new devices.

So there you are.
jmschnur is offline  
post #1333 of 5614 Old 03-16-2012, 12:58 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by magicj1 View Post

That's the tricky bit I believe.

Yes, there isn't one. You could send it out to be measured and a file generated, but it would cost pretty much what a decent calibrated mic would cost.
pepar is offline  
post #1334 of 5614 Old 03-16-2012, 02:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Hugo S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: France
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Hi Jerry,

Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post

Hugo, just curious. When I get this error, I can resolve it by simply disconnecting and re-connecting the USB cable and proceeding with the calibration. Did you try this?

Pfff actually I was a bit when I got the message... so I can't be totaly affirmative on what I did precisely, but if I had to say something, I'd say that I haven't tried that.

Anyway everything is working fine now, so...

Hugo

Hugo S is offline  
post #1335 of 5614 Old 03-16-2012, 03:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
GPBURNS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Onkyo 5509 firmware out for pro
Hopefully 80.3 is close behind

15400 Watts of Seaton Power -Quad SubMersived
GPBURNS is offline  
post #1336 of 5614 Old 03-16-2012, 03:48 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmschnur View Post

When I first asked about differences between 3.4 and 3.5 I was told it was only for new devices. Then when I sent in a file that gave different cross over order between 3.4and 3.5 I was told that the reasons were improvements in 3.5 that led to the xovers difference. When I asked what the improvements were, I just got am email that this was proprietary but the changes were mainly new devices.

So there you are.

Further explanation on this is that Audyssey makes occasional tweaks to meet the (sometimes conflictiing) requirements on how to characterize the roll off from different manufacturers when communicating its "findings" to the receiver/processor. The differences in the results are so minor that it's neither worth reloading a calibration nor even upgrading to 3.5 if there is no new equipment in the system.

I'm not upgrading my software.

Jeff
pepar is offline  
post #1337 of 5614 Old 03-16-2012, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

Further explanation on this is that Audyssey makes occasional tweaks to meet the (sometimes conflictiing) requirements on how to characterize the roll off from different manufacturers when communicating its "findings" to the receiver/processor. The differences in the results are so minor that it's neither worth reloading a calibration nor even upgrading to 3.5 if there is no new equipment in the system.

I'm not upgrading my software.

Jeff

In my case standard xt32 put the xover at 40hz for my mains. 3.4 pro suggested 80hz then 40 hz. 3.5 pro suggested 80hz with 40hz the last choice in the menu after70, ..

Since I have Montis mains which have is a hybrid with it 10" woofer optimized to match the electrostatsic panel, I am not sure which to choose. In addition the Martin Logan Montis has its own internal amp to power it's sub below 340hz, so there is no clear "power" advantage to the 80 hz the Montis is spec'd to 29 hz as confirmed by the pro before and after curves.I do have an issue at 50 hz due to my room which is corrected in both speakers by the Audyssey software.

So far I have been listening to 70 hz and will then change to 40 hz for listening . Classical guitar and jazz bass are my evaluation tools stereo and SACDs.

80 hz seemed to have some "hang". My subs are quite good JL 112's.

Thus I was looking for a clear explanation of the criteria by which selections are made in xt 32, 3.4 pro and 3.5 pro.

I use a 80.2 with the latest firmware update.
jmschnur is offline  
post #1338 of 5614 Old 03-16-2012, 05:10 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Have you done any waterfall measurements at the different crossover settings to see if what you hear can be measured?
pepar is offline  
post #1339 of 5614 Old 03-16-2012, 05:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

Have you done any waterfall measurements at the different crossover settings to see if what you hear can be measured?

This is good advice. I was hoping that the comments from Audyssey would shed some light. They do have my measurement file.

I do not have the hardware. I am considering omnimic but have been rather busy with my professional life. I have not tried turning off the xover for the Montis but I guess that is also another thing to try.
jmschnur is offline  
post #1340 of 5614 Old 03-16-2012, 05:57 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Maybe you can get some other ears in to listen to what you are hearing?
pepar is offline  
post #1341 of 5614 Old 03-16-2012, 06:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

Maybe you can get some other ears in to listen to what you are hearing?

Sure I will try. The Martin Logan Logan forum suggests no sub for the Montis; I.e. setting the mains to full. This is against the wisdom on this forum.

Problem with having a guest to listen to different xovers is that it takes a while to change between them if pro is setting the filters of each try.
jmschnur is offline  
post #1342 of 5614 Old 03-17-2012, 05:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
GPBURNS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by GPBURNS View Post

Onkyo 5509 firmware out for pro
Hopefully 80.3 is close behind


actually the update is available via Net option-
just not showing on Integra site

15400 Watts of Seaton Power -Quad SubMersived
GPBURNS is offline  
post #1343 of 5614 Old 03-17-2012, 06:04 AM
 
mjf_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, the update adds the Onkyo PR-SC5509, Integra DTR-80.3, DTR 70.3 and DHC-80.3.

There is also Pro support for the TX-NR3009 and TX-NR5009, but not the US model.
mjf_uk is offline  
post #1344 of 5614 Old 03-17-2012, 06:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
GPBURNS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 66
The firmwae updated without a hitch on my 80.3
just need Audyssey to make a licence available to purchase

15400 Watts of Seaton Power -Quad SubMersived
GPBURNS is offline  
post #1345 of 5614 Old 03-17-2012, 06:52 AM
 
mjf_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, they obviously forgot about that. I was hoping to run the calibration this afternoon.
mjf_uk is offline  
post #1346 of 5614 Old 03-17-2012, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Changing the xover form 80 to full in my mains led to the center 1st choice xover being full and much different choices than before after that;not optimal. So I will test 60 hz now.70 sounded pretty good so may go back to that depending. 40hz is the last choice.

Clearly the center and mains are linked in some way, I really want 40 hz for the Montis but there is something about 40 that pro does not like. normal xt32 lists it as first choice.

this is a Martin Logan Montis, Stage pro calibration with NHT dipole surrounds and Celestion SL6 rears.

Perhaps I should do a 20 point cal and try again.
jmschnur is offline  
post #1347 of 5614 Old 03-17-2012, 10:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 158
^Note: XT32 does not "rank" xovers. It reports the speakers' in-room F3 to the processor, which choses the lowest xover at or just above that freq. according to its own protocol and available xovers. Usually 40Hz=Large.

Pro ranks the xovers available in the processor for best splice with the sub based on in-room response. However, one should not chose Large even if that is listed first.

Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
post #1348 of 5614 Old 03-17-2012, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Thanks. 80 hz is fine for home theater but I listen to a lot of classical stereo. I amtrying to get the lowest acceptable xover for stereo and then I will bring it to 80 while using the home theater.

I think the dipoles are affecting the perceived best splice in Pro.
jmschnur is offline  
post #1349 of 5614 Old 03-18-2012, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HTPCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Posts: 1,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmschnur View Post

Thanks. 80 hz is fine for home theater but I listen to a lot of classical stereo. I amtrying to get the lowest acceptable xover for stereo and then I will bring it to 80 while using the home theater.

I think the dipoles are affecting the perceived best splice in Pro.

I am not sure what AVR you have, but with the Denon 4311 there is a custom setting for Stereo that allows you to have a different seup for 2 channel with different xovers, etc.

HTPCat
"Give Me More Audio & Video Toys"

HTPCat is offline  
post #1350 of 5614 Old 03-18-2012, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTPCat View Post

I am not sure what AVR you have, but with the Denon 4311 there is a custom setting for Stereo that allows you to have a different seup for 2 channel with different xovers, etc.

I have the integra 80.2.,the Denon feature would work fine for me. I think the attempt by audyssey to match the phase for the front three speakers is confounding my attempts to lower the xover for the mains. This is great in 7.2 system. But for my 2.2 stereo does not lead to optimal results I think . I do both and that has led to my conundrum.

I will work it out one way or another.
jmschnur is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , Audyssey
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off