Onkyo SC5509 Processor - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 278 Old 01-23-2012, 06:27 PM
Senior Member
 
DMark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobpaule View Post

You bet, the dealer network have been screaming for mercy ever since distribution companies like Markertek started dishing out the Onkyos at decent prices.

Bob - where do you see Onkyos on Markertek's website?? I searched their site with no results for "Onkyo"....?

Fine Music, Movies, Wine, and Friends - A Life Well Lived!
DMark1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 278 Old 02-08-2012, 02:13 AM
Senior Member
 
atledreier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sandnes, Norway
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Is this true balanced or semi, like the 5508?

"Unplugging the signal cable is pretty much the ultimate in component isolation. Now if you removed the AC power and it still did it you should look for the little blond girl saying "they're he-re."
atledreier is offline  
post #183 of 278 Old 02-08-2012, 06:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,428
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by atledreier View Post

Is this true balanced or semi, like the 5508?

That question still comes up although, when it comes to digital processors, it is somewhat irrelevant. So, what do you mean by semi-balanced?

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is online now  
post #184 of 278 Old 02-09-2012, 11:27 PM
Senior Member
 
atledreier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sandnes, Norway
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I take 'semi' balanced to be that the DSP and internal signal path is single ended, but converted to balanced for transmission.

"Unplugging the signal cable is pretty much the ultimate in component isolation. Now if you removed the AC power and it still did it you should look for the little blond girl saying "they're he-re."
atledreier is offline  
post #185 of 278 Old 02-10-2012, 12:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
It's the same design as the 5508, nothing changed much.
gurkey is offline  
post #186 of 278 Old 02-10-2012, 06:46 AM
Senior Member
 
runnernorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Skagen, Denmark
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you know if the 5509 uses the same remote network codes as the 5508 ?

kindly
Jan
runnernorth is offline  
post #187 of 278 Old 02-10-2012, 06:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Theresa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by runnernorth View Post

Do you know if the 5509 uses the same remote network codes as the 5508 ?

Well, there would be the codes for Spotify which the 5508 doesn't have.
Theresa is offline  
post #188 of 278 Old 02-10-2012, 07:11 AM
Senior Member
 
runnernorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Skagen, Denmark
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theresa View Post

Well, there would be the codes for Spotify which the 5508 doesn't have.

Theresa, you´re right, that i forgot..too bad ...

kindly
Jan
runnernorth is offline  
post #189 of 278 Old 02-10-2012, 04:47 PM
 
mjf_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurkey View Post

It's the same design as the 5508, nothing changed much.

I thought this as well, but I think there is far more below the surface than the specs suggest. I can't confirm anything for sure, but I believe that there are a number of changes/upgrades that are not apparent from the specs.

If anyone would like to contest this, then I have on simple thing to say that potentially proves my point. Audyssey Pro support was supposed to be implemented back in November, but 3 months later we are still waiting for confirmation. If things were so similar and so simple, it would not have taken this long.
mjf_uk is offline  
post #190 of 278 Old 02-11-2012, 04:48 AM
Senior Member
 
runnernorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Skagen, Denmark
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey , I've just updated my 5509 through network,
But now after the update I can't control it with the remote, on the display it says: completed.
Do you know what to do, should I just turn it off and then on with the st.by. button??

kindly
Jan
runnernorth is offline  
post #191 of 278 Old 02-11-2012, 04:56 AM
Senior Member
 
runnernorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Skagen, Denmark
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh, now I got it, read the manual again, it says, turn off the av controller by pushing the st.by. Button on front panel.
:-)

kindly
Jan
runnernorth is offline  
post #192 of 278 Old 02-11-2012, 07:34 AM
Senior Member
 
runnernorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Skagen, Denmark
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
-after updating the firmware, I listened to Adele Royal Albert hall-DTS-HD MSTR, and I have to say, that the update actually improved the SQ, in my ears anyway, it gave some more clarity, especially to her vocal. ;-)

kindly
Jan
runnernorth is offline  
post #193 of 278 Old 02-11-2012, 08:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjf_uk View Post

I thought this as well, but I think there is far more below the surface than the specs suggest. I can't confirm anything for sure, but I believe that there are a number of changes/upgrades that are not apparent from the specs.

If anyone would like to contest this, then I have on simple thing to say that potentially proves my point. Audyssey Pro support was supposed to be implemented back in November, but 3 months later we are still waiting for confirmation. If things were so similar and so simple, it would not have taken this long.

The SM for the 5509 / 3009 / 5009 (actually the same) doesn't show much of a difference concerning the hardware.
gurkey is offline  
post #194 of 278 Old 02-11-2012, 08:24 AM
 
mjf_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurkey View Post

The SM for the 5509 / 3009 / 5009 (actually the same) doesn't show much of a difference concerning the hardware.

My post was in reply to the 5509 being the same as the 5508.
mjf_uk is offline  
post #195 of 278 Old 02-11-2012, 03:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjf_uk View Post


If anyone would like to contest this, then I have on simple thing to say that potentially proves my point. Audyssey Pro support was supposed to be implemented back in November, but 3 months later we are still waiting for confirmation. If things were so similar and so simple, it would not have taken this long.

That fact that Audyssey Pro support was has not been enabled any faster, really offers no proof at all. This is something where two entirely separate companies have to sign off on it, Onkyo/Integra and Audyssey. And more than likely, if it was just up to Onlyo/Integra, they would to be probably be prone to just having it enabled right away, while on the other hand you can bet that Audyssey is for sure running a test mule unit through it's paces before they sign off on it. Onkyo/Integra has screwed up a few firmware releases in the past that in a few cases somewhat made Audyssey look to be the one at fault of a new problem that the new firmware created, when they really were not.
Johnla is offline  
post #196 of 278 Old 02-12-2012, 06:38 AM
 
mjf_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnla View Post

That fact that Audyssey Pro support was has not been enabled any faster, really offers no proof at all. This is something where two entirely separate companies have to sign off on it, Onkyo/Integra and Audyssey. And more than likely, if it was just up to Onlyo/Integra, they would to be probably be prone to just having it enabled right away, while on the other hand you can bet that Audyssey is for sure running a test mule unit through it's paces before they sign off on it. Onkyo/Integra has screwed up a few firmware releases in the past that in a few cases somewhat made Audyssey look to be the one at fault of a new problem that the new firmware created, when they really were not.

It's not conclusive proof, but the fact that Onkyo haven't been able to supply a firmware to Audyssey that their engineers are happy with, suggests that it's more than just the differences in the video side of things between the 5508 and 5509. If they were so similar, they would be running off almost the same firmware, but they clearly aren't. You have to ask why would there be any difference in the sound processing that would cause problems for Audssey, because as faf as the specs are concerned they are exactly the same in that respect.
mjf_uk is offline  
post #197 of 278 Old 02-12-2012, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
This is no proof or evidence at all.
The 5xx9 units have a newer, different firmware. Even if the hardware would be identical, they still have to reprogramm for including Audyssey Pro. Bugs happen in software all the time even during the slightest changes.
gurkey is offline  
post #198 of 278 Old 02-12-2012, 02:43 PM
 
mjf_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurkey View Post

This is no proof or evidence at all.
The 5xx9 units have a newer, different firmware. Even if the hardware would be identical, they still have to reprogramm for including Audyssey Pro. Bugs happen in software all the time even during the slightest changes.

I guess I'll just shut the hell up then.
mjf_uk is offline  
post #199 of 278 Old 02-12-2012, 10:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cam Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Tucson, AZ & Los Angeles,CA, USA
Posts: 2,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjf_uk View Post

i guess i'll just shut the hell up then.

lol!
Cam Man is offline  
post #200 of 278 Old 02-12-2012, 10:28 PM
Senior Member
 
heja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

That question still comes up although, when it comes to digital processors, it is somewhat irrelevant.

I agree, but can you explain?
heja is offline  
post #201 of 278 Old 02-27-2012, 05:41 PM
Member
 
Joseph MAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to use the 12v trigger to turn on my amplifier. I don't have mono miniplug cable in hand. Can a use a stereo miniplug cable instead?
Joseph MAK is offline  
post #202 of 278 Old 02-27-2012, 06:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,428
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by heja View Post

I agree, but can you explain?

All the digital processing is single-ended.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is online now  
post #203 of 278 Old 03-17-2012, 05:59 AM
 
mjf_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is now a new firmware for the 5509 adding Pro Support and the Audyssey software is available for download.

The TX-NR3009 and TX-NR5009 are also supported, but not the US model.
mjf_uk is offline  
post #204 of 278 Old 03-18-2012, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Several users, which updated the 5509, 5009 and 3009 yesterday with the latest firmware are reporting a much improved bass and surround sound staging although nothing has been stated by Onkyo about a new Audyssey treatment / revision / changes.
gurkey is offline  
post #205 of 278 Old 03-19-2012, 12:06 PM
 
mjf_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurkey View Post

Several users, which updated the 5509, 5009 and 3009 yesterday with the latest firmware are reporting a much improved bass and surround sound staging although nothing has been stated by Onkyo about a new Audyssey treatment / revision / changes.

Is that just by installing the firmware or did they also run a new calibration?
mjf_uk is offline  
post #206 of 278 Old 03-19-2012, 01:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I really don't know...
gurkey is offline  
post #207 of 278 Old 03-20-2012, 12:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Callback action March 19th 2012:
Onkyo has a callback going on for several AVR models of the year 2011 generation due to sub standard parts. The 1009 and 5009 are among those.
You should check, if the 5009 you have is among those, who have to be serviced. This refers among others to all 5009s units manufactured between November 2011 and January 2012. Check with you local Onkyo distributor, if your unit is affected.

PS.:
Here is the link to the Onkyo UK site.
http://www.uk.onkyo.com/en/articles/...ice-80521.html
gurkey is offline  
post #208 of 278 Old 03-20-2012, 12:10 PM
 
mjf_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd be insisting on a brand new one. Legally they would have to replace it, not just offer to repair it.
mjf_uk is offline  
post #209 of 278 Old 03-20-2012, 02:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 427
I can't believe Onkyo is having further issues with their AVRs. After the issue with the serial cable (correct part?) that some experienced with the xx08 series you would think QC would be ramped up. Too bad as Onkyo makes great AVR/prepros but their reliability issues are really hurting their reputation.

Bill

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

 

Denon 4311 (in preamp mode), Parasound 2100, Boston Acoustics A7200 amp, Oppo BDP-103, Consonance CD120, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk Song Towers, Song Center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is online now  
post #210 of 278 Old 03-22-2012, 03:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Webmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Any serious reviews of the 5509 out yet? When I try to google I get reviews of 5508 instead :-(
Webmonkey is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Prsc5509 9 2 Channel 3d Ready Preamplifier , Onkyo Pr Sc5507 Pre Amplifier Home Theater Av Controller Preamp 9 2 Channel New , Marantz Av8801
Gear in this thread - Av8801 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off