The "Official" Onkyo TX-NR3009 Owners Thread - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 922 Old 03-21-2014, 03:50 PM
Member
 
vodil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SFO
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeekingNirvana View Post

This is kinda a cross post as I posted over in the Oppo 103 thread, but i'm curious if any one is running any Oppo player with the 3009? Im curious is the DAC's in the Oppo are superior. Right now I have a PS3 as my blu-ray and CD player, but I am letting the 3009 do all the processing. Is anyone out there letting the Oppo do the processing, and if so.... is there a improvement in either picture or sound. I know the 3009 has good DAC's and processors and i would hate to buy a $600 + player only to find out that the PS3 and 3009 combo are on par with the Oppo and 3009. /quote]

I have an Oppo 103d with my 3009, which has Darbee video processing in it. I let the Oppo do the video processing of all the signals but the 3009 do all the audio processing. The Onkyo is the switch and the Oppo can then process the video from it for TV, PS3, etc. I too have a PS3 which was once my Blu-ray player, but Oppo is superior in all ways for playing any l disks.
vodil is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 922 Old 04-03-2014, 04:50 AM
Member
 
Tsunamijhoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I own a 3009 and would like to add an Emotiva XPA-5 to drive my fronts,front wide and center only, while subwoofer and side surround,rear surround would still be controlled by the onkyo.

Would this work? Or should i go all the way,and run pre-out on everything?
Tsunamijhoe is offline  
post #903 of 922 Old 04-28-2014, 12:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
SeekingNirvana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Santa Cruz California
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I know this thread is pretty much done but I'm hoping someone can answer this question....

Can you configure the sub outs independently?

For example have sub1 with audyssey on and sub2 with audyssey off.

I ask because I am looking into getting some Crawson transducers and I need to send them a signal not effected by any type of room correction.

I'm don't think you can configure separately, but I hope. My other Option is to buy a Oppo and use it's sub out, but that's $500 I don't really want to spend.

SeekingNirvana is offline  
post #904 of 922 Old 04-28-2014, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
climber07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 934
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeekingNirvana View Post

I know this thread is pretty much done but I'm hoping someone can answer this question....

Can you configure the sub outs independently?

For example have sub1 with audyssey on and sub2 with audyssey off.

I ask because I am looking into getting some Crawson transducers and I need to send them a signal not effected by any type of room correction.

I'm don't think you can configure separately, but I hope. My other Option is to buy a Oppo and use it's sub out, but that's $500 I don't really want to spend.

This thread will be active as long as there are people using these receivers.

To answer your question, no.

Onkyo TX-NR3009 - Emotiva XPA-2 300 WPC - Polk Audio RTiA9 Mains - CSiA6 Center - F/XiA6 Surrounds - Dual PSA XV-15se Subwoofers - Samsung UN55C8000 3D LED TV - Samsung BD-F5900 3D Bluray - WDTV Live HD Media Player with 6TB External Storage - Nintendo Wii - XBox 360 - Logitech Harmony One...
climber07 is online now  
post #905 of 922 Old 04-28-2014, 04:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
SeekingNirvana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Santa Cruz California
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by climber07 View Post

This thread will be active as long as there are people using these receivers.

To answer your question, no.

I understand how these forums work....maybe I should have worded it differently

I know this thread isn't very "active" anymore but.........

As for answering my question. Thanks

SeekingNirvana is offline  
post #906 of 922 Old 04-28-2014, 04:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
climber07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 934
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeekingNirvana View Post

I understand how these forums work....maybe I should have worded it differently

I know this thread isn't very "active" anymore but.........

As for answering my question. Thanks

No problem brother. I am still learning new things about my NR3009. One of which is how the distance is calculated for DSP controlled subwoofers... biggrin.gif

Onkyo TX-NR3009 - Emotiva XPA-2 300 WPC - Polk Audio RTiA9 Mains - CSiA6 Center - F/XiA6 Surrounds - Dual PSA XV-15se Subwoofers - Samsung UN55C8000 3D LED TV - Samsung BD-F5900 3D Bluray - WDTV Live HD Media Player with 6TB External Storage - Nintendo Wii - XBox 360 - Logitech Harmony One...
climber07 is online now  
post #907 of 922 Old 04-28-2014, 10:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
SeekingNirvana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Santa Cruz California
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by climber07 View Post

No problem brother. I am still learning new things about my NR3009. One of which is how the distance is calculated for DSP controlled subwoofers... biggrin.gif

Taking about latency? The delay of the signal running through the processor? Are you trying to get your sub to blend better with your mains?

SeekingNirvana is offline  
post #908 of 922 Old 04-28-2014, 11:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
climber07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 934
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeekingNirvana View Post

Taking about latency? The delay of the signal running through the processor? Are you trying to get your sub to blend better with your mains?

Yes. I was unsure why Audyssey set my speakers 4 feet farther than they actually are. Tom V from PSA explained it in a post.

Onkyo TX-NR3009 - Emotiva XPA-2 300 WPC - Polk Audio RTiA9 Mains - CSiA6 Center - F/XiA6 Surrounds - Dual PSA XV-15se Subwoofers - Samsung UN55C8000 3D LED TV - Samsung BD-F5900 3D Bluray - WDTV Live HD Media Player with 6TB External Storage - Nintendo Wii - XBox 360 - Logitech Harmony One...
climber07 is online now  
post #909 of 922 Old 04-29-2014, 07:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
SeekingNirvana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Santa Cruz California
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Some receivers/pre-pros don't use feet, instead they use milliseconds. Basically it just measures the delay for the signal to travel through all the circuitry. If you are having trouble blending your subs you can try adjusting this setting manually. It helps if you have a measurement software like REW, to see if it is making a difference.

SeekingNirvana is offline  
post #910 of 922 Old 04-29-2014, 08:48 AM
Senior Member
 
nismo604's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeekingNirvana View Post

I know this thread is pretty much done but I'm hoping someone can answer this question....

Can you configure the sub outs independently?

For example have sub1 with audyssey on and sub2 with audyssey off.

I ask because I am looking into getting some Crawson transducers and I need to send them a signal not effected by any type of room correction.

I'm don't think you can configure separately, but I hope. My other Option is to buy a Oppo and use it's sub out, but that's $500 I don't really want to spend.
I only run one sub and use the sw2 out for my buttkicker. After running audyssey you enable the sw2, remember you don't run the transducer during the calibration process. I'm guessing since audyssey didn't detect a second sub no filters are applied. The distance and trim are fully independent of sw1. Under this setup I had to set the trim to the lowest possible setting to prevent my buttkicker from bottoming out.
SeekingNirvana likes this.
nismo604 is offline  
post #911 of 922 Old 04-29-2014, 09:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
SeekingNirvana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Santa Cruz California
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by nismo604 View Post

I only run one sub and use the sw2 out for my buttkicker. After running audyssey you enable the sw2, remember you don't run the transducer during the calibration process. I'm guessing since audyssey didn't detect a second sub no filters are applied. The distance and trim are fully independent of sw1. Under this setup I had to set the trim to the lowest possible setting to prevent my buttkicker from bottoming out.

Hmmm that sounds like it could be true......by any chance, do you have REW?

SeekingNirvana is offline  
post #912 of 922 Old 04-29-2014, 09:02 AM
Senior Member
 
nismo604's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeekingNirvana View Post

Hmmm that sounds like it could be true......by any chance, do you have REW?
Sorry no REW.
nismo604 is offline  
post #913 of 922 Old 04-29-2014, 09:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
SeekingNirvana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Santa Cruz California
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I'll have to wait until I'm done building my subs to test it out. I'll do like you said....only have one sub hooked up during audyssey, then measure each sub out to confirm that audyssey didn't apply any filters to sub2. It sounds logical....

SeekingNirvana is offline  
post #914 of 922 Old 04-29-2014, 04:36 PM
Newbie
 
gem1201's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am retired and work for Onkyo and also sold their products retail. Dont worry about the heat. Its not a problem. A lot of R&D goes into the product before a decision is made.
gem1201 is offline  
post #915 of 922 Old 05-17-2014, 02:14 PM
Member
 
mavericks64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Net feature stopped working (Pandora, Spotify, etc.). When I choose the Net feature the front display goes blank instead of saying "Net." Any suggestions or ideas. I checked the ethernet cable in back and it seems firmly attached on both ends.

Sharp LC80LE844U 80-inch 3D LED TV
Onkyo TXNR3009 Home Cinema Receiver
9.1 channels
Paradigm Reference Studio/100 v.2 front speakers
Paradigm CC-350 center-channel
Paradigm ADP-350 surrounds
Paradigm Monitor 9 back speakers
Paradigm Mini Monitor Heights
FV15HP Rythmik subwoofer
mavericks64 is offline  
post #916 of 922 Old 05-17-2014, 08:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
climber07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 934
Quote:
Originally Posted by mavericks64 View Post

My Net feature stopped working (Pandora, Spotify, etc.). When I choose the Net feature the front display goes blank instead of saying "Net." Any suggestions or ideas. I checked the ethernet cable in back and it seems firmly attached on both ends.

I would suggest a firmware update first. Onkyo support forum may also mention something about your issue. If not, send them an email.

Onkyo TX-NR3009 - Emotiva XPA-2 300 WPC - Polk Audio RTiA9 Mains - CSiA6 Center - F/XiA6 Surrounds - Dual PSA XV-15se Subwoofers - Samsung UN55C8000 3D LED TV - Samsung BD-F5900 3D Bluray - WDTV Live HD Media Player with 6TB External Storage - Nintendo Wii - XBox 360 - Logitech Harmony One...
climber07 is online now  
post #917 of 922 Old 05-22-2014, 02:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Kamikaze13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by btinindy View Post

Hmmmm, mine was never there for longer than a week for an HDMI Board.

Hopefully they were just under promising so they can over deliver!

Must be nice, mine took 64 days. eek.gifmad.gif

JVC DLA-RS57U Projector - 106" Grandview fixed frame screen
Onkyo TX-NR3009 Receiver
Oppo BDP-103 Blu-Ray Player - PS3
Paradigm Monitor 11 Mains
Paradigm Monitor CC-390 Center
Paradigm Monitor ADP-390 Surrounds x 4
Velodyne DPS-12 Subwoofer
Kamikaze13 is offline  
post #918 of 922 Old 05-23-2014, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 2,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 41
You guys were lucky... I had to pay for my repairs.... twice!!! Plus shipping in Hawaii.

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #919 of 922 Old 05-27-2014, 10:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
DblHelix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Got my 5009 back from repairs and it is working. One issue I still have and no one really seems to mention is it will occasionally lock up and the fix I have used is to unplug it and then plug it back in and it works every time, but anyone ever get an answer from Onkyo why it locks up on changes in HDMI. It usually happens when I change the channel on my tivo.
DblHelix is offline  
post #920 of 922 Old 06-15-2014, 10:02 AM
Member
 
vodil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SFO
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I Quit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post
You guys were lucky... I had to pay for my repairs.... twice!!! Plus shipping in Hawaii.
I have been using Onkyo from the days I bought my first 706. I think I have had 4 different models. I like the features and the value, but I just can't take the reliability any more.

I just had to send my 3009 into the shop. Onkyo blew it because I still have 4 weeks left on the warranty...fortunately for me. But enough is enough. [I have kept around my venerable 706 as an emergency substitute for the many (well, 4) times I have had to send Onkyos in for repair.]

I had foolishly thought when I stepped up to a 4-digit model, I would not have to worry about reliability as much. Anyway I am going to sell my 3009 once it is officially fixed and try to find something that I don't have to worry about. I was thinking of going to Denon/Marantz, but would take any recommendations.
vodil is offline  
post #921 of 922 Old 06-26-2014, 07:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
SeekingNirvana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Santa Cruz California
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Anyone know if you can add a delay to zone 3? I have some Klipsch AW-650's in the back yard on zone 3, and when I'm in my kitchen (between backyard, and living room) there is a big delay in sound. The zone 3 speakers are at least 1/2 a second early......I would like for them to sound the same
SeekingNirvana is offline  
post #922 of 922 Old 06-26-2014, 08:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
climber07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 934
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeekingNirvana View Post
Anyone know if you can add a delay to zone 3? I have some Klipsch AW-650's in the back yard on zone 3, and when I'm in my kitchen (between backyard, and living room) there is a big delay in sound. The zone 3 speakers are at least 1/2 a second early......I would like for them to sound the same
No. Same source on multiple zones is at the mercy of distance and the speed of sound.
climber07 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo , Onkyo Tx Nr3009 , Transformers Dark Of The Moon Three Disc Combo Blu Ray 3d Blu Ray Dvd Digital Copy , The Fifth Element Remastered Blu Ray , Onkyo Ht Rc160 7 2 Channel A V Surround Home Theater Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off