The "official" Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A710/810/1010/2010/3010 thread - Page 98 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2911 of 2918 Old 07-29-2014, 01:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
pappaduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly area
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 49
I no longer need help with this issue. Turns out that my comcast modem/router had some sort of issue that caused me to lose my Ethernet connection (wifi was fine). I reset it several times with no change. Called comcast and was asked to reset it and magically it is now working. I have yet another reason to dislike comcast. X1 ongoing issues and now this. I just wasted two hours of my day. Now to get those ribs on the grill, because I simply could I not grill without music and knowing that I had an AV issue.
pappaduke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2912 of 2918 Old 08-02-2014, 03:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
issues with RX A-810 V-AUX

Hi All

I own RX A-810 and am not able to use V-AUX HDMI cable for connecting my laptop or STB. When I connect a laptop, the screensaver is visible on the screen. In the case of STB, only the video output is visible on TV, but the audio is not audible through AVR speakers. Everything is working fine with the HDMI in points at the back. Any pointers on what might be wrong are appreciated.

Thanks
dob2086 is offline  
post #2913 of 2918 Old 08-06-2014, 11:58 AM
Newbie
 
fishingsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: nawlins thats New Orleans
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the 3010 and have recently completed the YAPO still working out the bugs to get my correct sound. It is quite clear and powerful.

I do agree that all of the buttons on the remote are small, too many and confusing. Also that the setup is a bit tricky to remember where it is all located.

One thing that I noticed is that YAPO must have an empty room to work correctly. I know because I was lazy the first time and did not empty my room.
fishingsteve is offline  
post #2914 of 2918 Old 08-06-2014, 07:16 PM
Member
 
B 26354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SoCal Desert
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishingsteve View Post
One thing that I noticed is that YAPO must have an empty room to work correctly.
Interesting proposition. I've had four Yamaha receivers with YPAO (current one is an A2010), and I don't recall ever reading that in any of their owner's manuals. I find it hard to believe that enthusiasts who frequently run YPAO (or Audyssey) would ever bother using it, if they were expected to always completely empty the room beforehand.

Also... isn't it the whole point of "room correction" software to compensate for the size, shape and contents of the room?



Could you possibly elaborate?....
B 26354 is offline  
post #2915 of 2918 Old 08-07-2014, 12:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
brwsaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishingsteve View Post
I have the 3010 and have recently completed the YAPO still working out the bugs to get my correct sound. It is quite clear and powerful.

I do agree that all of the buttons on the remote are small, too many and confusing. Also that the setup is a bit tricky to remember where it is all located.

One thing that I noticed is that YAPO must have an empty room to work correctly. I know because I was lazy the first time and did not empty my room.
I've removed objects and miscellaneous furniture hoping for an improvement in the past. Anything that won't be in the room during playback needs to be removed IMO. Taking the coffee table out permanently was a good step.
For me I seemed to get the best results when the room, and the rest of the house, was dead quite. No dishwasher, dryer, kids, etc. running in the next room.
The nearly sound proof room took care of this little pet peave.
Now I wish I could fill the seats during the setup, our room sounds its best with people seated in the room.


YPAO needs to be watched and rerun when the numbers displayed are funky.
brwsaw is online now  
post #2916 of 2918 Old 08-07-2014, 05:06 AM
Newbie
 
fishingsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: nawlins thats New Orleans
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also found it hard to believe and , as you, thought that the whole idea was to correct for the room, contents, setup etc?????? However http://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio...a3010_black_u/ go to Support then look at the last two downloadable manuals easy set up guide pg. 6 in the upper rectangle 6th bullet point. It is also stated again in the last download pg 49. ?????

The other thing that i found odd was that it stated to set volume on woofer at 1/2 but also said to set crossover to max. Just thought you would set it somewhat close to desired listening as a starting point.

When i ran it the 1st time with the furniture in the room, 10 theater seats it came up with all sorts of crazy distances, levels were set from 0 to -10. The worst being my subs at -10 and gave error code W-3 found on pg 55 of the last download.

It sounded horrible. I have 2- HSU Research VTF3-MK4's subs AWESOME and highly recommend them if you are a base head. 2- KLIPSCH RB8-1 surround rears, 2- RS5211 surrounds, RC52 11 center and Jamo towers as the fronts cant remember model

Removed the seats started over and one hell of a difference. Still customizing the settings but much improved. No errors base set to -2, which i changed of course. Distances very close, i measured. respectable levels.

I am running 7.2 presently and am looking to upgrade to the full 11.2 with both front and rear presence. More Klipsch RS5211's.
fishingsteve is offline  
post #2917 of 2918 Old 08-07-2014, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,941
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 81
I see nothing in the manual (yes I went to page 46...) about removing furniture from the room. Rather, the implication seems to be to keep the room quiet but otherwise exactly as one would have the room when listening to music.

Last edited by nathan_h; 08-07-2014 at 08:19 AM.
nathan_h is online now  
post #2918 of 2918 Old 08-07-2014, 09:53 AM
Member
 
B 26354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SoCal Desert
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 122
^ ^ Exactly.

On page 47 in the A2010's manual (and on page 6 in its Easy Setup Guide), it states:

"YPAO measurement is not performed correctly when any obstacles are in the room."

"During the measuring process (about three minutes), keep stuff in the corners or remove it from the room."


I think it's fairly obvious that by "obstacles" and "stuff", Yamaha is referring to objects in the room (lamps, art objects sitting on tables/stands...) that -- because of their size and position -- could possibly obstruct the soundpath between the speakers and the YPAO microphone. Regarding removing furniture... even if I were willing to do so, it seems fairly counter-intuitive to me to suppose that measurements made in an empty room would still apply, once the room's furnishings were replaced.

I appreciate your response, though. Perhaps, in cases where the room is a completely dedicated theater-room, and the room's only furniture is its theater-seating, it does work out to be better. The vast majority of us, however, whose home "theaters" are also our fully-furnished living rooms, do not enjoy such luxury.

Quote:
The other thing that i found odd was that it stated to set volume on woofer at 1/2 but also said to set crossover to max. Just thought you would set it somewhat close to desired listening as a starting point.
Not odd at all. Setting the crossover to max on the subwoofer allows you to set it in your AVR to whatever value works for your setup... the point being that your AVR should be the only instrument which controls any of your speakers' crossover settings.
nathan_h likes this.
B 26354 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Rx A710bl Receiver , Yamaha Rx A810bl Receiver , Yamaha Rx A1010bl Receiver , Yamaha Rx A2010 Receiver , Yamaha Rx A3010 Receiver , Receivers Amplifiers
Gear in this thread - A2010 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off