Pioneer Elite VSX-31 Video Help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 09-24-2011, 06:21 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
diamond_cutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently bought a Pioneer Elite VSX-31 and have it hooked up to a Panasonic Viera st30 plasma TV. The problem I am having is my Directv box is connected via HDMI to the receiver and out HDMI to the TV, and every time I change a channel on the Directv box my screen flashes black and loses video signal for about 5 seconds (while the sound comes back after about 3 seconds). There is some issue with the receiver setting or the Directv because I could seamlessly switch between channels before the Directv was going through the receiver. In short I would say I am losing video signal for a few seconds whenever I change channels.

On a side not I do not lose signal when the Directv is connected to the receiver via RCA (TV/Cable input on the receiver) and out HDMI. Is shows in the manual that the TV/Cable input can use HDMI instead of RCA but I cannot figure out how.

Anyone have any suggestions or settings that may help?
diamond_cutter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 09-24-2011, 06:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

sounds like a resolution change causing the avr to renegotiate a handshake...

set the directv box to put out a "fixed" resolution...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 09-25-2011, 07:32 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
diamond_cutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That worked perfectly! I turned off all resolutions but 1080p and no more blinking screen. Thanks!
diamond_cutter is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 09-25-2011, 07:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

you are welcome... glad i could help you out...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 09-29-2011, 07:09 PM
Newbie
 
Maestero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a different issue. Video & Audio are passing through when the receiver is off. I followed the instruction from the manual that the HDMI control should be ON on the receiver and TV.

When I turn off the receiver, TV says Switching to TV Speakers. Audio & Video coming up only 5 seconds. The receiver shuts off after that.

Please help.
Maestero is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off