Onkyo SC5509 Processor - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 278 Old 10-30-2011, 08:30 AM
Senior Member
 
spike9876's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjf_uk View Post

But in 1-2 years there will be newer/better chips for upscaling to 4k.

argh !!, there goes my argument... but at least I'll have a choice of upgrading... If I got the 5508, I would have no choice but to upgrade.

Fronts: B&W CM8
Center: B&W CM Center
Surround: B&W CM1
JL Audio F112
Integra DHC-80.3
Emotiva XPA-5
OPPO 93
HTPC
spike9876 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 278 Old 10-30-2011, 09:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 20,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 125
I've been thinking of going to separates using class D amps for both SQ and be greener.

But I just saw here

http://www.uk.onkyo.com/downloads/1/...tasheet_EN.pdf

that the 5509 consumes 110 W.

That's slightly more than I measured on my Denon 4311 that has 9 ch of amplification - WTF?!

Noah
noah katz is offline  
post #123 of 278 Old 10-30-2011, 10:35 AM
 
mjf_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by noah katz View Post

I've been thinking of going to separates using class D amps for both SQ and be greener.

But I just saw here

http://www.uk.onkyo.com/downloads/1/...tasheet_EN.pdf

that the 5509 consumes 110 W.

That's slightly more than I measured on my Denon 4311 that has 9 ch of amplification - WTF?!

Keep the Denon then.
mjf_uk is offline  
post #124 of 278 Old 10-31-2011, 08:09 AM
Senior Member
 
DMark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by noah katz View Post

I've been thinking of going to separates using class D amps for both SQ and be greener.

But I just saw here

http://www.uk.onkyo.com/downloads/1/...tasheet_EN.pdf

that the 5509 consumes 110 W.

That's slightly more than I measured on my Denon 4311 that has 9 ch of amplification - WTF?!

Possibly Better/stronger power supplies (with more capacitance storage) in the 5509?

Certainly Class D amps can be a "greener" choice.

Fine Music, Movies, Wine, and Friends - A Life Well Lived!
DMark1 is offline  
post #125 of 278 Old 10-31-2011, 09:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 20,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMark1 View Post

Possibly Better/stronger power supplies (with more capacitance storage) in the 5509?

That doesn't effect consumption, just the quality of the power.

The question is, where is all that power going?

Maybe that's a max level when the the processor chips (especially video) are working at full tilt.

Noah
noah katz is offline  
post #126 of 278 Old 10-31-2011, 09:16 AM
Member
 
Krokov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Geordieland
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Switched my 5509 on and energy meter went up by about 90W from standby so 110W sounds about right.

New firmware out today, just some minor stuff about the Android app so won't bother updating. No mention of Audyssey Pro support.
Krokov is offline  
post #127 of 278 Old 10-31-2011, 11:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krokov View Post

Switched my 5509 on and energy meter went up by about 90W from standby so 110W sounds about right.

New firmware out today, just some minor stuff about the Android app so won't bother updating. No mention of Audyssey Pro support.

Turning on the HDMI or network control basically leaves the unit on all the time and turns of the display. Onkyo is behind the times here. To power a unit at 24/7 for a month costs about 10 bucks.

They need a 3 watt standby like the Yamaha.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #128 of 278 Old 11-01-2011, 03:33 PM
Senior Member
 
DMark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krokov View Post

Switched my 5509 on and energy meter went up by about 90W from standby so 110W sounds about right.

New firmware out today, just some minor stuff about the Android app so won't bother updating. No mention of Audyssey Pro support.

Hopefully Onkyo does a firmware update in the future to enable Audyssey Pro on the 5509. I think they did that with the 5508.

Fine Music, Movies, Wine, and Friends - A Life Well Lived!
DMark1 is offline  
post #129 of 278 Old 11-01-2011, 04:15 PM
 
mjf_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMark1 View Post

Hopefully Onkyo does a firmware update in the future to enable Audyssey Pro on the 5509. I think they did that with the 5508.

It should be released some time this month.
mjf_uk is offline  
post #130 of 278 Old 11-02-2011, 03:26 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
cougar75's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjf_uk View Post

But in 1-2 years there will be newer/better chips for upscaling to 4k.


I have to take things one day at a time. When I shop at the grocery store, I can't buy "green" bananas.
cougar75 is offline  
post #131 of 278 Old 11-02-2011, 03:34 PM
 
mjf_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cougar75 View Post

I have to take things one day at a time. When I shop at the grocery store, I can't buy "green" bananas.

Exactly. The Marvell chip is a green banana. It's pointless buying it, as it will never ripen properly. So it's better to wait until you want to eat one and get one that is ripe.
mjf_uk is offline  
post #132 of 278 Old 11-03-2011, 03:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Theresa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I really can't see 4k being used much for home video. It just won't be any visual improvement on reasonably sized screens.
Theresa is offline  
post #133 of 278 Old 11-03-2011, 03:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
No, its not.
Its been needed and used for upcoming 3D displays without the need of shutter glasses, like the one announced by Toshiba already, which uses the CEVO engine.
Those displays need a minimum of 4 k display pixels for a standard HD picture.

PS.: Some other manufacturers have 4 k displays already in the pipeline. Watch out for any announcements / prototypes / product releases at the upcoming CES.
gurkey is offline  
post #134 of 278 Old 11-03-2011, 02:50 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
cougar75's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I only have 2 eyes. I do not need 3D.
cougar75 is offline  
post #135 of 278 Old 11-04-2011, 03:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
Webmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by cougar75 View Post

I only have 2 eyes. I do not need 3D.

I only have 2 ears. I do not need 5.1 or more...
Webmonkey is offline  
post #136 of 278 Old 11-04-2011, 05:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nezff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cajun Country
Posts: 4,276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Ive asked this before, but Im assuming no one knows of a USA release date?
nezff is offline  
post #137 of 278 Old 11-04-2011, 06:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MCaugusto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: BOSTON --- MA ---
Posts: 1,190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 28
A couple of weeks ago i emailed Onkyo regarding the US release date for the 5509 and just got the answer yesterday; they have no idea if and/or when it will be available for sale here and that i should keep checking Onkyo's website for any news...And it only took the Onkyo sales rep two weeks to reply to a customer's inquiry for product availability....
MCaugusto is offline  
post #138 of 278 Old 11-04-2011, 06:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
You probably have to go for the Integra 80.3 instead. As those prepros are more or less niche units, it really doesn't make sense of having the (almost) same unit twice in the same market with different packaging.
The sales volume is just to low.
gurkey is offline  
post #139 of 278 Old 11-04-2011, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by nezff View Post

Ive asked this before, but Im assuming no one knows of a USA release date?

Do you just not like the looks of the Integra or what else would keep you from getting the Integra DHC-80.3 vs waiting for the Onkyo 5509?
mlknez is offline  
post #140 of 278 Old 11-04-2011, 10:57 AM
Member
 
zacjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Integra = $$$$
Onkyo = $$$

that's why I'm holding out anyway.
zacjones is offline  
post #141 of 278 Old 11-04-2011, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by zacjones View Post

Integra = $$$$
Onkyo = $$$

that's why I'm holding out anyway.

when i got my integra 9.8 a couple of generations ago it was only 75 more than the comparable Onkyo with an extra year warranty
mlknez is offline  
post #142 of 278 Old 11-04-2011, 02:38 PM
Member
 
KDogg765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the 5509 doesn't click like my 5507, I'll upgrade. I don't quite get why it has to use such loud switches. Otherwise I've been pretty pleased with the 5507.
KDogg765 is offline  
post #143 of 278 Old 11-04-2011, 03:13 PM
Member
 
Krokov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Geordieland
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by KDogg765 View Post

If the 5509 doesn't click like my 5507, I'll upgrade. I don't quite get why it has to use such loud switches. Otherwise I've been pretty pleased with the 5507.

I went from a 5507 to a 5509. Worth it if you can get a good deal.

The 5507 has really good music sound quality but 5509 improves things further with XT32 and especially now that it lets you select the Music Audyssey EQ. Denon/Marantz had this option for years so it's good Onkyo has it now.

Usability is also improved, the Audyssey EQ, dynamic EQ and Dynamic volume can be set per source now.

There's a Home button on the remote that lets you easily get at various settings like listening modes so no longer have to cycle through every single mode to get from PLII to stereo.

OSD is easier to read.

The relays are silent now. No clicks when changing channels on the sat box although that never bothered me anyway.
Krokov is offline  
post #144 of 278 Old 11-05-2011, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krokov View Post


The relays are silent now. No clicks when changing channels on the sat box although that never bothered me anyway.

well..thats a beautiful thing

I have a Direc TV and my 5508 clicks consistently as the sound format changes on the same station....like on commercials


Does the 5509 take a while to lock onto the audio signal as well( like the 5508 does)?

Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Onkyo 5508 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp Atlantic technology System 350 THX Ultra speakers
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Pioneer SC37 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 5009/906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is online now  
post #145 of 278 Old 11-06-2011, 02:58 AM
Member
 
Krokov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Geordieland
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by turnne1 View Post

Does the 5509 take a while to lock onto the audio signal as well( like the 5508 does)?

Warren

Never had that issue with either the 5507 or 5509.

Another improvement with the 5509 is that it does the full 8 position Audyssey setup much quicker than the 5507. It also gives you the option of doing a quick one position setup so you can check levels and stuff before doing a full setup.
Krokov is offline  
post #146 of 278 Old 11-06-2011, 03:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Theresa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by spike9876 View Post

argh !!, there goes my argument... but at least I'll have a choice of upgrading... If I got the 5508, I would have no choice but to upgrade.

Actually you do have the choice to not upgrade. Very few will even want 4k in the foreseeable future. 1080P exceeds most people's needs. Faster Audyssey is not worth the extra cost for me.
Theresa is offline  
post #147 of 278 Old 11-06-2011, 04:54 AM
Senior Member
 
spike9876's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theresa View Post

Actually you do have the choice to not upgrade. Very few will even want 4k in the foreseeable future. 1080P exceeds most people's needs. Faster Audyssey is not worth the extra cost for me.

Very few will want 4k ? Really, because if it was available... I would definitely look to get 4k. I still expect 4k to be available in 1-2 years from now.

Fronts: B&W CM8
Center: B&W CM Center
Surround: B&W CM1
JL Audio F112
Integra DHC-80.3
Emotiva XPA-5
OPPO 93
HTPC
spike9876 is offline  
post #148 of 278 Old 11-06-2011, 05:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Theresa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by spike9876 View Post

Very few will want 4k ? Really, because if it was available... I would definitely look to get 4k. I still expect 4k to be available in 1-2 years from now.

You must have a bigger screen or better optical acuity than I. I shouldn't be commenting here anyway, I only have the 5508.
Theresa is offline  
post #149 of 278 Old 11-06-2011, 05:13 PM
FOH
AVS Special Member
 
FOH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Midwest
Posts: 4,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 206
I really prefer the appearance of the 5508, perhaps this will grow on me. I'd never really consider myself one to care,..but since I've seen the redesign, just doesn't strike me as compelling aesthetically.

------------------------------------
Flat, Deep, Clean, Linear, and Loud
------------------------------------
Active 16.8kw, 7.3 system
(3)Seaton Cat12C up front, (4)QSC K8 sides/rears
(2)Seaton SubM-HP, (4)18" IB
FOH is offline  
post #150 of 278 Old 11-06-2011, 05:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by spike9876 View Post

Very few will want 4k ? Really, because if it was available... I would definitely look to get 4k. I still expect 4k to be available in 1-2 years from now.

that is a VERY optimistic outlook...

and when 4k displays are readily available, guess what they'll include?



yes, that's right, 4k video processing....

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Prsc5509 9 2 Channel 3d Ready Preamplifier , Onkyo Pr Sc5507 Pre Amplifier Home Theater Av Controller Preamp 9 2 Channel New , Marantz Av8801
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off