The "official" Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A710/810/1010/2010/3010 thread - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 03:14 AM
Senior Member
 
saltysteven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eagle2 View Post

I own a Onkyo TX-NR808. Purchased January 2011. Last week, the second week in April 2012, it started to exhibit some of the problems listed in these forums regarding the audio.

Mine showed up in the center channel, it sounded mushy and then the sound was reduced to almost nothing. When I tried to adjust the unit it would shut off.

I tried to contact the Onkyo service department in New Jersey. I tried three different days and was always on hold and never got to speak to anyone. My guess is that my total hold time was something on the order of an hour or so. When I tried to follow their instructions to leave a message so that they could return my call, nothing happened. I punched the star key on my phone, as required, and was never able to reach a recording device.

In the past I have always purchased Yamaha equipment and had been very pleased with it. This goes all the way back into the 1960s. I have their top level amp preamp combination and it has never failed me. But by the time we got to HDMI I thought I would try another device. So I purchased a Denon receiver. I really like the receiver but the remote was terrible. So having read all kinds of good things about Onkyo, and the extra features for less cost, I thought I would give them a try. And I have been relatively satisfied with my 808 until last week as mentioned above. I must say their customer service is pathetic. I found on there web site where the authorized service center for my part of the country was. It is ABL Electronics Service in Michigan. I contacted them and they told me that they were very backed up since there were only two authorized service centers in the United States for Onkyo. But it would probably cost me $40 or $50 to ship the receiver to them(they were right cost $45.00). They told me that it would probably take at least three weeks to service the unit and return it to me.

I will never purchase another Onkyo product.

So I went out and bought another Yamaha receiver, model RX-A710. It sounds great right out of the box!

unfortunately it does not come with a printed users manual. I found out from reading the Yamaha section in the excellent AVS forums that if I would call the Yamaha customer service department I could receive a printed manual for free. So I proceeded to call them. I receive the kind of excellent customer service from Yamaha that I had hoped to receive from Onkyo, and did not.

Onkyo needs to take a lesson from Yamaha. I am back with Yamaha products now and do not intend to stray again!

Oh nice, I never knew we can call to get a printed manual!
saltysteven is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 07:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ovation View Post

Buy a 10x0 and add an Antimode 8033. YPAO does a great job with my speakers and the 8033 is great with my sub. You need Anthem's ARC or XT32 to do better for sub EQ (or their stand alone equivalents).

↑ ↑ ↑
This.

Works awesome with my A2010. Thanks to all who suggested the Anti-mode.
bluechunks is offline  
post #903 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 08:01 AM
Senior Member
 
saltysteven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluechunks View Post

? ? ?
This.

Works awesome with my A2010. Thanks to all who suggested the Anti-mode.

Please explain anti mode and how much?
Thanks
saltysteven is offline  
post #904 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 08:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by saltysteven View Post

Please explain anti mode and how much?

It's a small "stand alone" sub EQ that is available in several versions. It is very useful because most receivers either do not EQ the sub or their sub EQ is not as comprehensive as their low/mid/high EQ. Since I only have a single sub I went with the less expensive 8033c which is being replaced/upgraded shortly by the 8033 Cinema.


http://www.dspeaker.com/en/products.shtml

The AVS Anti-Mode 8033 thread is here.
bluechunks is offline  
post #905 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Venomous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Huntington Beach/San Diego CA
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'm seriously leaning toward the antimode dual core 2.0 right now... Last week almost pulls the trigger on the 8033s
Venomous is offline  
post #906 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 09:12 AM
Member
 
itallushrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluechunks View Post

It's a small "stand alone" sub EQ that is available in several versions. It is very useful because most receivers either do not EQ the sub or their sub EQ is not as comprehensive as their low/mid/high EQ. Since I only have a single sub I went with the less expensive 8033c which is being replaced/upgraded shortly by the 8033 Cinema.


http://www.dspeaker.com/en/products.shtml

The AVS Anti-Mode 8033 thread is here.

Is the price for the 8033 and 8033c around 470$ USD?
itallushrt is offline  
post #907 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 09:23 AM
Member
 
JDEaston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by itallushrt View Post


Is the price for the 8033 and 8033c around 470$ USD?

I saw it for around $300 last time I checked. I don't own one but have seen what it can do. It's a great piece of equipment, in my opinion it does a better job with the sub than any of the room correction software I've used.
JDEaston is offline  
post #908 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 09:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by itallushrt View Post

Is the price for the 8033 and 8033c around 470$ USD?

Hmmm...seems a little high. I don't want to violate the AVS TOS so all I can suggest is looking at the manufacturer's website and clicking through to locate the authorized USA dealer(s) since I don't see a MSRP published specifically for the USA.
bluechunks is offline  
post #909 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 09:58 AM
Member
 
itallushrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluechunks View Post

Hmmm...seems a little high. I don't want to violate the AVS TOS so all I can suggest is looking at the manufacturer's website and clicking through to locate the authorized USA dealer(s) since I don't see a MSRP published specifically for the USA.

Yeah bad form by me for talking price. I was doing a british pound to usd exchange and getting that number.
itallushrt is offline  
post #910 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
saltysteven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can the antimode change the sounds of a sub from night to day or just a tiny bit?
saltysteven is offline  
post #911 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 10:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by saltysteven View Post

Can the antimode change the sounds of a sub from night to day or just a tiny bit?

It's pretty substantial, if not astounding, IMHO.

However, I'd suggest taking at look at the antimode thread and/or reviews with measured graphs for data points other than the all-elusive opinion.
bluechunks is offline  
post #912 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Venomous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Huntington Beach/San Diego CA
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Sometimes there's guys in the 8033 thread selling their 8033s, ESP guys going to the dualcores. So there's deals to be had by users here.
Venomous is offline  
post #913 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 10:54 AM
Senior Member
 
saltysteven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great thanks guys
saltysteven is offline  
post #914 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 03:30 PM
Member
 
cjhoward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found the program I listen to on the Net Radio and won't need to stream from my android now. So I will be selling my brand new unused YBA-10 on the classifieds. If interested, PM me. Thanks.

P. S. I absolutely love the A3010 more every single day I use it and tailor it to my needs. It is truly an amazing, revolutionary piece of gear.
cjhoward is offline  
post #915 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 04:15 PM
Member
 
marmyk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am currently running a Yamaha HTR-6063 in a 6.2 setup. contemplating a Yamaha RX-A2010 for its networking and 140 watts per. my Axiom speakers are wall and ceiling mounted and i don't want to change this speaker setup. my question is will the 2010 run a 6.2 setup in zone 1.
marmyk1 is offline  
post #916 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 04:58 PM
gce
Senior Member
 
gce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Anaheim CA
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by marmyk1 View Post

my question is will the 2010 run a 6.2 setup in zone 1.

If you mean Main Zone...Yes!
gce is online now  
post #917 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 05:26 PM
Member
 
marmyk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gce View Post

If you mean Main Zone...Yes!

why would i want to talk about onkyo ? as stated in my post i am interested in the Yamaha RX-A2010. I am looking at the 2010 manual and it shows; 2.1, 5.1, 7.1, 9.1 and 9.2 configurations. then under speaker connections it again shows all setups except 6.1.
marmyk1 is offline  
post #918 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 05:27 PM
Senior Member
 
saltysteven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjhoward View Post

I found the program I listen to on the Net Radio and won't need to stream from my android now. So I will be selling my brand new unused YBA-10 on the classifieds. If interested, PM me. Thanks.

P. S. I absolutely love the A3010 more every single day I use it and tailor it to my needs. It is truly an amazing, revolutionary piece of gear.

that was a $150 station!! Glad you found it. You still can use your Android and love your Yamaha even more with the Yamaha app.
saltysteven is offline  
post #919 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 05:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cr136124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by marmyk1 View Post

why would i want to talk about onkyo ? as stated in my post i am interested in the Yamaha RX-A2010. I am looking at the 2010 manual and it shows; 2.1, 5.1, 7.1, 9.1 and 9.2 configurations. then under speaker connections it again shows all setups except 6.1.

I have the RX-A1010 and you can have a 6.2 configuration (two fronts, one center, two surrounds, one back surround and 2 subwoofers). Is that your current configuration (6.2)?
cr136124 is online now  
post #920 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 05:45 PM
Member
 
marmyk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr136124 View Post

I have the RX-A1010 and you can have a 6.2 configuration (two fronts, one center, two surrounds, one back surround and 2 subwoofers). Is that your current configuration (6.2)?

yes it is, i am looking at the 2010 pdf. and no were does it show a 6.2 or a 6.1configuration. everything but.
marmyk1 is offline  
post #921 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 06:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cr136124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by marmyk1 View Post

yes it is, i am looking at the 2010 pdf. and no were does it show a 6.2 or a 6.1configuration. everything but.

You need to manually change it in the Manual Setup and the configuration. There is an option on the Surround Back to switch from x2 to x1.

cr136124 is online now  
post #922 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 06:38 PM
gce
Senior Member
 
gce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Anaheim CA
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I can't figure out how to get a Flac file to play on my 810. I went to HDtracks and downloaded there sample Flac files. When I open my PC with my 810 I can see and play anything from my Music Folder in my laptop (mp3's) but the 810 does not see the Flac files I have in that folder.

I've checked the files and they are Flac files. What am I doing wrong? How do I get the 810 to see and play Flac files
gce is online now  
post #923 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 06:39 PM
Member
 
marmyk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr136124 View Post

You need to manually change it in the Manual Setup and the configuration. There is an option on the Surround Back to switch from x2 to x1.


thanks, thats exactly how it looks on my 6063. the manual was of no help. I wanted to be sure befor i pulled the trigger.
marmyk1 is offline  
post #924 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 06:50 PM
gce
Senior Member
 
gce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Anaheim CA
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by marmyk1 View Post

why would i want to talk about onkyo ?

Well if you knew what a signature was you wouldn't ask.
gce is online now  
post #925 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 06:58 PM
G42
Newbie
 
G42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all. I just got an RX A810 a couple of weeks ago and I'm having a couple of problems I was wondering if anyone has an easy fix for. Me being an idiot is a lot easier than having to send the damn thing back.
First of all, when I put anything at all in the usb port on the front, all I ever get is "Access Error" and then "No Content". The devices I'm plugging into it work just fine anywhere else.
The second issue is that everytime I turn the unit on, about 10-20 seconds later it automatically switches to AV4 for no apparent reason. I don't have anything connected to AV4 and never have. Even if I switch to the channel I want as soon as I power on, it will always switch to AV4.

Any ideas or should I send it back?
G42 is offline  
post #926 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 07:55 PM
Member
 
red_5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by eagle2 View Post

Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Spoiler  
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
I own a Onkyo TX-NR808. Purchased January 2011. Last week, the second week in April 2012, it started to exhibit some of the problems listed in these forums regarding the audio.

Mine showed up in the center channel, it sounded mushy and then the sound was reduced to almost nothing. When I tried to adjust the unit it would shut off.

I tried to contact the Onkyo service department in New Jersey. I tried three different days and was always on hold and never got to speak to anyone. My guess is that my total hold time was something on the order of an hour or so. When I tried to follow their instructions to leave a message so that they could return my call, nothing happened. I punched the star key on my phone, as required, and was never able to reach a recording device.

In the past I have always purchased Yamaha equipment and had been very pleased with it. This goes all the way back into the 1960s. I have their top level amp preamp combination and it has never failed me. But by the time we got to HDMI I thought I would try another device. So I purchased a Denon receiver. I really like the receiver but the remote was terrible. So having read all kinds of good things about Onkyo, and the extra features for less cost, I thought I would give them a try. And I have been relatively satisfied with my 808 until last week as mentioned above. I must say their customer service is pathetic. I found on there web site where the authorized service center for my part of the country was. It is ABL Electronics Service in Michigan. I contacted them and they told me that they were very backed up since there were only two authorized service centers in the United States for Onkyo. But it would probably cost me $40 or $50 to ship the receiver to them(they were right cost $45.00). They told me that it would probably take at least three weeks to service the unit and return it to me.

I will never purchase another Onkyo product.

So I went out and bought another Yamaha receiver, model RX-A710. It sounds great right out of the box!

unfortunately it does not come with a printed users manual. I found out from reading the Yamaha section in the excellent AVS forums that if I would call the Yamaha customer service department I could receive a printed manual for free. So I proceeded to call them. I receive the kind of excellent customer service from Yamaha that I had hoped to receive from Onkyo, and did not.

Onkyo needs to take a lesson from Yamaha.
I am back with Yamaha products now and do not intend to stray again!

I was a "Yamaha guy" for years and owned 3 flagships and 2 mid-level units. I also strayed a few years ago and tried pre-pros and AVRs from Denon, Onkyo, and Marantz. After witnessing Audyssey Dynamic EQ for HT and also the smoothness of the Marantz AV7005 preamp with 2-channel music, I said I would never go back to Yamaha. Well, 11.2 on the 3010 got me curious, so I gave it a try. While I haven't completed the 11.2 configuration yet, even with only 7.1 at the moment the 3010 has blown me away with HT. I'm not missing Audyssey at all. I'm happy as well to be back with Yamaha!

Defeat of Deduct must go over Defense before Detail does.
red_5ive is offline  
post #927 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 08:00 PM
Member
 
red_5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lindrian View Post

Can you make the RX-A3010's display show what decoding mode is being used? Say DTS, Dolby, etc etc?

Quote:
Originally Posted by red_5ive View Post

Assuming you're bitstreaming, the Display button will show the active codec on screen, and the Info button will toggle the unit's front display to show the active codec, DSP program, or other info depending on the source.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lindrian View Post

Im playing stuff over HDMI. There's no codec info on the display.

Quote:
Originally Posted by itallushrt View Post

Pop the top on your remote and use the "info" button to change what is displayed. The only options are DSP or CODEC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lindrian View Post

thank you.

Apparently I failed to get the point across.

Defeat of Deduct must go over Defense before Detail does.
red_5ive is offline  
post #928 of 2909 Old 04-18-2012, 08:10 PM
Member
 
red_5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by gce View Post

I think 3 years from the manufacture is good enough.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrs View Post

With all of the trouble that I had with my onkyo, I got the plan for my 2010 at best buy...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Detach50 View Post

The Aventage line has a 3yr warranty, and depending on how you pay for it (amex, visa, MC) many card companies will add up-to a full year of warranty making the total 4yrs. Seeing as Best Buy/MHT warranties come in 2 or 4 years, i would hold off. The only real difference is convenience.

Convenience was definitely a big factor for me as according to the Yamaha website the nearest service center from me is about 70 miles. Nevertheless, I decided I'm sticking with the manuf. warranty. Thanks all for the input.

Defeat of Deduct must go over Defense before Detail does.
red_5ive is offline  
post #929 of 2909 Old 04-19-2012, 01:44 AM
Member
 
cjhoward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by saltysteven View Post

that was a $150 station!! Glad you found it. You still can use your Android and love your Yamaha even more with the Yamaha app.

Yes, I use the app both for streaming mp3s directly from the phone itself and from my Windows XP PC. I also have a Windows 7 PC and enjoy being able to "push" content via WMP rather than just "pull." However this is a little buggy. The only drawback is apparently the nature of streaming itself; i. e. that you can't fast forward or rewind, whereas if you are playing music via your player, you can control that and play from any point in a track. I don't fully understand why that is but I do believe streaming via the network gives you a higher fidelity signal than say BT or using the aux input, not certain though.
cjhoward is offline  
post #930 of 2909 Old 04-19-2012, 11:31 AM
Newbie
 
eagle2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by red_5ive View Post

I was a "Yamaha guy" for years and owned 3 flagships and 2 mid-level units. I also strayed a few years ago and tried pre-pros and AVRs from Denon, Onkyo, and Marantz. After witnessing Audyssey Dynamic EQ for HT and also the smoothness of the Marantz AV7005 preamp with 2-channel music, I said I would never go back to Yamaha. Well, 11.2 on the 3010 got me curious, so I gave it a try. While I haven't completed the 11.2 configuration yet, even with only 7.1 at the moment the 3010 has blown me away with HT. I'm not missing Audyssey at all. I'm happy as well to be back with Yamaha!

RED: first let me state that I believe that Onkyo puts a lot of good features in their receivers. I definitely liked their remote control better than the Yamaha, I also like their on-screen display better.

But the first thing I noticed about the Yamaha A710 was how nicely balanced sound was after using their equalization system. At my age I'm hard of hearing due to 11 years in the military being around jets. I had a great deal of difficulty hearing voices through the Onkyo. With the Yamaha this problem has been almost eliminated. There presets work quite well.

But the bottom line for me is customer service. The Onkyo was nonexistent, pathetic, horrible, what else can I say when nobody will answer the phone and they tell you to leave a message and you can't get an answering machine? And this trying was over a three day period and about an hour on hold.

When I contacted Yamaha about the free manual, I received a quick response with excellent results. Yamaha at least, has more than two authorized service centers for the entire United States as does Onkyo. I don't know how many Yamaha has but it's a whole lot more than two. The lady I spoke to at the Onkyo authorizers service center told me that they are receiving 30 Onkyo units a day due to the fact that there are only two in the entire United States, at least that's what she told me
eagle2 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Rx A710bl Receiver , Yamaha Rx A810bl Receiver , Yamaha Rx A1010bl Receiver , Yamaha Rx A2010 Receiver , Yamaha Rx A3010 Receiver , Receivers Amplifiers
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off