The "Official" Onkyo TX-NR3009 Owners Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 953 Old 12-25-2011, 10:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Stylz25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Edmonton,Alberta
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by kertofer View Post

When I get a new AVR I am planning on either the 3009 or the NAD T775. The 5009 is over priced for the additional things you get IMO.

You dont think the toroidal transformer and the 192/32 bit DACS is worth the price diff? Yeah I could see your point......would someone be able to tell the diff between 192/24 and 192/32 bit DACS???????
Stylz25 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 953 Old 12-26-2011, 02:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ettepet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stylz25 View Post

You dont think the toroidal transformer and the 192/32 bit DACS is worth the price diff?

Those where the same as the ones inside the 5008, which was only slightly more expensive than the 3008.

The main plus of the 5009 is its power amplifier, which appears to be much better than the average one inside its predecessor. A good separate power amp will still perform better, so seeing the high street prices of the 5508/5509/5009 pre-amps compared to a 5008 the 5008 + power amp is what I am still using.
Ettepet is offline  
post #33 of 953 Old 01-24-2012, 01:52 PM
Newbie
 
Scottvk9091's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just received my Onkyo 3009 about 2 weeks ago as a replacement from Onkyo for my 3007 (no out of pocket money). The hdmi board stopped working so they replaced it. Though it took 4 months for them to remedy the problem, it was worth the wait. I could not be more happy. This receiver is a beast. I had bought the 3007 about a year and half ago to replace my aging Denon 5803 (which I love for the great sound). I was a bit disappointed after setting up the 3007 as it was a bit on the bright side for my taste (took a while for me to get used to this) as the Denon has such a warm neutral sound. While the 3007 was being repaired (Onkyo just replaced it with the 3009) I used the Denon. Though it was older and did not have hdmi nor audyssey to set it up (great power and sound), I was reminded why I loved it. However, when the 3009 arrived 2 weeks ago, I set it up and was blown away by the sound it produced and the video processing. It made my plasma look even better from satellite viewing to Apple TV to blu ray. After setting it up with the new audyssey setup, the sound was fabulous. It had a warm neutral sound that the 3007 was not producing (I have Phoenix Gold SSi-623 rear and surrounds, Supernova MKV-10 sub and B&W 604 s3 left and right and B&W 600 center). The new audyssey setup helped balance my sound stage much better than the 3007 and with a lot less tweaking over time that I had to do with the Denon. The 1st test I gave the 3009 was the opening beach scene of the blu rey Saving Private Ryan. The Denon brought me to the the beach, the 3007 was like being on the beach but from a slight distance, with the 3009, I felt like I was there on the beach. The sound was so natural and enveloping. It also enhanced the video quality of the disk. It does run hot, but not as hot as the 3007 (which might have lead to the hdmi board break down), so there is a wait and see on the that. I would highly recommend the 3009.
Scottvk9091 is offline  
post #34 of 953 Old 01-24-2012, 03:38 PM
Senior Member
 
kertofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Looking forward to hearing more reviews like this, it may sway me from my thinking of heading in the NAD direction.
kertofer is offline  
post #35 of 953 Old 01-24-2012, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottvk9091 View Post

It does run hot, but not as hot as the 3007 (which might have lead to the hdmi board break down), so there is a wait and see on the that.

I would not take any chances and have some fans mounted above the HDMI board, just to make sure, nothing could harm any components because of high temperatures, which decrease the life expectancy of many components.
gurkey is offline  
post #36 of 953 Old 01-24-2012, 04:04 PM
Newbie
 
Scottvk9091's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurkey View Post


I would not take any chances and have some fans mounted above the HDMI board, just to make sure, nothing could harm any components because of high temperatures, which decrease the life expectancy of many components.

Thanks for the input. I will heading out to get a fan or 2 to put in my av closet.
Scottvk9091 is offline  
post #37 of 953 Old 01-24-2012, 04:06 PM
Newbie
 
Scottvk9091's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kertofer View Post

Looking forward to hearing more reviews like this, it may sway me from my thinking of heading in the NAD direction.

No problem. As I get farther into owning this receiver, I will update it.
Scottvk9091 is offline  
post #38 of 953 Old 01-24-2012, 06:19 PM
Senior Member
 
dowop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have the Onkyo 3009. It was running pretty hot. I bought a Niles® Audio FM-1
It is expensive but it does cool great. The unit runs around 27c after it settles down.
dowop is offline  
post #39 of 953 Old 02-04-2012, 11:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Zaxdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi All.
Got my 3009 set up this AM. When I try to update the firmware I get a 5-64 error. Reset the unit and tried the update again,same result. Also I set the video to output at 1080p but my Samsung tv shows it's getting 1920x1080i. I sure have a lot to learn about this thing.
Thanks for any input.

Howard
Zaxdad is offline  
post #40 of 953 Old 02-04-2012, 03:28 PM
Senior Member
 
crossg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta. Canada
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dowop View Post

I have the Onkyo 3009. It was running pretty hot. I bought a Niles® Audio FM-1
It is expensive but it does cool great. The unit runs around 27c after it settles down.

I cheaped out and bought a 140mm 900 rpm fan and it settles in about 28 deg after a couple of hours use.

@Zaxdad are you using usb or network to update? I had some issues but it did finally work via usb.
crossg is offline  
post #41 of 953 Old 02-04-2012, 05:51 PM
Senior Member
 
dowop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
^^^^
I don`t think you cheaped out. I think you were just smarter than me.
dowop is offline  
post #42 of 953 Old 02-04-2012, 08:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Zaxdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I tried it both ways. I saw something on an Onkyo forum about unhooking everything and trying the upgrade. Just got home from work. Figure I'll try it in the morning.

Howard
Zaxdad is offline  
post #43 of 953 Old 02-05-2012, 08:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Zaxdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Success! I unplugged everything except the TV. Worked through usb. It only took about 10 minutes though. Shows the new version.
Zaxdad is offline  
post #44 of 953 Old 02-05-2012, 08:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
TheBrandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: On a boat
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The newness has worn off mine. I just want to say it is hands down the best amp I have owned.
TheBrandon is offline  
post #45 of 953 Old 02-05-2012, 11:04 AM
Senior Member
 
crossg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta. Canada
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaxdad View Post

Success! I unplugged everything except the TV. Worked through usb. It only took about 10 minutes though. Shows the new version.

Glad to hear you got it working. There is supposed to be a new update out soon so at least you will have practice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBrandon View Post

The newness has worn off mine. I just want to say it is hands down the best amp I have owned.

Agreed best one so far. Previews on my Blu-ray movies (bass) shakes the house but the actual movies are fine. Just have to do a little more tweaking.
crossg is offline  
post #46 of 953 Old 02-05-2012, 12:30 PM
Senior Member
 
dowop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Is it better to leave HDMI through on even if you dont use it so the receiver does not start up cold? I apoligize if the question sounds stupid.
dowop is offline  
post #47 of 953 Old 02-05-2012, 02:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Zaxdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Maybe someone can answer a question. Just set up my 3009 yesterday. I set the video out to 1080p. My Samsung TV shows it's getting 1920x1080i. Is there some other setting I'm missing. I was hoping I could output my directv box as 1080p. The sound is just incredible. Fell like I can put my anti mode up for sale!

Thanks for any input,

Howard
Zaxdad is offline  
post #48 of 953 Old 02-05-2012, 02:47 PM
Senior Member
 
crossg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta. Canada
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaxdad View Post

Maybe someone can answer a question. Just set up my 3009 yesterday. I set the video out to 1080p. My Samsung TV shows it's getting 1920x1080i. Is there some other setting I'm missing. I was hoping I could output my directv box as 1080p. The sound is just incredible. Fell like I can put my anti mode up for sale!

Thanks for any input,

Howard

I haven't gone and checked but I think each input has it's own output settings. Mine is set to through on all inputs.

@dowop. good question? I see "hdmi start up" each time I turn it on (if HDMI is involved)
crossg is offline  
post #49 of 953 Old 02-05-2012, 03:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Zaxdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm not seeing where you can change each individually. Also,is there a way to see what Audyssey does the way I could look at MCAAC curves?
Sorry for all the questions.

Howard
Zaxdad is offline  
post #50 of 953 Old 02-05-2012, 03:18 PM
Senior Member
 
crossg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta. Canada
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaxdad View Post

I'm not seeing where you can change each individually.

Howard

Yeah I just checked. Set my Onkyo output to 1080P/24, now my tv says 1080/60 but the Onkyo displays says 1080/24. Hmmm
Just switched inputs from HD-DVD player to Blu ray and the input says 1080/24 Beyond me. Sorry.

Edit:
This is from page 62 of the manual

You can specify the output resolution for the HDMI
Output(s) and have the AV receiver upconvert the picture
resolution as necessary to match the resolution supported
by your TV.


Available only when “
Source” has been selected in the

Resolution” of the “Monitor Out” setting
(
page 48).


LL
LL
crossg is offline  
post #51 of 953 Old 02-05-2012, 04:01 PM
Senior Member
 
nismo604's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaxdad View Post

I'm not seeing where you can change each individually. Also,is there a way to see what Audyssey does the way I could look at MCAAC curves?
Sorry for all the questions.

Howard

Please read post 21 in the thread as to how change picture settings individually per source.

There is no way to look at the audyssey curves like MCACC.
nismo604 is offline  
post #52 of 953 Old 02-05-2012, 04:05 PM
Senior Member
 
nismo604's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by crossg View Post

Yeah I just checked. Set my Onkyo output to 1080P/24, now my tv says 1080/60 but the Onkyo displays says 1080/24. Hmmm
Just switched inputs from HD-DVD player to Blu ray and the input says 1080/24 Beyond me. Sorry.

Have you set your resolution in the monitor out to source? If not refer to post 21.
nismo604 is offline  
post #53 of 953 Old 02-05-2012, 04:46 PM
Senior Member
 
crossg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta. Canada
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nismo604 View Post

Have you set your resolution in the monitor out to source? If not refer to post 21.

Thanks I was just trying to see if I could help Zaxdad. I like mine set to through and I put it back to through.
crossg is offline  
post #54 of 953 Old 02-05-2012, 07:18 PM
Member
 
valero_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was reading through this thread and noticed that several people have had issues with HDMI board failures. My 807 failed, and I ended up getting a 3008 when i got sick of waiting months for repairs to be completed. It eventually got sent to a regional facility where it was repaired. Both my 807 and now my 3008 are having the same problem as ShakeMan's unit (see post 10). I just shipped my 3008 out for repairs, and I'm curious to see what the problem is. Here's a scan of my repair ticket for the 807. From what I can see, it looks like there were problems with the HDMI board and amp(s).


Are all these problems heat-related? If they are, I may end up getting another laptop fan to sit on the 3008 when it comes back. I'm surprised that I'm seeing all these problems with Onkyo receivers. I gave away my 575, and as far as I know, it is still running. I've got my 801 hooked up now as my backup. I was thinking about picking up a 3009, but I'm starting to lose confidence in Onkyo. Is this common with all the other brands as well?
valero_r is offline  
post #55 of 953 Old 02-05-2012, 08:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Saints's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by valero_r View Post

I was reading through this thread and noticed that several people have had issues with HDMI board failures. My 807 failed, and I ended up getting a 3008 when i got sick of waiting months for repairs to be completed. It eventually got sent to a regional facility where it was repaired. Both my 807 and now my 3008 are having the same problem as ShakeMan's unit (see post 10). I just shipped my 3008 out for repairs, and I'm curious to see what the problem is. Here's a scan of my repair ticket for the 807. From what I can see, it looks like there were problems with the HDMI board and amp(s).


Are all these problems heat-related? If they are, I may end up getting another laptop fan to sit on the 3008 when it comes back. I'm surprised that I'm seeing all these problems with Onkyo receivers. I gave away my 575, and as far as I know, it is still running. I've got my 801 hooked up now as my backup. I was thinking about picking up a 3009, but I'm starting to lose confidence in Onkyo. Is this common with all the other brands as well?

I am having issues with the hdmi board on my less than a year old 609. All I have to do is unplug it and it gets fixed, but this is a pain to do as everything is plugged in behind my entertainment system. I really wanted to buy a 3009, but after reading and comparing brands I had to leave Onkyo for the first time in over 10 years. I really think Onkyo had a great brand and gives you more for the money, but to me, when shelling out big bucks for the higher end models I don't want to take the chance on the problems that I have been reading about and experiencing. Also to answer you question, no, most other brands don't have problems with heat and hdmi boards going out.

Life is hard, be harder.
Saints is offline  
post #56 of 953 Old 02-05-2012, 09:05 PM
Member
 
valero_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I forgot to mention that turning on the receiver about 5 minutes before I needed to use it, and then cycling the power (On-->standby-->On) restored audio every time. That seemed like more trouble waiting to happen, so I went ahead and shipped it out for warranty work. I think I will be looking at Denon the next time around.
valero_r is offline  
post #57 of 953 Old 02-06-2012, 06:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by valero_r View Post

I forgot to mention that turning on the receiver about 5 minutes before I needed to use it, and then cycling the power (On-->standby-->On) restored audio every time. That seemed like more trouble waiting to happen, so I went ahead and shipped it out for warranty work. I think I will be looking at Denon the next time around.

The post you referred to was a problem dolby chip the unit was replaced no further issues reported. Seems mosst of the problems were on the 0007 and 0008 models. I had an issue but It seems it was useer created on my 3009. As your issues were mainly with different models I would suggest you seek some help in those threads. Seems like not enough 3009 and 5009 units are being reported on in either of the threads to make a definitive decison that these are bad units. Most reaction so far has been very positive on the 0009 models . I love mine it is the best of the many receivers I have owned. and welll worth the risk. If you have read all the posts there have been some negatives and as I stated some weere user error or a lack of understanding of how to set the unit up. Good luck in your search.

william06 is offline  
post #58 of 953 Old 02-06-2012, 08:10 AM
Senior Member
 
crossg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta. Canada
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^^^
Agreed. My 3007 was replaced with a 3009 and I couldn't be happier with the new unit. Like you say most problems are a learning curve with a new unit, not hardware. Lots of old 805's still going strong and they created some heat.
crossg is offline  
post #59 of 953 Old 02-06-2012, 02:44 PM
Member
 
valero_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I apologize if it appeared that I was looking for tech help on the units. Onkyo has already determined the problems to be hardware-related. After having two units crap out on me in a short period of time, I was just looking to see if others were having similar issues with the current line-up. I'm glad to see that the 0009's seems to be pretty solid for the most part.
valero_r is offline  
post #60 of 953 Old 02-06-2012, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Please you should not have to appologize for looking for tech help. and yes so far so good on the 0009's

william06 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo , Onkyo Tx Nr3009 , Transformers Dark Of The Moon Three Disc Combo Blu Ray 3d Blu Ray Dvd Digital Copy , The Fifth Element Remastered Blu Ray , Onkyo Ht Rc160 7 2 Channel A V Surround Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off