Onkyo TX-NR3009 NEO:X Receiver Review - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 464 Old 03-22-2012, 08:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by GunsmokeNC View Post

Lightning hit my TX NR906 and I'm thinking hard about getting the 3009. There are no places close by that sells this unit. Where is a good place to get on online? Do you guys pay retail?

One other thing, is the 906 Onkyos red headed step child? I thought it was a great sounding unit. But I never hear anything about it. No firmware updates or anything mentioned in forums.

I have a 3009 and I love it. I got a great deal on it actually through a local integra dealer. Just read the posts above the three month period where they are doing a recall on all but the 3009. Used to be a lot of activity on the 906 till the 007 and newer models came out. They started the channel and audessey upgrades. The 3009 is amazing good luck.

william06 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 464 Old 03-22-2012, 09:09 AM
Senior Member
 
nismo604's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post

I havent checked my S# but I purchased mine in October. So at this point it should be okay. Fingers crossed.

Bought mine in October as well, no issues yet.
nismo604 is offline  
post #363 of 464 Old 03-22-2012, 09:12 AM
Member
 
flyboygeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you 3009 owners test out your phono rca input jacks to see if it plays through correctly? Every input I have except the phono works.

Thanks
flyboygeo is offline  
post #364 of 464 Old 03-22-2012, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Toknowshita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 42
flyboygeo,

nothing wrong with your unit... a phono input is a specific input for taking a signal from a turntable. The phono input has a preamp for converting a signal from a phono stylus into a useable audio signal. Don't use the phono input for anything other than a turntable.

Toknowshita is online now  
post #365 of 464 Old 03-22-2012, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by nismo604 View Post

Bought mine in October as well, no issues yet.

cool

william06 is offline  
post #366 of 464 Old 03-22-2012, 05:48 PM
Member
 
ibmack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 5009 did an auto shutoff a couple of weeks after I got it in February but it has not done it since. My 8th and 9th SN is 17 (bought in Canada). My unit does not come up in the test program (mind you Onkyo.ca says nothing on their website - that I could find as of a few days ago).

I intalled the new software without a hitch a few days ago. Can someone tell me where I can find the Audyssey Pro goodies?
ibmack is offline  
post #367 of 464 Old 03-22-2012, 07:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
A&M 350Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ARGHH!!! Seriously frustrated with this unit. The new AVR came in today. It stays on. No issues with auto shutdown. BUT, it will not pass video over my existing 50 ft HDMI cable. Its odd because video passes fine over the cable directly from the sources (DTV, BD, etc) AND video passes from my old Onkyo 705 without any issues. I confirmed the HDMI out works with both main and sub using a shorter hdmi to my TV. Any suggestions? Display is a epson 6010
A&M 350Z is offline  
post #368 of 464 Old 03-22-2012, 08:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 6,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 395 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by GunsmokeNC View Post

Lightning hit my TX NR906 and I'm thinking hard about getting the 3009. There are no places close by that sells this unit. Where is a good place to get on online? Do you guys pay retail?

One other thing, is the 906 Onkyos red headed step child? I thought it was a great sounding unit. But I never hear anything about it. No firmware updates or anything mentioned in forums.

Call ABT.
FilmMixer is online now  
post #369 of 464 Old 03-22-2012, 08:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by A&M 350Z View Post

ARGHH!!! Seriously frustrated with this unit. The new AVR came in today. It stays on. No issues with auto shutdown. BUT, it will not pass video over my existing 50 ft HDMI cable. Its odd because video passes fine over the cable directly from the sources (DTV, BD, etc) AND video passes from my old Onkyo 705 without any issues. I confirmed the HDMI out works with both main and sub using a shorter hdmi to my TV. Any suggestions? Display is a epson 6010

Do you have the latest firmware installed?

Build your own Concession Stand Counter for cheap! Search -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is online now  
post #370 of 464 Old 03-22-2012, 09:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
A&M 350Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure. Will that make a difference? I tried to update via net and it locked at 70%. Had to do a factory reset.
A&M 350Z is offline  
post #371 of 464 Old 03-22-2012, 11:51 PM
Senior Member
 
nismo604's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by A&M 350Z View Post

Not sure. Will that make a difference? I tried to update via net and it locked at 70%. Had to do a factory reset.

Uh it might. Description of what the latest firmware does.

Stabilizes video output when using HDMI/CAT5 Extender on HDMI OUT MAIN terminal;
nismo604 is offline  
post #372 of 464 Old 03-23-2012, 09:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
liltalkm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Coral Springs,FL, USA
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibmack View Post

I intalled the new software without a hitch a few days ago. Can someone tell me where I can find the Audyssey Pro goodies?

As much as we all would like it...

I don't think we are getting Audyssey Pro in the US.

They should give it to us.

Speakers: Martin Logan Montis, EM C2, Dual Depth I Subs, JBL S38 surround (upgrading soon) | Processor: Yamaha CX-A5000 | Amp: Sunfire TGA-5400 | Sources: DirecTV HR34, HTPC, Mac Mini, Oppo BDP-103, PS4, PS3, Xbox One, Wii U | Television: Panasonic 65VT50 | Remote: Logitech Harmony Ultimate
liltalkm is online now  
post #373 of 464 Old 03-23-2012, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Why not install the new firmware and see for yourself...
gurkey is offline  
post #374 of 464 Old 03-23-2012, 04:29 PM
Member
 
ibmack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Let's not be defeatist...they can, they should, they will!
ibmack is offline  
post #375 of 464 Old 03-24-2012, 03:14 PM
Newbie
 
GunsmokeNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FilmMixer View Post

Call ABT.

Very very good advice! Thanks!
GunsmokeNC is offline  
post #376 of 464 Old 03-29-2012, 03:24 PM
Member
 
MrJai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
New owner here. Started with 809, then 1009 and now 3009. By far the best receiver I have ever own. Used to be a huge fan of Yamaha (previously owned A2000 & A3000) and some Pioneer in the past too. Audyssey XT32 is amazing. I don't think my subwoofers have sounded better than after Audyssey.

MrJai is offline  
post #377 of 464 Old 03-31-2012, 07:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrJai View Post

New owner here. Started with 809, then 1009 and now 3009. By far the best receiver I have ever own. Used to a huge fan of Yamaha (previously owned A2000 & A3000) and some Pioneer in the past too. Audyssey XT32 is amazing. I don't think my subwoofers have sounded better than after Audyssey.

Welcome to the amazing 3009 I agree. enjoy.

william06 is offline  
post #378 of 464 Old 03-31-2012, 08:27 AM
Member
 
MrJai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thank you William. Are you noticing any hand shake issues?
While switching in between channels sometimes my screen flashes green and then the image comes through. The 1009 never gave me this issue, also it did not get as hot as the 3009.

Now I'm getting worried about the reliability of the boards given the heat generated and Onkyo reliability in previous years.

MrJai is offline  
post #379 of 464 Old 04-01-2012, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrJai View Post

Thank you William. Are you noticing any hand shake issues?
While switching in between channels sometimes my screen flashes green and then the image comes through. The 1009 never gave me this issue, also it did not get as hot as the 3009.

Now I'm getting worried about the reliability of the boards given the heat generated and Onkyo reliability in previous years.

Your welcome

Just a little flicker when you change imputs not on changing channels. It could be a bit of a handshake issue for you. I do not know you might want to call onkyo. Just for piece of mind.

william06 is offline  
post #380 of 464 Old 04-01-2012, 03:19 PM
Member
 
MrJai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post


Your welcome

Just a little flicker when you change imputs not on changing channels. It could be a bit of a handshake issue for you. I do not know you might want to call onkyo. Just for piece of mind.

I'll probably exchange since I'm still within my return/exchange window.

MrJai is offline  
post #381 of 464 Old 04-01-2012, 07:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrJai View Post

I'll probably exchange since I'm still within my return/exchange window.

While you can not a bad idea but probably just a handshake issue.

william06 is offline  
post #382 of 464 Old 04-01-2012, 10:07 PM
Member
 
masterkaj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you guys using Audyssey Dynamic EQ or Dolby Volume (both with volume leveling off). I find that Dolby allows me to hear dialog more clearly. While Dolby Volume is on you do retain the Audssey XT32 settings, so there is no reason not to at least try it out.

masterkaj is offline  
post #383 of 464 Old 04-02-2012, 08:44 AM
Senior Member
 
nismo604's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by masterkaj View Post

Are you guys using Audyssey Dynamic EQ or Dolby Volume (both with volume leveling off). I find that Dolby allows me to hear dialog more clearly. While Dolby Volume is on you do retain the Audssey XT32 settings, so there is no reason not to at least try it out.

My understanding is that Dolby volume is similar to Audyssey Dynamic volume not Dynamic EQ.
nismo604 is offline  
post #384 of 464 Old 04-04-2012, 05:04 AM
Newbie
 
Giani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yahooooo!
The latest firmware solved the HDMI (main) resolution problem of my 5009.
Before the firmware the HDMI main output transformed the 24P signal to 23.97 x 26.96 and passed it to my beamer. Now it works like a charm and the Onkyo outputs the correct framerate 23.98 x 26.98!
Thanks Joerod for informing Onkyo about this problem!
Giani is offline  
post #385 of 464 Old 04-04-2012, 08:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Still more to come.

Build your own Concession Stand Counter for cheap! Search -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is online now  
post #386 of 464 Old 04-04-2012, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

Still more to come.

Joe looks like they are slowly eeking out firmware very sparingly not that there is anything wrong that needs major fixing. If anything major is to come I wonder if they will hold off till the new units are out. Still kind of rotten they give europe pro and not the us despite the integras its kind of rough knowing the units are capable of it. still would like 11.2 myself but looks like that is not in the cards either. Still an awesome unit though

william06 is offline  
post #387 of 464 Old 04-04-2012, 11:30 AM
Member
 
MrJai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'm thinking of returning my 3009 and just wait for a replacement for 1009 since I'm pretty certain it will have Audyssey XT32 (I mean if it's being offered on 818). I do need 9 channels since I am now addicted to front height speakers and Audyssey XT32 (Thanks to Joerod recommendations). What do you all think?

MrJai is offline  
post #388 of 464 Old 04-04-2012, 02:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrJai View Post

I'm thinking of returning my 3009 and just wait for a replacement for 1009 since I'm pretty certain it will have Audyssey XT32 (I mean if it's being offered on 818). I do need 9 channels since I am now addicted to front height speakers and Audyssey XT32 (Thanks to Joerod recommendations). What do you all think?

You could return it but the sound quality of a replacement 1009 will not be better than the 3009. It may have more features though. I am working with the 818 and it is very good!

Build your own Concession Stand Counter for cheap! Search -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is online now  
post #389 of 464 Old 04-04-2012, 03:17 PM
Member
 
MrJai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post


You could return it but the sound quality of a replacement 1009 will not be better than the 3009. It may have more features though. I am working with the 818 and it is very good!

Thanks Joe. I'll probably just return it and wait for your helpful reviews and new models plus most likely prices will drop on existing models. Can't wait for your review of the 818.

MrJai is offline  
post #390 of 464 Old 04-07-2012, 05:25 PM
Member
 
masterkaj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nismo604 View Post

My understanding is that Dolby volume is similar to Audyssey Dynamic volume not Dynamic EQ.

It does both.

masterkaj is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Nr3009
Gear in this thread - Nr3009 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off