When do the 2013 Denon's come out? Any new features we should expect? - Page 62 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1831 of 1844 Old 09-18-2012, 06:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

i'm curious as to how that works... it implies that the avr can maintain multiple handshakes....

well, there is still only one sink (the display) so as long as each of the HDMI sources are OK with the sink, seems like the multiple handshakes shouldn't be a problem.

of course, HDMI has a way of surprising us! tongue.gif

yea, it does... tongue.gif it'll be interesting to see how well this works...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1832 of 1844 Old 09-20-2012, 08:20 AM
Member
 
Mark1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

actually my reading is that it IS possible to achieve 6.1 with the extra 3 amps bi-amping the FR, FL, and C channels.
according to that chart, when in "Custom" free assign mode, the C, SL, and SR channels are "fixed" an non-assignable (although the "-" seems to indicate that they can be deactivated), but the other 6 amps are fully assignable to ANY channel (with the caveat that left is always left, right is always right).
that means you could leave the five main amps at their normal settings (FR, FL, C, SR, SL), reassign the front height amps to also power the FR and FL, and then use whatever SB amp you aren't using to assign to C and bi-amp the center.

You might be right! I assumed speaker assignment can be done in pairs only, and with the possibility lost to assign SB to post C (as is with the 4810) things would get complicated. But you are right, free assign means free assign.
Mark1000 is offline  
post #1833 of 1844 Old 09-20-2012, 09:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,488
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 738 Post(s)
Liked: 1325
well, I'm just interpreting a chart wink.gif the proof will be in the pudding when someone actually tries it and verifies!

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #1834 of 1844 Old 09-20-2012, 09:18 AM
Member
 
Mark1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

well, I'm just interpreting a chart wink.gif the proof will be in the pudding when someone actually tries it and verifies!

I'll let you know!
Mark1000 is offline  
post #1835 of 1844 Old 09-23-2012, 08:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
04rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Dont know if anybody has noticed, but the 4520 is on the Canadian site. http://ca.denon.com/ca/Product/Pages/Product-Detail.aspx?CatId=3d9614d1-8000-4106-ab91-8192242cab83&SubId=40b5820d-83c2-4e93-9909-60aae60e0bdd&ProductId=b1c577bc-e2cb-468e-944f-f39e9f42f28b

Quick question, if i have something like my cable box connected to the 4520 through HDMI, will it pass the audio and video through the receiver even if it is off? Sometimes I dont want to turn on the receiver or speakers.

thanks
04rex is offline  
post #1836 of 1844 Old 09-23-2012, 08:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,488
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 738 Post(s)
Liked: 1325
it went live on the US site already too, as an FYI there is a 4520 official thread now that it's about to hit the streets: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1430049/the-official-denon-avr-4520ci-thread

all Denon receivers for 3-4 years now have had an HDMI standby passthrough feature. The 4520 has a really flexible system though because of its 3rd matrixed HDMI output, so you can designate any of the 3 outputs as the control monitor or just send the matrixed ouput to another TV for cable TV viewing.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #1837 of 1844 Old 09-24-2012, 09:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
04rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Thanks for the info batpig. I didn't realize there was a thread already. Much appreciated.
04rex is offline  
post #1838 of 1844 Old 02-03-2013, 05:56 PM
Member
 
Teletodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After struggling to hook up my old Sony progressive scan DVD player via component cable to my 2313, I'm thinking I might be better off getting a new DVD player with hdmi upscaling. Was wondering if the 2313 has hdmi up scaling built in and would a DVD player with up scaling work better or be similar to my old DVD player?
Teletodd is offline  
post #1839 of 1844 Old 02-03-2013, 06:12 PM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Why struggling??????????
Splicer010 is offline  
post #1840 of 1844 Old 02-03-2013, 06:25 PM
Member
 
Teletodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picture is blurry and no sound. Ran through DVD component. Thought I might try through cable input and rename to DVD. Even if it works, I don't think there is up scaling without hdmi cable, or does the 2313 do up scaling regardless.
Teletodd is offline  
post #1841 of 1844 Old 02-03-2013, 06:25 PM
Member
 
JakeRobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Okemos, MI
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teletodd View Post

After struggling to hook up my old Sony progressive scan DVD player via component cable to my 2313, I'm thinking I might be better off getting a new DVD player with hdmi upscaling. Was wondering if the 2313 has hdmi up scaling built in and would a DVD player with up scaling work better or be similar to my old DVD player?

Yes, the 2313 will upscale all of its video and audio inputs to HDMI/1080p. So will the 2113 (I have both). I believe the 1913 and 1713 do as well.

Living Room: Denon 2113ci + BIC V1020 + Panasonic BDT220 + AppleTV + uVerse DVR + Panasonic P42S2 plasma
Theater: Denon 2313ci + Klipsch RW12d + Panasonic BDT220 + Mac mini + uVerse wired receiver + Epson 8350 PJ + 100" screen
JakeRobb is offline  
post #1842 of 1844 Old 02-04-2013, 05:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 325 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teletodd View Post

Picture is blurry and no sound. Ran through DVD component. Thought I might try through cable input and rename to DVD. Even if it works, I don't think there is up scaling without hdmi cable, or does the 2313 do up scaling regardless.

Did you remember to connect the separate audio cabling? The three component video cables do not include audio.

I wouldn't be a bit surprised if many of the newest generation of HDMI receivers and pre/pros do not support anything above 480i on their component video connections. HDMI licensing forbids new disc players from providing HD analog video, so the receiver and pre/pro manufacturers might be deciding that they don't have to support it either, despite all the older HD players still in use. frown.gif

At any rate, most HDMI-capable receivers do transcode other video signals to HDMI. The more expensive models (like the 2313) include upscaling to 1080p. The least expensive models don't have video processors, so they can only pass through whatever signals are connected.

Selden
Selden Ball is offline  
post #1843 of 1844 Old 02-04-2013, 08:13 AM
Member
 
Teletodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got it to work, although there's a buzz or hum when a DVD isn't playing.
Teletodd is offline  
post #1844 of 1844 Old 02-05-2013, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 325 Post(s)
Liked: 400
You might check the grounding of your cable TV or satellite TV system. They're the usual culprits when people encounter strange hum or noise in their systems. Everything has to come to a common ground point. Somewhere nearby (like a pipe) just isn't good enough. The other common cause in the U.S. is to have different devices plugged into different power circuits. Most U.S. homes are provided two phases of power by the power company. The easiest fix is to make sure everything is plugged into the same surge-protected power strip.

Selden
Selden Ball is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off