Onkyo TX-NR609 with JBL ES80s - Questions!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 Old 09-12-2011, 01:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
madgun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased a pair of JBL ES80s and the Onkyo receiver from Fry's today. There are some questions I would like to ask:

1) I have to turn the volume above 50-60 to hear a decently loud audio. Is that normal or are the speakers under-powered? ( I have made sure that all the cable connections are correct )

2) There is a strapping bar at the back of the JBL speakers as they can take in two-amp inputs. But since the 609 provides one, I am hooking up just a single set of copper wire to the lower inputs on the speakers while relying on the strapping to automatically conduct. Should I use another pair of wire and connect it to the same outlet on the receiver to which the earlier wire on the lower input was connected? JBL uses a term in the specifications called bi-wiring, will it give me any advantage?

3) I am not getting any decent amount of base from the speakers, could there be a setting in the onkyo that does that, I fiddled around with the base but didnt see a big improvement.

Help / Suggestions will be most appreciated!!
madgun is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 Old 09-12-2011, 11:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
madgun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump help!!
madgun is offline  
post #3 of 28 Old 09-12-2011, 11:23 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,611
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 1523
1. Normal.
2. Leave the jumper bar in place and only connect one set of wires. Bi-wiring serves no benefit.
3. Change your mains from Full Range to using an 80hz crossover.

Have you run Auyssey yet? If not, do so.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4 of 28 Old 09-12-2011, 12:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I don't think he has a sub?

To the op? You ran the setup on this avr? I'd expect decent performance if your telling it no sub and only the front two L/R speakers are there.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #5 of 28 Old 09-12-2011, 12:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
madgun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't run the setup yet, just the two speakers are connected right now directly to the receiver and there's no Sub either. I am actually pretty new to this and hence was assuming that simple hookups should have done the job for me.
madgun is offline  
post #6 of 28 Old 09-12-2011, 12:58 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,611
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 1523
Run the setup.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #7 of 28 Old 09-12-2011, 01:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Pretty sure you need to tell it you only have front L/R and have no sub...

The standard setup would be assume 5.1 minimum,
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #8 of 28 Old 09-12-2011, 11:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
madgun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks a lot guys the setup helped a lot and now I can experience a powerful base plus a lot more sound than the initial run-through.

I have more questions:

1) I have an HTPC with an ATI 5570 that has an HDMI out and hence I have connected it directly to the receiver so that it can do an Audio / Video pass-through. The HTPC also has an ASUS Xonar D2X which remains unused. Would it be better to do an analogue out from the D2X or is the audio chip on the Onkyo 609 as capable?

As I would like to add more speakers with time, I would be limited to using only two channels if I am doing an analgue out as my understanding is that the optical out on the ASUS is just a pass through.

2) Would there be any advantages of using a Center speaker such as the JBL ES25:

http://www.amazon.com/JBL-ES25CBK-Ce...5894572&sr=1-5

Will the center speaker get over-whelmed by the floor standing speakers?

As I won't be moving to a 5.1 setup anytime soon, would it be unadvisable / unusual to have the floor standing speakers and a center speaker?

Thanks again!!
madgun is offline  
post #9 of 28 Old 09-13-2011, 01:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
madgun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also noticed that the Audyssey option on my receiver is grayed out. Any clues?
madgun is offline  
post #10 of 28 Old 09-13-2011, 10:33 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
madgun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump again!
madgun is offline  
post #11 of 28 Old 09-13-2011, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,530
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by madgun View Post

I also noticed that the Audyssey option on my receiver is grayed out. Any clues?

Hi madgun, possible because you selected Pure Audio or Direct as the listening mode.
JChin is offline  
post #12 of 28 Old 09-13-2011, 12:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
madgun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a way to enable it back?
madgun is offline  
post #13 of 28 Old 09-13-2011, 01:24 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,611
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 1523
As JChin implies ... set it to other than Pure Audio or Direct mode as Audyssey cannot be enabled with either of these modes. What mode are you using now?

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #14 of 28 Old 09-13-2011, 01:57 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
madgun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have four modes available:

Mono
Stereo
Direct
Dolby Thx 3 dimensional

Which one of these should I use?

PS: Does the Onkyo 609 support 5.1 analogue inputs? If not then which receiver do you guys recommend that would be able to power-up my JBL ES80s nicely?
madgun is offline  
post #15 of 28 Old 09-13-2011, 08:49 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,611
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 1523
You've only got 2 speakers so STEREO at least and possibly THX 3D. And no, the 609 doesn't have 5.1 multi analog inputs. What's wrong with the 609 powering the ES-80s?

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #16 of 28 Old 09-13-2011, 10:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
madgun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was comparing the sound being processed by the 609 with the analog input from Xonar D2X. Although I am no audiophile, I could notice that the sound from the D2X was slightly crispier. But I definitely wouldn't want to sacrifice the ability to use 5.1 over a slight advantage in better sound quality.

Therefore I was contemplating on either selling the Xonar D2X or just changing the receiver altogether so that I could process the sound on my sound card and just input 5.1 analog into the receiver.

What would be your suggestion?
madgun is offline  
post #17 of 28 Old 09-13-2011, 10:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Knucklehead90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: State of Confusion - 98823
Posts: 7,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 101
When you use analog out from your sound card you are using the DAC (Digital to Analog Converter) in the sound card - when you use the optical/Coax (same signal either way) out from the sound card you let the 609 DAC do the conversion to analog. All digital signals must be converted at some point to be usable to the AVR.

Make sure you aren't getting 'crisper' mixed up with 'louder'. Common mistake for the non-trained ear.

When all else fails - RTFM!

♫♫♫ Two Channel Rules! ♫♫♫

GO SEAHAWKS!!!
Knucklehead90 is offline  
post #18 of 28 Old 09-13-2011, 11:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
madgun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knucklehead90 View Post

When you use analog out from your sound card you are using the DAC (Digital to Analog Converter) in the sound card - when you use the optical/Coax (same signal either way) out from the sound card you let the 609 DAC do the conversion to analog. All digital signals must be converted at some point to be usable to the AVR.

Make sure you aren't getting 'crisper' mixed up with 'louder'. Common mistake for the non-trained ear.


That's a good point. I was going through a series of posts on the Xonar D2X and inferred that the DACs used on the D2X were used in high-end receivers and that it was probably better to let the Xonar do the processing. In fact I was contemplating on buying the Onkyo 709 which supports a 5.1 analog input as it has a pre-out. But I'll take more advice before jumping onto it.
madgun is offline  
post #19 of 28 Old 09-13-2011, 11:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Knucklehead90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: State of Confusion - 98823
Posts: 7,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 101
I think you are confusing preamp out jacks with direct input which the 709 does not have. Having preamp outs does not automatically mandate having direct inputs. One does not need the other.

Your Xonar card should have 5.1/7.1 output through optical/coax. I would use that. The 609 has Burr/Brown DACs IIRC. A recent addition to the 6xx Onkyo model. My HT Omega Claro does. It also has 5.1/7.1 analog out - including a subwoofer jack. I use the analog for 2.0 stereo to an old school Harman Kardon 3390 - and the coax out for 5.1 movies to an Integra HT processor. It does an excellent job.

When all else fails - RTFM!

♫♫♫ Two Channel Rules! ♫♫♫

GO SEAHAWKS!!!
Knucklehead90 is offline  
post #20 of 28 Old 09-14-2011, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
madgun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knucklehead90 View Post

I think you are confusing preamp out jacks with direct input which the 709 does not have. Having preamp outs does not automatically mandate having direct inputs. One does not need the other.

Your Xonar card should have 5.1/7.1 output through optical/coax. I would use that. The 609 has Burr/Brown DACs IIRC. A recent addition to the 6xx Onkyo model. My HT Omega Claro does. It also has 5.1/7.1 analog out - including a subwoofer jack. I use the analog for 2.0 stereo to an old school Harman Kardon 3390 - and the coax out for 5.1 movies to an Integra HT processor. It does an excellent job.

I wasn't aware that the receiver has deployed a better audio chip which should allow me to free up my sound card.

PS: I also ran the Audessey setup and it has improved things by a long way. The sound coming from the speakers so more refined and blends in well.
madgun is offline  
post #21 of 28 Old 09-14-2011, 12:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The days of just hooking something up (as far as your audio processor goes) with no setup are probably over.

I still think the 609 is as good as anything else to drive your speakers.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #22 of 28 Old 09-14-2011, 11:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
madgun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would there be a significant benefit if I would add a center speaker to the mix? For example the JBL ES25:

http://www.amazon.com/JBL-ES25CBK-Ce...5894572&sr=1-5
madgun is offline  
post #23 of 28 Old 09-15-2011, 04:26 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,611
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 1523
Most definitely yes if movies/TV watching make up the majority of your home theater experience. A quality center speaker and sub are just as important to a home theater setup as are the front speakers.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #24 of 28 Old 09-15-2011, 08:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
For movies? I'd say a big improvement from a center. For music? No way, I'd probably still only use the front 2 in general.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #25 of 28 Old 09-16-2011, 03:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
madgun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the responses guys.. I ordered the center speaker.. would wait for black Friday to get the sub woofer as the ES150 still in the 300$ territory..
madgun is offline  
post #26 of 28 Old 09-19-2011, 12:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
madgun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a general query. How can you determine the manufacturing date of the speakers based on the serial number. For example the serial number on my JBL ES80 is: ME2476-022067
madgun is offline  
post #27 of 28 Old 09-19-2011, 01:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hmm, post up in the speaker section? Somebody may just be in the know on that.

With smaller manufactures this could be quite easy, but with the Harmon empire? Not so easy.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #28 of 28 Old 09-19-2011, 02:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
madgun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sure.. will post this in the speaker section.
madgun is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off