The "Official" Pioneer Elite SC-55/SC-57 Owners Thread - Page 137 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4081 of 4091 Old 12-30-2016, 12:35 PM
Newbie
 
MillPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SC-57 virtually no sound

Hi fellow SC-57 owners.

I was recabling today to add a 4k video switch since our receiver will not switch 4k video. Started having sound issues. Tried HDMI input, digital (optical) etc. Nothing. Also no longer able to get the OSD to show on the TV when I plugged it back into HDMI1 out.

Went into menu using front panel and ran the speaker test. Volume increases to 0db on the display as usual but only the quietest of sound from the speakers. I can hear the test tones but barely.

I have a bad feeling about this. Anyone have a similar experience or can suggest some checks I can do? I was hoping it was something I did wrong but when the receiver can't even amplify generated tones - it sounds more ominous...

Thanks in advance.

Update: A factory reset got my volume levels back but I've now noticed a new problem.

I am running the speaker config in 5.1 with Front and Center BiAmp and standard Surrounds (no sub at the moment as it is out for repair).

The right front channel and surrounds seem to work fine.

The left front and center channels are not getting anything on the low frequency side. Hi frequency works fine. So all dialog sounds like a transistor radio and all bass comes from the right. This is apparent with channel test tones or content.

Again, any suggestions welcome.

Cheers,
Frank

Last edited by MillPhoto; 12-30-2016 at 02:08 PM. Reason: Update
MillPhoto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4082 of 4091 Old 06-12-2017, 01:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
Edllguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 636
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 69
^^^Has this been resolved?

Sorry to be repetitious but it looks like the common UE22-Error defect has occurred with your system. Can you update us?


Thanks
Edllguy is offline  
post #4083 of 4091 Old 06-24-2017, 08:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Quebec, Qc, Canada
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Pioneer Elite SC-55

Hi,

I have a SC55 and I have two problems with it :

1- I connected my tv receiver using hdmi and optic but the receiver keeps reverting to the hdmi and bypass the optic even if in the input menu opt-1 is selected.... Could my optic cable be defective ?

2- When on tuner mode I can ear the radio unless I max out the sound. Tuner is the only input that has that problem. TV, PS3, HMG all work normaly ...

Anyone can help me ?
thevaliant is offline  
 
post #4084 of 4091 Old 06-26-2017, 01:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
erick granato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: toronto area
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Does anybody know if you can apply scaling and video processing to each HDMI input independently?
erick granato is offline  
post #4085 of 4091 Old 07-15-2017, 12:09 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
what would be a reasonable price for an used elite sc-55 from craigslist? The ue22 error, and description says the hdmi takes a minute to warm up? but its described as working and as like new. Would pioneer still take care of me if ue22 pops up later?
midfield99 is offline  
post #4086 of 4091 Old 07-15-2017, 12:14 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by midfield99 View Post
what would be a reasonable price for an used elite sc-55 from craigslist? The ue22 error, and description says the hdmi takes a minute to warm up? but its described as working and as like new. Would pioneer still take care of me if ue22 pops up later?
Oh, probably should mention this, this will be my first home theater audio setup. I live in an apartment, and might stick with a 3.1 at the start. Will mainly be using it with my pc and 4k tv, or both because I'll mainly be using my tv hooked up to my pc. So most features might be a tiny bit overkill. But the price is close to $100.
midfield99 is offline  
post #4087 of 4091 Old 07-15-2017, 01:36 PM
Member
 
timjohnson1717's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by midfield99 View Post
what would be a reasonable price for an used elite sc-55 from craigslist? The ue22 error, and description says the hdmi takes a minute to warm up? but its described as working and as like new. Would pioneer still take care of me if ue22 pops up later?
HDMI is digital, it doesn't take time to "warm up" I would stay well away from this.
timjohnson1717 is offline  
post #4088 of 4091 Old 09-07-2017, 09:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Kurolicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Does anyone know where I can get a replacement remote control for an SC-57?
Kurolicious is offline  
post #4089 of 4091 Old 09-07-2017, 01:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lake Dallas, TX
Posts: 5,051
Mentioned: 157 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1319 Post(s)
Liked: 1820
Send a message via Skype™ to popalock
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurolicious View Post
Does anyone know where I can get a replacement remote control for an SC-57?
http://www.remotes.com/pioneer-p/pioneer-axd7612.htm

You are welcome...
popalock is offline  
post #4090 of 4091 Old 09-07-2017, 02:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lake Dallas, TX
Posts: 5,051
Mentioned: 157 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1319 Post(s)
Liked: 1820
Send a message via Skype™ to popalock
Now my question... Where can one find a replacement OEM MCAAC mic? Link please?
popalock is offline  
post #4091 of 4091 Old 10-19-2017, 05:23 AM
Newbie
 
Masked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: B.C., Canada
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello.

So, my father previously owned a SC-57 That got the dreaded ue22 error. He gave it to me to deal with.

In the meantime I gave him my SC-61.

So, I recently got back the sc-57 after a fix for the UE22 error.

Now, everything seems good so far, but I'm noticing a difference with the volume output(compared to my experience with the SC-61). On my previous sc-61, the volume would start to get very loud at -30.

On this SC-57, I ran just a quick full auto mcacc. The test tones were the appropriate volume. Everything sounds good, but it doesn't start getting really loud to the loud listening levels I like until like -10.

Perhaps it's just the characteristics of this amp and was curious if this sounds about right to people who own this amp?

Perhaps my speaker setting is wrong and could that effect it?

I'm running a 5.2 system with no bi amped speakers. I chose the "5.1 + zone 2 &3" because it was the only 5 channel option with no bi amping.

I should note I've only had a half hour to mess with this amp so far. Seems like it has many more options than my sc-61. I'm pretty well versed in installation and operation of these things so I can vouch for physical setup not being a problem. Again, it sounds great at loud volumes but takes until -15 or -10 to get there

Is this normal? My sc-61 got louder much sooner

My source is a ps4 and works fine on another amp.

I'm reaching roughly 80 db at -10 and 105db at 0.

Is this a normal characteristic for this receiver?

Last edited by Masked; 10-19-2017 at 05:41 PM.
Masked is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Pioneer Elite Sc 55 Sc55 9 1 Channel 3d Ready A V Receiver , Pioneer Elite Sc 57 Sc57 9 1 Channel 3d Ready A V Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off