Onkyo TX-NR3009 NEO:X Receiver Review - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 464 Old 07-05-2012, 03:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
There is a new firmware for 3009 / 5009 / 5509 dated 05.07.2012 over on the Onkyo website in Europe.
gurkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 464 Old 07-05-2012, 08:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurkey View Post

There is a new firmware for 3009 / 5009 / 5509 dated 05.07.2012 over o
n the Onkyo website in Europe.[/quot


Also now on us site

william06 is offline  
post #453 of 464 Old 07-06-2012, 01:09 AM
Senior Member
 
dowop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Has anyone done it yet? I would like to know if there are any problems before I try it.
dowop is online now  
post #454 of 464 Old 07-06-2012, 05:12 AM
Senior Member
 
dowop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I got brave & did it. Everything seems ok. I wasn`t having any problems guess I am just bored & wanted to update.
dowop is online now  
post #455 of 464 Old 07-06-2012, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dowop View Post

I got brave & did it. Everything seems ok. I wasn`t having any problems guess I am just bored & wanted to update.


I did the same no issues just did it saw and heard no difference. Wish they would give us some of the new features like opportunity to go 11.2 with external amps.

william06 is offline  
post #456 of 464 Old 07-06-2012, 09:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 107
This was a quickie. Fingers crossed on another update.... smile.gif

For my latest Reviews and stuff Search -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Follow me: @joerodhometheat
Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is online now  
post #457 of 464 Old 07-12-2012, 09:45 PM
Newbie
 
DenverBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Colorado Rocky Mtn High
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This will be my first post so I plead for a swift death if I do this wrong. Last week the BOSS gave the go ahead for a new AVR. So went with the 3009. Connected the speaker wires, the TV and the DVD. Turned the AVR on and went thru the speaker quick check. Found one of the SWF was dead so ordered a new amp from parts-express. It came today, was installed and it works fine. Here comes the interesting part, In the start up you can do the full 8 mic positions or just the one. The onscreen shows which speaker is being poked as it goes around the room. Because of room limmitations did not set it up for wides and did the heights instead. The 3009 would pause the same length of time for each speaker including the wide which was not connected which got me to thinking. I had a pair of speakers that were not going to be used again so set then up with the old amp to see what would happen. Sure enough with an extra two speakers and an amp I now have a 11.2 system. The only difference in equipment is the (B) after the 3009
DenverBlue is offline  
post #458 of 464 Old 07-13-2012, 05:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenverBlue View Post

This will be my first post so I plead for a swift death if I do this wrong. Last week the BOSS gave the go ahead for a new AVR. So went with the 3009. Connected the speaker wires, the TV and the DVD. Turned the AVR on and went thru the speaker quick check. Found one of the SWF was dead so ordered a new amp from parts-express. It came today, was installed and it works fine. Here comes the interesting part, In the start up you can do the full 8 mic positions or just the one. The onscreen shows which speaker is being poked as it goes around the room. Because of room limmitations did not set it up for wides and did the heights instead. The 3009 would pause the same length of time for each speaker including the wide which was not connected which got me to thinking. I had a pair of speakers that were not going to be used again so set then up with the old amp to see what would happen. Sure enough with an extra two speakers and an amp I now have a 11.2 system. The only difference in equipment is the (B) after the 3009

I have done this before as well. Good find. What is actually happening though is the speakers are just mirroring themselves. In other words Height/Wides and Surround Backs are the same. It is kinda pol though. smile.gif

For my latest Reviews and stuff Search -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Follow me: @joerodhometheat
Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is online now  
post #459 of 464 Old 07-13-2012, 08:27 AM
Newbie
 
DenverBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Colorado Rocky Mtn High
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JOEROD: Read your reply but not sure what you said. If Height/Wide and Surround Backs are the same why does Audyssey test each one of those speakers individualy? What ever it does or not do it sure sounds good.

Cliff
DenverBlue is offline  
post #460 of 464 Old 07-13-2012, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flint350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Baltimore, Md.
Posts: 2,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27

You will have 11.2 speakers available to be configured, but you won't have 11.2 output, even with an external amp - the 3009 processes up to 9.2 channels only.  What the 11 speaker setup allows is to choose between FW/SB or FH/SB or FW/FH.  In order to obtain the latter (FH/FW) you actually have to make that specific selection in the setup menu and then change the speaker wire connections according to the onscreen diagram.  When going with both Front High and Front Wide, the Wides have to be connected to the Back Surround speaker terminals and the Onkyo sends the proper signals that way.  It's an odd setup to be sure and I would have preferred just being able to leave all 11 speakers direct wired and have the processor decide how to route signals based on the coding (DSX, NEO, etc).  With no Audyssey memory, it is inconvenient to have to re-configure and re-calculate if you want to switch setups from a front heavy system to a partial front and back.


Ray
"You cannot reason a person out of a position he did not reason himself into in the first place." -Jonathan Swift
flint350 is offline  
post #461 of 464 Old 07-13-2012, 12:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Exactly what Flint said. smile.gif

For my latest Reviews and stuff Search -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Follow me: @joerodhometheat
Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is online now  
post #462 of 464 Old 07-13-2012, 09:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
JKR1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I just bought my 3009 2 weeks ago.....I notice that it seems to have to be turned up to 0db or more on some movie's from cable or blu ray.

My old Denon 3808 is still in my rack and I swithced the cables and did several comparinsons with the same source....the Denon seems to play much louder and sounds to be more powerful........I would never get to the end of it's volume bar ...but the Onkyo seems to have to be turned up to nearer it's maximum position on it's volume bar.

Does anyone have any comments........I am going to keep comparing for the next day or so.
JKR1963 is online now  
post #463 of 464 Old 07-16-2012, 12:59 PM
Member
 
nikerret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So, still no 11.x processing? In the "Official owner's thread", I was told I could do it, just like the Denon.
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1370048/the-official-onkyo-tx-nr3009-owners-thread/180#post_22223441


If I am going to upgrade, I want ot do it with something a little more 'future-resistant'.


Is the Denon the only way to do this with an AVR?

nikerret is offline  
post #464 of 464 Old 02-01-2013, 02:09 PM
Member
 
Jake45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For Joerod: I see you discussed getting an 818 model. I am coming from an Integra 20.1 and want to go to 7.1/7.2 configuration. Have been seriously considering a 3009. I have Goldenear Triton 2, 50C center and Invisia in-walls for rears. They sound great with the 20.1 but I long for more. I know the specs. on all of the Onkyo's, but I'm looking for opinions on the 818 compared to the flagship models. Also looking at 1010, 3010, but it seems the 3009 might be the best value. Anyone else who can tell me if the 3009 is really that much "better" than an 818, please chime in.
Jake45 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Nr3009
Gear in this thread - Nr3009 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off