The "OFFICIAL" Pioneer Elite VSX-52 / 53 Owner's Thread - Page 51 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1501 of 1576 Old 10-24-2013, 04:50 AM
Newbie
 
jorj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Need repair service manual for Pioneer Elite Vsx-53.

Thanks in advance!

jorj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1502 of 1576 Old 10-24-2013, 06:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 711 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubertoliver View Post

Mine was fixed in less than 2 weeks...I pick it up this Saturday and it was a warranty repair.

so the authorized dealer in your area that said "they didn't do warranty repair" fix the unit, after all, under warranty?




Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Marantz 8801 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp B&W CM10s..CM2 center...CM5's.rears
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Denon 4520 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is offline  
post #1503 of 1576 Old 10-25-2013, 04:54 AM
Newbie
 
jorj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

The unit I purchased in the United States. I live in Ukraine, there is no guarantee!

 

 

Jorj.

jorj is offline  
post #1504 of 1576 Old 10-25-2013, 07:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
grigorianvlad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Is it possible to bi-amp a VSX-53 with external power amps?
I tried bi-amping directly to speakers and didnt hear any difference. I want to try this with two power amps.
The question is if I change VSX-53 setup to BI-AMP in MCACC, does it change the setup only for direct speaker connections to the AVR or pre-outs are changed as well? So, after switching to this mode back surrounds will output left and right b-amp signals to work with left and right pre-outs?
grigorianvlad is offline  
post #1505 of 1576 Old 10-25-2013, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
grasshoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: aridzona
Posts: 1,969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by grigorianvlad View Post

Is it possible to bi-amp a VSX-53 with external power amps?
I tried bi-amping directly to speakers and didnt hear any difference. I want to try this with two power amps.
The question is if I change VSX-53 setup to BI-AMP in MCACC, does it change the setup only for direct speaker connections to the AVR or pre-outs are changed as well? So, after switching to this mode back surrounds will output left and right b-amp signals to work with left and right pre-outs?

You should read thru this thread,then decide..

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1492314/question-on-bi-amping
grasshoppers is offline  
post #1506 of 1576 Old 10-25-2013, 11:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Hubertoliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by turnne1 View Post

so the authorized dealer in your area that said "they didn't do warranty repair" fix the unit, after all, under warranty?




Warren

No they didn't do the repair...had to take it about 120 miles away to an authorized repair to get it done.

Army Rangers lead the way!

Pioneer SC-1523K, OPPO-103, Sharp Q+ 60" display, Monster Power HDP IR 2550, Klipsch Quintet SL, Klipsch Sub 12
Hubertoliver is offline  
post #1507 of 1576 Old 10-27-2013, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cmryan821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Fellas, I'm hoping you can shed some light on the warranty situation with the vsx53. I purchased it from amazon last year and I am in the process of selling it, but I am unsure of what the warranty would be for the next owner and some things I've read some conflicting things online. So my 2 questions are:
1) Does the unit even have a warranty since it was purchased online at amazon?
2) Would the next owner have the remainder fo the warranty if I provide him with the original receipt?

Any info would be appreciated. Thanks guys.
cmryan821 is offline  
post #1508 of 1576 Old 10-27-2013, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
grigorianvlad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by grasshoppers View Post

You should read thru this thread,then decide..

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1492314/question-on-bi-amping

It was a great thread. Enjoyed it very much, thanks.
grigorianvlad is offline  
post #1509 of 1576 Old 10-27-2013, 06:36 PM
Senior Member
 
blackangst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmryan821 View Post

Fellas, I'm hoping you can shed some light on the warranty situation with the vsx53. I purchased it from amazon last year and I am in the process of selling it, but I am unsure of what the warranty would be for the next owner and some things I've read some conflicting things online. So my 2 questions are:
1) Does the unit even have a warranty since it was purchased online at amazon?
2) Would the next owner have the remainder fo the warranty if I provide him with the original receipt?

Any info would be appreciated. Thanks guys.

No on both questions. You can get a square trade warranty for it though.
blackangst is offline  
post #1510 of 1576 Old 10-27-2013, 07:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cmryan821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackangst View Post

No on both questions. You can get a square trade warranty for it though.
Thank you for the clarification (even if the answer kinda sucks lol), and thanks for the squaretrade suggestion. I usually forget all about them
cmryan821 is offline  
post #1511 of 1576 Old 10-28-2013, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 711 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubertoliver View Post

No they didn't do the repair...had to take it about 120 miles away to an authorized repair to get it done.

hopefully you mean shipped to an authorized service center 120 miles away.....making a 4 hour round trip drive is not worth the cost of the Fed Ex ground shipping cost that short of a distance



Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Marantz 8801 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp B&W CM10s..CM2 center...CM5's.rears
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Denon 4520 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is offline  
post #1512 of 1576 Old 10-28-2013, 04:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Hubertoliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 31
No I drove. It made for a nice little road trip with my wife.

Army Rangers lead the way!

Pioneer SC-1523K, OPPO-103, Sharp Q+ 60" display, Monster Power HDP IR 2550, Klipsch Quintet SL, Klipsch Sub 12
Hubertoliver is offline  
post #1513 of 1576 Old 10-29-2013, 02:36 PM
Member
 
coxcableman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: tucson
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
If any one could help I would really appreciate it ,I have a weird issue when I pause live tv with a cisco 9865 whole home dvr system my pioneer elite vsx 43 receiver will make a loud annoying noise until I play the show again, so I swapped cable boxes. Swapped hdmi swapped ports on receivers, and now today just swapped receivers still same issue. Has anyone else had this problem, have the dvr set to dolby digital and when i pause tv the receiver switches to pcm and i get the noise the entire time until i play the show again, thought for sure it was the open box buy I got on vsx 823k so I took it back and upgraded to the elite series, same issue with the elite, like I said have swapped dvr, hdmi, and ports no fix, is there a setting I am not seeing or what its driving me crazy. I have updated firmware on the receiver and cisco, no fix, can these 2 be incompatible can anyone help. I cant get an answer from pioneer or cisco I work for cox communication and install these dvrs every day and have never seen this problem on any receiver but the 3 pioneers I have had in the last 15 days
coxcableman is offline  
post #1514 of 1576 Old 10-29-2013, 04:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
grigorianvlad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by coxcableman View Post

If any one could help I would really appreciate it ,I have a weird issue when I pause live tv with a cisco 9865 whole home dvr system my pioneer elite vsx 43 receiver will make a loud annoying noise until I play the show again, so I swapped cable boxes. Swapped hdmi swapped ports on receivers, and now today just swapped receivers still same issue. Has anyone else had this problem, have the dvr set to dolby digital and when i pause tv the receiver switches to pcm and i get the noise the entire time until i play the show again, thought for sure it was the open box buy I got on vsx 823k so I took it back and upgraded to the elite series, same issue with the elite, like I said have swapped dvr, hdmi, and ports no fix, is there a setting I am not seeing or what its driving me crazy. I have updated firmware on the receiver and cisco, no fix, can these 2 be incompatible can anyone help. I cant get an answer from pioneer or cisco I work for cox communication and install these dvrs every day and have never seen this problem on any receiver but the 3 pioneers I have had in the last 15 days

Please try to reproduce this issue with a direct connection to your TV (no VSX).
grigorianvlad is offline  
post #1515 of 1576 Old 10-29-2013, 06:25 PM
Member
 
coxcableman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: tucson
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
When directly connected to tv there is no issue only through receiver
coxcableman is offline  
post #1516 of 1576 Old 10-29-2013, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
grigorianvlad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Thank you.
1) Please describe the noise. Crackling, humming, buzzing, etc. Is it continuous or short bursts? Does the noise increase as you crank up the volume of your VSX or is it independent and of a constant level?
2) Have you tried connecting your DVR to another HDMI input on your VSX?
3) What mode does your front panel show when you hear the noise - Stereo, DIGITAL, etc?
4) Please set VSX to FIXED PCM OFF (Audio Parameter from the remote).
5) Set VSX to PURE DIRECT and report if you still hear the noise (AUTO/ALC/DIRECT on the remote)
6) Is there any equipment between your DVR and VSX?
7) Can you try - just as a test - an optical cable between the two components?
8) Did you try a diagnostic self test of the DVR?
10) Is the noise dependent on what you are playing on DVR - meaning Dolby Digital vs Stereo program?
11) Have you made any changes to the system before the problem appeared?
12) Is it possible that the noise is there all the time, but it is faint and you begin to notice it only if your DVR content is paused?
grigorianvlad is offline  
post #1517 of 1576 Old 10-29-2013, 07:27 PM
Member
 
coxcableman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: tucson
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thank you. 1) Please describe the noise. Crackling, humming, buzzing, etc. Is it continuous or short bursts? Does the noise increase as you crank up the volume of your VSX or is it independent and of a constant level? 2) Have you tried connecting your DVR to another HDMI input on your VSX? 3) What mode does your front panel show when you hear the noise - Stereo, DIGITAL, etc? 4) Please set VSX to FIXED PCM OFF (Audio Parameter from the remote). 5) Set VSX to PURE DIRECT and report if you still hear the noise (AUTO/ALC/DIRECT on the remote) 6) Is there any equipment between your DVR and VSX? 7) Can you try - just as a test - an optical cable between the two components? 8) Did you try a diagnostic self test of the DVR? 10) Is the noise dependent on what you are playing on DVR - meaning Dolby Digital vs Stereo program? 11) Have you made any changes to the system before the problem appeared?


The noise is a loud buzzing noise it continues untill i play the show the noise increases if i increas volume. I have tried other ports. The panel says dolby digital untill i pause then switches to pcm and i get the buzz. I have set the fixed pcm to off no fix. Pure direct still has same issue only way to stop this issue is to switch cisco box to pcm but want to watch in DD. There is no equipment between my dvr and vsx. I have tried optica same issue, I trouble shoot audio video and internet issues for a living and this is the first issue i can not figure out in a long time. The noise only happens when watching in dolby digital And pausing. If I am watching a recording 75 percent of the time no issue stays on DD and does not switch to pcm and no buzzing. This receiver is a replacement for an old denon that did not have this issue with optical cable. I have swapped dvrs, hdmis ports and pioneer receivers. Think I am just going to have to get used to muting befor I pause lol
coxcableman is offline  
post #1518 of 1576 Old 10-29-2013, 07:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
grigorianvlad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 592
What is this Cisco box? I thought they make only networking equipment? What does it have with audio quality.
Regardless, uncompressed lossless PCM (Pulse Control Modulation) is superior to Dolby Digital, a compressed (or lossy) signal.
PCM is capable of 8 channel 24 bit 96 KHz audio, while Dolby Digital is limited to 5.1 channel 16 bit 48 KHz audio.
Is there a reason you prefer Dolby Digital over PCM?
grigorianvlad is offline  
post #1519 of 1576 Old 10-29-2013, 07:50 PM
Member
 
coxcableman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: tucson
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=StsppqWK5hA&feature=youtube_gdata_player this is a short video of the issue you can clearly hear the buzzing all setting are set to dolby digital but it switches to pcm
coxcableman is offline  
post #1520 of 1576 Old 10-29-2013, 07:58 PM
Member
 
coxcableman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: tucson
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I prefer it over pcm when I switch the cisco over to pcm I would need to use old pro logic or pro logic 2 etc. What setting do you watch tv on
coxcableman is offline  
post #1521 of 1576 Old 10-29-2013, 08:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
grigorianvlad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by coxcableman View Post

I prefer it over pcm when I switch the cisco over to pcm I would need to use old pro logic or pro logic 2 etc. What setting do you watch tv on

Well, unfortunately only my BD player and media server are capable of PCM. My DirectTV receiver supports up to Dolby Digital, but not higher. While listening to music I always choose LPCM stereo for a higher quality sound rather than Dolby Digital or TrueHD.

You haven't answered my question. What is this Cisco device and why do you use it? What are the benefits? Can you test the annoying sound without it? Or Cisco IS the DVR device maker?
grigorianvlad is offline  
post #1522 of 1576 Old 10-29-2013, 08:20 PM
Member
 
coxcableman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: tucson
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Cisco is the dvr maker it is a networked dvr my setup can record 8 shows at once and has 6Tbs of hard drve space its Cox's newest system and is great just seems to be incompatible with pioneer receivers while in dolby digital, but thanks for the knowledge.
coxcableman is offline  
post #1523 of 1576 Old 10-29-2013, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
grigorianvlad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by coxcableman View Post

Cisco is the dvr maker it is a networked dvr my setup can record 8 shows at once and has 6Tbs of hard drve space its Cox's newest system and is great just seems to be incompatible with pioneer receivers while in dolby digital, but thanks for the knowledge.

Right. read this: http://forums.cox.com/forum_home/tv_forum/f/4/t/2501.aspx
grigorianvlad is offline  
post #1524 of 1576 Old 10-29-2013, 08:37 PM
Member
 
coxcableman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: tucson
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
That is my exact issue. Weird how it only affects some receivers my dad has the denon 1909 with the same cisco box and my buddy has a denon with same box and are not having this issue.
coxcableman is offline  
post #1525 of 1576 Old 10-29-2013, 08:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
grigorianvlad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by coxcableman View Post

That is my exact issue. Weird how it only affects some receivers my dad has the denon 1909 with the same cisco box and my buddy has a denon with same box and are not having this issue.

Sporadic issue. Demand a new Cisco device, then another until it is resolved - for free, including visits. DirectTV will bend backwards for the customer in my case. Not sure about Cox.
grigorianvlad is offline  
post #1526 of 1576 Old 10-30-2013, 12:45 AM
Member
 
coxcableman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: tucson
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yeah thats what I did with best buy and pioneer when I thought the receiver was at fault, started out with the vsx 823 k Talked them down to $200 had alot of issues with it took it back they gave me an open box buy on the pioneer elite vsx 43 got home and it was doa, went back and they gave me a brand new vsx 43 for all my troubles now I feel like I stole to find out it was the dvr the whole time. Lol
Pretty happy with the vsx 43 overall looks great sounds great, matches my klipsch reference speakers thats a plus, now I have to get the firmware updated on the cisco because a new box inst gonna fix it have already tried 3 before returning the first pioneer.
coxcableman is offline  
post #1527 of 1576 Old 10-30-2013, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
grigorianvlad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by coxcableman View Post

now I feel like I stole to find out it was the dvr the whole time. Lol

You shouldn't. You didn't do it intentionally. Even if you did - its their responsibility to do due diligence. They either dint care or didn't know how.

Either way, it is their loss and your gain. More power to you.
grigorianvlad is offline  
post #1528 of 1576 Old 10-30-2013, 04:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 711 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubertoliver View Post

No I drove. It made for a nice little road trip with my wife.


and driving another 240 miles ( round trip) to pick it up as well?




Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Marantz 8801 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp B&W CM10s..CM2 center...CM5's.rears
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Denon 4520 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is offline  
post #1529 of 1576 Old 10-30-2013, 09:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Hubertoliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by turnne1 View Post

and driving another 240 miles ( round trip) to pick it up as well?

Yepper!



Warren

Army Rangers lead the way!

Pioneer SC-1523K, OPPO-103, Sharp Q+ 60" display, Monster Power HDP IR 2550, Klipsch Quintet SL, Klipsch Sub 12
Hubertoliver is offline  
post #1530 of 1576 Old 11-10-2013, 09:52 AM
Newbie
 
Harry 420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Not sure if you still need help with this. I have VSX-1326 and I had same problem. I have connected VSX to my Sony TV's ARC (audio return channel) with an ARC HDMI. and my STB to TV with another HDMI. So this way I can watch my cable without VSX or turn on VSX to watch some cable movie thru my Bose speakers. Please note you need ARC (audio return channel) enabled TV with ARC HDMI.

govboy likes this.
Harry 420 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off