The "Official" Pioneer Elite SC-55/SC-57 Owners Thread - Page 134 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3991 of 4006 Old 07-01-2014, 05:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Edllguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 20
UE22 Error in Pioneer Receivers

I have heard this error code happening with some SC-55/57 and other Pioneer receivers.

To quote David Susilo who frequently visits and comments here on AVS:

"The unit needs to go for repair. UE22 error also means that the chip which stores the firmware data is kaput".

I wonder how frequently this happens. If it happens to a Pioneer receiver that has no warranty left, how much would it cost to fix it? Perhaps it was a problem only in 2011 model year Pioneer receivers. Any thoughts on this issue?

Thanks

Edit: Did some research on this issue and some claim that to get rid of this code you have to do a factory reset and that should solve the problem. Can someone verify this?

Last edited by Edllguy; 07-01-2014 at 08:56 PM. Reason: Added content
Edllguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3992 of 4006 Old 07-02-2014, 09:43 PM
Member
 
Slackjaw747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by hybris1 View Post
I lost my audo and video tonight. I tried unplugging all the hdmi connections and power cycling without success. No hdmi video. No hdmi audio or digital audio. It did show it was receiving digital audio (main speakers illuminated on the display). Tuner has no audio but I have also never tried it. I am going to leave it unplugged tonight and hope for the best tomorrow. Any suggestions? Thanks.

What is going on here? I just had this happen to my just-over 2 year old SC-57. It's like the HDMI switching unit is gone. First I thought my DTV box died, but then realized no other HDMI sources were working either. Tuner was still working, but after a few power cycles, that isn't working now either. I tried fiddling with switching the HDMI OUT, but the unit just flashes "please wait" until I cut the power. Fantastic if it waited until just after the warranty ran out to take a dump... :/
Slackjaw747 is offline  
post #3993 of 4006 Old 07-03-2014, 05:24 AM
Member
 
hybris1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Pearland, TX
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slackjaw747 View Post
What is going on here? I just had this happen to my just-over 2 year old SC-57. It's like the HDMI switching unit is gone. First I thought my DTV box died, but then realized no other HDMI sources were working either. Tuner was still working, but after a few power cycles, that isn't working now either. I tried fiddling with switching the HDMI OUT, but the unit just flashes "please wait" until I cut the power. Fantastic if it waited until just after the warranty ran out to take a dump... :/
So 3 weeks after my unit failed, I got it back repaired from Squaretrade (6 phone calls and many headaches later). They replace the HDMI PCB according to the invoice. Hooked it up and all appeared good. About 10 minutes into the setup I lost audio and video again. They fixed what broke but obviously missed the root cause. I called them for a rework and they are really dragging their feet this time. UPS ground to send me the shipping label. Anyway, I don't know what failed yet. I bought a new receiver and it works fine so I know it is not my setup. I couldn't wait another 3+ weeks with no TV.
hybris1 is offline  
post #3994 of 4006 Old 07-03-2014, 02:31 PM
Member
 
JamesP1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all

Plan on reading the thread in detail tomorrow, but in the meantime, as someone who has come from Audyssey and setting my LX57 up with a B and W series, can you give any tips as to setting up MCACC?

Many thanks,

James
JamesP1701 is offline  
post #3995 of 4006 Old 07-03-2014, 05:44 PM
Member
 
Slackjaw747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well now. Since I couldn't go the weekend without entertainment (this thing powers my whole house), a brand new SC-77 is sitting in it's box out in my car. Before hauling it into the house, I decided to give the SC-57 a final kick-start. Lo and behold, it started working again.


The new unit will be standing by thru the weekend, but I guess I will be returning the SC-77 next week if I am still in business. Glad I didn't unpack it!
Slackjaw747 is offline  
post #3996 of 4006 Old 07-06-2014, 01:18 PM
Member
 
JamesP1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

My LX57 sounds great for movies but for gaming the same sound modes sound flatter and not as rich/full. Does anyone have any suggestions?

James


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JamesP1701 is offline  
post #3997 of 4006 Old 07-10-2014, 02:25 AM
Member
 
Terry Newton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question Which HDMI to use for laptop

I searched this thread for the answer but found nothing so I am asking which HDMI port to use to hookup my MSI laptop. I also searched Google and read many articles but none gave an answer as which port to use.The manual is unclear on that subject.It is a SC 57.
Thanks,
Terry Newton is offline  
post #3998 of 4006 Old 07-29-2014, 10:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tim Glover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Monroe, LA
Posts: 1,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Need some help...SC-57 owner. I am using an OPPO 105d and using the 5.1 analogue multi channels to the Pioneer. Haven't found that sweet spot yet for loving the LFE. Is the Pioneer doing any bass management if I am using the Oppo to decode via the analogue outs?

Currently have tried the settings in the Oppo to speakers -Small and 80hz and the same settings in the SC-57 too.

Been chatting with Ed Mullen from SVS Subwoofers about this issue and he's asking if the Pioneer can actually conduct bass management when using a BD players analogues...
Tim Glover is offline  
post #3999 of 4006 Old 07-30-2014, 02:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 8,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 331
^^
Tim
the answer is no. no bass management in the receiver if using multichannel analog inputs. the reason is simple - no analog-to-digital (ADC) converters on those inputs. all bass mgmt takes place in digital domain so if there's no ADC's, there can be no bass mgmt. there is an ADC on the stereo inputs so they can have bass mgmt. as long as not in Pure Direct mode.

Pioneer as well as other AVR mfgs used to put ADC's on the multichannel analogs but not anymore. IIRC, Pioneer removed them starting with the SC-37 generation. All the AVR companies did this about the same time, probably for cost reasons but also because of the decreasing use of the inputs with HDMI.

You'll need to use the Oppo for bass management if you are using the analogs.

Steve

Last edited by ss9001; 07-30-2014 at 02:58 AM.
ss9001 is online now  
post #4000 of 4006 Old 07-31-2014, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tim Glover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Monroe, LA
Posts: 1,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss9001 View Post
^^
Tim
the answer is no. no bass management in the receiver if using multichannel analog inputs. the reason is simple - no analog-to-digital (ADC) converters on those inputs. all bass mgmt takes place in digital domain so if there's no ADC's, there can be no bass mgmt. there is an ADC on the stereo inputs so they can have bass mgmt. as long as not in Pure Direct mode.

Pioneer as well as other AVR mfgs used to put ADC's on the multichannel analogs but not anymore. IIRC, Pioneer removed them starting with the SC-37 generation. All the AVR companies did this about the same time, probably for cost reasons but also because of the decreasing use of the inputs with HDMI.

You'll need to use the Oppo for bass management if you are using the analogs.
Ok thanks a bunch! I called Oppo this morning. They said to test if the Pioneer is doing any conversion (which may not be the same thing as bass management) is to put a 2 channel CD in. If audio only comes thru the Left & Right front speakers...then l the Pioneer is not doing anything. If the 2 channel CD plays through all channels then it is. I use the 5.1 analogue connections.

Does that sound right? I also have the Oppo stereo RCA's connected as well to the CD input of the SC-57 but that would be a separate input.
Tim Glover is offline  
post #4001 of 4006 Old 08-15-2014, 08:25 AM
Member
 
ninjamoby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all-

I'm having trouble getting my BluRay (LG BP620C) to output 5.1 channel audio to the SC-57. It comes up as "stereo" when using the Auto Surround, Direct, Pure Direct, or Optimum settings, even on movies that have 5.1 channel tracks (Heat, Once Upon a Time in the West).

Is there a connection reset of some sort I should try?

The Blu-Ray is set to output audio as follows:

Digital Output: PCM Multi Channel
Sampling Freq: 192KHz
DRC: Auto
DTS Neo:6: Cinema

It's connected to the BD input on the SC-57.

Any insight much appreciated.
ninjamoby is offline  
post #4002 of 4006 Old 08-15-2014, 09:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
zoetmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by ninjamoby View Post
Hi all-

I'm having trouble getting my BluRay (LG BP620C) to output 5.1 channel audio to the SC-57. It comes up as "stereo" when using the Auto Surround, Direct, Pure Direct, or Optimum settings, even on movies that have 5.1 channel tracks (Heat, Once Upon a Time in the West).

Is there a connection reset of some sort I should try?

The Blu-Ray is set to output audio as follows:

Digital Output: PCM Multi Channel
Sampling Freq: 192KHz
DRC: Auto
DTS Neo:6: Cinema

It's connected to the BD input on the SC-57.

Any insight much appreciated.
How are you connected? HDMI cable, Optical, Coax, analog RCA? If it's HDMI, try changing the cable. You can also try another HDMI input (it doesn't have to be plugged into BD - they're all the same), but you might have to configure that input on the Pioneer.
zoetmb is offline  
post #4003 of 4006 Old 08-15-2014, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,548
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by ninjamoby View Post
I'm having trouble getting my BluRay (LG BP620C) to output 5.1 channel audio to the SC-57. It comes up as "stereo" when using the Auto Surround, Direct, Pure Direct, or Optimum settings, even on movies that have 5.1 channel tracks (Heat, Once Upon a Time in the West).

Is there a connection reset of some sort I should try?

The Blu-Ray is set to output audio as follows:

Digital Output: PCM Multi Channel
Sampling Freq: 192KHz
DRC: Auto
DTS Neo:6: Cinema

It's connected to the BD input on the SC-57.

Any insight much appreciated.
Hi ninjamoby, assuming you are using HDMI connection ... for the receiver to do the decoding set Digital Output to "Bitstream".
JChin is offline  
post #4004 of 4006 Old 08-16-2014, 11:00 AM
Member
 
ninjamoby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post
Hi ninjamoby, assuming you are using HDMI connection ... for the receiver to do the decoding set Digital Output to "Bitstream".
Thanks. This did the trick!
ninjamoby is offline  
post #4005 of 4006 Old 09-11-2014, 04:01 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Using a separate DAC and power amp for front speakers

Hi,

I have just bought a SC LX 57. I plan to use my existing DAC and Power amp with 2 speakers for the front speakers. For the remaining I plan to attach the 5/7 speakers plus sub directly to the Pioneer SC LX 57. My questions are
1. My DAC does not have RCA's. It only has digital inputs including HDMI so I cannot use the pre-outs from the Pioneer. How do I connect from the Pioneer to the DAC? I was thinking of the HDMI. Would that work? Any other options?
2. Is it ok not to have any front speakers connected to the Pioneer SC LX 57?
3. How do I calibrate using the MCACC with the front speakers connected through a separate DAC and Power amp?

Thanks in advance for your advice and help.

Cheers.
jitainss is offline  
post #4006 of 4006 Old 09-20-2014, 01:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
All:


I could use some advice. If this has already been covered in this forum, please accept my apology as I must have missed it.


I am unable to play m4a file format from my server thru the SC-57. The manual is a little less than clear on the topic: “The Home Media Gallery feature of this receiver supportsthe following formats. Note that somefile formats are not available for playback although they are listed asplayable file formats.”


Not sure what that means. So, I will ask this forum if that has ever been confirmed—does the SC-57support playback of m4a files?


Here are myspecs:
OperatingSystem: Windows8.1
J. RiverVersion 20.0.10
NAS: SynologyDS213+
Receiver PioneerSC-57


Thanks inadvance.


MidWestDave
MidWestDave is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Pioneer Elite Sc 57 Sc57 9 1 Channel 3d Ready A V Receiver , Pioneer Elite Sc 55 Sc55 9 1 Channel 3d Ready A V Receiver

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off