"Offical" Yamaha RX-A810 - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 101 Old 12-02-2013, 06:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by trellaine201 View Post

It now says straight on the receiver. I have never seen anything on the receiver. Im not sure why it shows straight etc

But even though its on straight its only showing right/left and sub. 2.1 channels.

Did you hit the INFO button on the remote? Pressing that will change the type of information displayed on the front panel.

In STRAIGHT mode it will show 2.1 for two channel sources, but it will show 5.1 etc. for movies. If you want to use all your speakers even for 2 channel music then STRAIGHT is not what you want, so press SUR. DECODE or MUSIC repeatedly to choose a format.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 101 Old 12-02-2013, 06:55 AM
Member
 
trellaine201's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post

Did you hit the INFO button on the remote? Pressing that will change the type of information displayed on the front panel.

In STRAIGHT mode it will show 2.1 for two channel sources, but it will show 5.1 etc. for movies. If you want to use all your speakers even for 2 channel music then STRAIGHT is not what you want, so press SUR. DECODE or MUSIC repeatedly to choose a format.

Cool. Thanks. I got rid of that display.

And i want whatever is "native" to come through the speakers. I have 5 spaekers and a sub (5.1)

But i am sure fox network shows in 5.1 and the receiver doesnt switch. It stays 2.1 in straight mode.

I will have to see if it switches when my xbox etc is playing.

Thanks
trellaine201 is offline  
post #93 of 101 Old 09-11-2014, 06:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I just found one of these refurbished, and ordered it. Anything this older model is missing that the newer ones have? It saved me a couple hundred bucks over the RX-830A, which plays FLAC. But I can live without that feature.
NetTechie is offline  
post #94 of 101 Old 09-11-2014, 06:51 PM
gce
Senior Member
 
gce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Anaheim CA
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetTechie View Post
I just found one of these refurbished, and ordered it. Anything this older model is missing that the newer ones have? It saved me a couple hundred bucks over the RX-830A, which plays FLAC. But I can live without that feature.
The RX-A810 does play FLAC up to 96/24bit.
gce is offline  
post #95 of 101 Old 09-11-2014, 06:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 1
SWEET!! This must be through a firmware update? I did not see a mention of FLAC in the manual or other docs on the Yamaha site.
NetTechie is offline  
post #96 of 101 Old 09-11-2014, 08:17 PM
gce
Senior Member
 
gce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Anaheim CA
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Page 64 Of your PDF Manual. Its just a short little blurb, but it's there.
gce is offline  
post #97 of 101 Old 09-12-2014, 03:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by gce View Post
Page 64 Of your PDF Manual. Its just a short little blurb, but it's there.
Yup, it is there. No kidding. So basically this 810 has everything the 840 has pretty much? I didn't see much difference looking at specs.
NetTechie is offline  
post #98 of 101 Old 09-12-2014, 07:46 AM
Member
 
Sven37's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetTechie View Post
Yup, it is there. No kidding. So basically this 810 has everything the 840 has pretty much? I didn't see much difference looking at specs.
The two other notable changes that I can think of is the YPAO room correction is different. The 810 doesn't have the reflected sound control features. Also, the 810 is missing the 4k pass-through and upscaling.

Sven37 is offline  
post #99 of 101 Old 09-12-2014, 08:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sven37 View Post
The two other notable changes that I can think of is the YPAO room correction is different. The 810 doesn't have the reflected sound control features. Also, the 810 is missing the 4k pass-through and upscaling.
Thanks for pointing that out, I noticed the YPAO name had something added to it. New version I guess? I think I'm gonna get the newer ones with that, as it may be even better sounding. I canceled my order for the 810.
NetTechie is offline  
post #100 of 101 Old 09-24-2014, 10:17 AM
Newbie
 
frankie1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi m8s can anyone explain this problem i have my rx-810 connected to a samsung 65inch tv 6400 series , now heres what happens i hear a click noise coming from the tv next the rx-810 loses connection for about 3 seconds this means i lose signal to my epson tw9100 then reconnects and all is fine this happens around the 90 min mark give a few minutes , the only way to stop it is to remove the hdmi from the tv to the rx-810 any ideas
thank you
frankie1974 is offline  
post #101 of 101 Old 09-26-2014, 08:25 AM
Newbie
 
frankie1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone
frankie1974 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Rx A810bl Receiver
Gear in this thread - A810bl by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off