Sherwood Netboxx (R-904N) Freezing on VuNow Feature - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 09-18-2011, 06:04 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
slinkeey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello,

My Netboxx is freezing on the following screen.



Has anyone else experienced this while using their receiver?

Does anyone have any suggestions? I do not use this feature often, but when I do, it does come in handy
slinkeey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 12-06-2011, 09:48 AM
Member
 
billz260's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How is this going for you? These are Woot today for $270, wondering if its worth it?
billz260 is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 12-06-2011, 12:55 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
slinkeey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am still trying to figure out what to do.
slinkeey is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 12-20-2011, 09:53 AM
Member
 
John Winn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought one of the WOOT ones and it's doing the same dang thing! I contacted Sherwood, and they sent me the "reset instructions" and said if that didn't work, send it back to vendor or in for repair. These must be real junk (the vunow card) too bad too, it looks like a really nice amp.
John Winn is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 12-20-2011, 10:46 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
slinkeey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Good luck with that..

Sherwood raked me over the coals.
slinkeey is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 12-20-2011, 10:48 AM
Member
 
John Winn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Raked you over the coals because their unit is junk and doesn't work??!!

What did they tell you? Mine's going back to WOOT.
John Winn is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 12-20-2011, 10:51 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
slinkeey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes, raked me over the coals. If you spent money multiple times to get this fixed and it is still not fixed, wouldn't you feel that way?

I paid shipping multiple times to get mine repaired and it is still not fixed. I believe that my only option may be to throw in the towel unless enough people report this problem and Sherwood does the right thing.

If you have an Amazon account, you should leave that in a review because people need to know about this problem. Hopefully Sherwood monitors that. They seem to be under the impression that I am the only one having this problem.

http://www.amazon.com/Sherwood-R-904...DateDescending

This is not right.
slinkeey is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 12-20-2011, 12:44 PM
 
Tegiri Nenashi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Keep up negative reviews coming... If the price drops below $150, I'd buy second unit.
Tegiri Nenashi is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 12-20-2011, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JimWilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Somewhere in New Joisey
Posts: 4,573
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tegiri Nenashi View Post

Keep up negative reviews coming... If the price drops below $150, I'd buy second unit.

If you're simply looking to flush that money down the toilet -- which is probably what will happen if you buy one of these things -- then you can send it to me instead. Help pay for Christmas presents...

If you take yourself too seriously expect me to do the exact opposite
JimWilson is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 12-20-2011, 01:15 PM
Member
 
John Winn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slinkeey View Post

Yes, raked me over the coals. If you spent money multiple times to get this fixed and it is still not fixed, wouldn't you feel that way?

I paid shipping multiple times to get mine repaired and it is still not fixed. I believe that my only option may be to throw in the towel unless enough people report this problem and Sherwood does the right thing.

If you have an Amazon account, you should leave that in a review because people need to know about this problem. Hopefully Sherwood monitors that. They seem to be under the impression that I am the only one having this problem.

http://www.amazon.com/Sherwood-R-904...DateDescending

This is not right.

Holy Cow, no kidding. I was lucky, at least Woot sent me a pre paid FEDEX label.
Another thing, they don't make it really clear until you get out the book that the multimedia features for the most part require you to run something on a PC, well what if you have a Mac? Oops! and that the room two feature won't work if you happen to want to use the surround sound rear speakers..
It looks like a nice amp even with some shortfalls. I can't even say what it sounds like, because i never hooked it up to speakers. I bought this as a gift for my mother in law and set out to set it up for her, that's when I discovered the Vunow board must be shot as it never leaves the boot screen. But seeing all the rigamarole to run netflix or Pandora, maybe use the amp and a Roku box and forget about the Vunow. I do really like the small form factor but indeed, it's still not getting what I paid for I guess.
John Winn is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 12-20-2011, 04:30 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
slinkeey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I *used* it with Windows and my Linux machine..

It just uses DLNA.


BTW, does yours ever go through a cycle and reboot over and over?

This is what mine would do before the total failure.

slinkeey is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 12-21-2011, 12:05 PM
Member
 
John Winn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slinkeey View Post

I *used* it with Windows and my Linux machine..

It just uses DLNA.


BTW, does yours ever go through a cycle and reboot over and over?

This is what mine would do before the total failure.


Mine never gets past the black "Sherwood" screen..
John Winn is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off