The "Official" Onkyo TX-NR3009 Owners Thread - Page 32 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #931 of 945 Old 08-22-2014, 01:33 PM
Newbie
 
RoedeOrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by climber07 View Post
Simply disconnect the speaker cables for your front L/R speakers from the AVR, then connect an RCA cable from the front L/R pre-outs of the AVR to the correct inputs on the amp. Then connect your speaker wires to the amp speaker outputs. Viola!.
I got most of that (even the French ending), one thing though " then connect an RCA cable from the front L/R pre-outs of the AVR to the correct inputs on the amp" - the front L/R pre-outs, where, the exact connections, are they on the backside of the AVR? Thanks so far!

Edit - and yes, after consulting the drawings in the manual I did find the connections. They were on the backside of the AVR, where the majority of such connections dwell. Marked "L/R Pre-out". That make sense really, all things considered.
climber07 likes this.

Last edited by RoedeOrm; 08-22-2014 at 02:06 PM.
RoedeOrm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #932 of 945 Old 08-22-2014, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
climber07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,676
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoedeOrm View Post
I got most of that (even the French ending), one thing though " then connect an RCA cable from the front L/R pre-outs of the AVR to the correct inputs on the amp" - the front L/R pre-outs, where, the exact connections, are they on the backside of the AVR? Thanks so far!

Edit - and yes, after consulting the drawings in the manual I did find the connections. They were on the backside of the AVR, where the majority of such connections dwell. Marked "L/R Pre-out". That make sense really, all things considered.
I keep the manual and a large pic of the back of the AVR on my phone, so when I'm piddling around, I don't have to dismantle the entire system to look at the back of the AVR... I just look at the pic and use tactile feel to find what I'm looking for from the front.

link to extra large high quality pic: http://www.avland.co.uk/aasp/onkyo/1...09/rearlrg.jpg

candoan likes this.

Onkyo TX-NR3009 - Emotiva XPA-2 300 WPC - Polk Audio RTiA9 Mains - CSiA6 Center - F/XiA6 Surrounds - Dual PSA XV-15se Subwoofers - Samsung UN55C8000 3D LED TV - Samsung BD-F5900 3D Bluray - WDTV Live HD Media Player with 6TB External Storage - Nintendo Wii - XBox 360 - Logitech Harmony One...
climber07 is online now  
post #933 of 945 Old 08-23-2014, 12:17 PM
Newbie
 
RoedeOrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by climber07 View Post
I keep the manual and a large pic of the back of the AVR on my phone, so when I'm piddling around, I don't have to dismantle the entire system to look at the back of the AVR... I just look at the pic and use tactile feel to find what I'm looking for from the front.
Thanks for the picture buddy, it is now on my trusted pocket companion (that would be my Nokia).
climber07 likes this.
RoedeOrm is offline  
post #934 of 945 Old 08-24-2014, 03:35 PM
Member
 
AuburnM5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anyone used this receiver with a seperate 2 channel preamp? My preamp (McIntosh C2500) has an HT pass through option, but needs to be triggered with a 12 volt cord. I know this receiver has outs for Zone 2 and 3, but not the main. I am planning on possbily using the 3009 as just a processor since I have external amps. Equipment:

McIntosh C2500 preamp
2 x McIntosh MC352 amps for fronts
McIntosh MC7205 for center and rears
1 Powered sub
AuburnM5 is offline  
post #935 of 945 Old 09-01-2014, 12:37 PM
Member
 
TheRoey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AuburnM5 View Post
Has anyone used this receiver with a seperate 2 channel preamp? My preamp (McIntosh C2500) has an HT pass through option, but needs to be triggered with a 12 volt cord. I know this receiver has outs for Zone 2 and 3, but not the main. I am planning on possbily using the 3009 as just a processor since I have external amps. Equipment:

McIntosh C2500 preamp
2 x McIntosh MC352 amps for fronts
McIntosh MC7205 for center and rears
1 Powered sub
I am using the 3009 with external emotiva amps and have been happy with the results. I do have some questions I'll put in a new post momentarily.....
TheRoey is offline  
post #936 of 945 Old 09-01-2014, 12:48 PM
Member
 
TheRoey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using my TX-NR3009 with external amps.. Happy with the results but I have a few questions while I am figureing out how to have my Harmony One trigger to the amps... I saw a thread and will have to find it again as I believe there is a way.

Questions:
1-As I'm using all pre-outs with 2 external power amps (Emotiva XPA3 for mains & UPA700 for surrounds)... I understand I'll use Zone 2 & Zone 3 triggers. OR can I use the passthrough trigger out on the Emotiva XPA3 to trigger the UPA700? That might be a question for me to repost on an Emotiva thread.....

2-If I am using Zone 2 or 3 as triggers, can I use the powered Zone 2 or Zone 3 speaker terminals (I'm not using any right now) for another zone? Even if I'm using the pre-out for front high or front wide?
I've never been proficient when it comes to multi-zone use!

3-Lastly (for now), if I'm using external power amps does the ohm setting I put in the Onkyo menu effect anything if all I'm taking out of the receiver is pre-outs? My mains are 4 ohm speakers so I set accordingly. But if that setting is just for the 3009's powered speaker terminals (not the pre-outs) I wonder if changing the ohms can lower the amount of heat the receiver generates as I can't tell it I'm not using the internal speaker amps.

Thanks all for any and all suggestions!
TheRoey is offline  
post #937 of 945 Old 09-01-2014, 02:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
climber07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,676
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRoey View Post
I'm using my TX-NR3009 with external amps.. Happy with the results but I have a few questions while I am figureing out how to have my Harmony One trigger to the amps... I saw a thread and will have to find it again as I believe there is a way.

Questions:
1-As I'm using all pre-outs with 2 external power amps (Emotiva XPA3 for mains & UPA700 for surrounds)... I understand I'll use Zone 2 & Zone 3 triggers. OR can I use the passthrough trigger out on the Emotiva XPA3 to trigger the UPA700? That might be a question for me to repost on an Emotiva thread.....

2-If I am using Zone 2 or 3 as triggers, can I use the powered Zone 2 or Zone 3 speaker terminals (I'm not using any right now) for another zone? Even if I'm using the pre-out for front high or front wide?
I've never been proficient when it comes to multi-zone use!

3-Lastly (for now), if I'm using external power amps does the ohm setting I put in the Onkyo menu effect anything if all I'm taking out of the receiver is pre-outs? My mains are 4 ohm speakers so I set accordingly. But if that setting is just for the 3009's powered speaker terminals (not the pre-outs) I wonder if changing the ohms can lower the amount of heat the receiver generates as I can't tell it I'm not using the internal speaker amps.

Thanks all for any and all suggestions!
Since Onkyo didn't have the foresight to add a zone 1 trigger, you have to improvise. I bought a green surge suppressor and plugged the NR3009 into the master. Then I plugged a 12v wall wart (AC to DC adapter) into the green power strip and into the XPA-2 (I bought a mono mini RCA plug from Radio Shack). Every time I turn on the NR3009 with my Harmony One, the power strip turns on the wall wart and triggers the XPA-2.

Here you go:

Wall adapter:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006GEPUYA/ref=oh_details_o03_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1



Green power strip:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003P2UMQ2/ref=oh_details_o04_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1



1/8" mono solder connector (2 pack)

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2062452


Onkyo TX-NR3009 - Emotiva XPA-2 300 WPC - Polk Audio RTiA9 Mains - CSiA6 Center - F/XiA6 Surrounds - Dual PSA XV-15se Subwoofers - Samsung UN55C8000 3D LED TV - Samsung BD-F5900 3D Bluray - WDTV Live HD Media Player with 6TB External Storage - Nintendo Wii - XBox 360 - Logitech Harmony One...
climber07 is online now  
post #938 of 945 Old 09-01-2014, 09:22 PM
Member
 
TheRoey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by climber07 View Post
Since Onkyo didn't have the foresight to add a zone 1 trigger, you have to improvise. I bought a green surge suppressor and plugged the NR3009 into the master. Then I plugged a 12v wall wart (AC to DC adapter) into the green power strip and into the XPA-2 (I bought a mono mini RCA plug from Radio Shack). Every time I turn on the NR3009 with my Harmony One, the power strip turns on the wall wart and triggers the XPA-2.

Here you go:

Wall adapter:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006GEPUYA/ref=oh_details_o03_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1



Green power strip:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003P2UMQ2/ref=oh_details_o04_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1



1/8" mono solder connector (2 pack)

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2062452

Thanks Climber. I've been planning to integrate a power conditioner but maybe the green strip can come off of that.
TheRoey is offline  
post #939 of 945 Old 09-02-2014, 08:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
SeekingNirvana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Santa Cruz California
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 82
I am using the 3009 with Emotiva amps. I have a pair of XPA 1's, and a XPA 3. I am also using a harmony one remote.

My systems is set up in a 5.2 configuration. The amps are triggered by "zone 2" so I use the harmony remote to power on zone 2 when ever I fire up the system.

I take the trigger out from the 3009, and put it on the trigger in of the emotiva amp. The amps have a trigger in and out, so then I just use the trigger out from the amp to the trigger in of the next.
SeekingNirvana is offline  
post #940 of 945 Old 09-07-2014, 02:29 PM
Member
 
TheRoey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeekingNirvana View Post
I am using the 3009 with Emotiva amps. I have a pair of XPA 1's, and a XPA 3. I am also using a harmony one remote.

My systems is set up in a 5.2 configuration. The amps are triggered by "zone 2" so I use the harmony remote to power on zone 2 when ever I fire up the system.

I take the trigger out from the 3009, and put it on the trigger in of the emotiva amp. The amps have a trigger in and out, so then I just use the trigger out from the amp to the trigger in of the next.
Is the Zone 2 trigger automated by your system on "Activity", or do you manually power on Zone2 on the remote?
If it's automated, how where you able to add zone trigger tot he activity... I can't find it!
TheRoey is offline  
post #941 of 945 Old 09-07-2014, 03:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
SeekingNirvana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Santa Cruz California
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRoey View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeekingNirvana View Post
I am using the 3009 with Emotiva amps. I have a pair of XPA 1's, and a XPA 3. I am also using a harmony one remote.

My systems is set up in a 5.2 configuration. The amps are triggered by "zone 2" so I use the harmony remote to power on zone 2 when ever I fire up the system.

I take the trigger out from the 3009, and put it on the trigger in of the emotiva amp. The amps have a trigger in and out, so then I just use the trigger out from the amp to the trigger in of the next.
Is the Zone 2 trigger automated by your system on "Activity", or do you manually power on Zone2 on the remote?
If it's automated, how where you able to add zone trigger tot he activity... I can't find it!
It is auto, so what ever activity I choose it will turn everything in my system on, including the amps. I'll have too look at how I did it.....it's been awhile. I need to add my new cable box to the remote, and I've been lazy about it, so let me add the box and I'll look at how I did it for you.
SeekingNirvana is offline  
post #942 of 945 Old Yesterday, 09:22 PM
Newbie
 
Hollis Stavn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
I have the 3009 sitting on top open all around and it does get quite hot over the back but i have a pair of usb fans connected in back that turn on when the unit fires up and they work very well and keep the unit reasonably warm not hot. I do believe it is a cause of all the processors etc.
My 3009 is heating my entire house, Works fine. Does anyone suggest turning this completely off vs standby?
Hollis Stavn is offline  
post #943 of 945 Old Yesterday, 10:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
climber07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,676
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hollis Stavn View Post
My 3009 is heating my entire house, Works fine. Does anyone suggest turning this completely off vs standby?
Mine is off completely when not in use.

Onkyo TX-NR3009 - Emotiva XPA-2 300 WPC - Polk Audio RTiA9 Mains - CSiA6 Center - F/XiA6 Surrounds - Dual PSA XV-15se Subwoofers - Samsung UN55C8000 3D LED TV - Samsung BD-F5900 3D Bluray - WDTV Live HD Media Player with 6TB External Storage - Nintendo Wii - XBox 360 - Logitech Harmony One...
climber07 is online now  
post #944 of 945 Old Today, 02:40 AM
Member
 
candoan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys,

I intend to use my 3009 as Pre Pro, somebody please point out how to do it that I do not have to use the amp of it.

Thanks.

Pana 60ST60, Onkyo TX-NR3009, OPPO BDP-103, Klipsch WF-35, Klipsch WS-24, Klipsch WC-24, Klipsch Reference RW-12d, BIC America DV62si.
candoan is online now  
post #945 of 945 Old Today, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
climber07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,676
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by candoan View Post
Hi Guys,

I intend to use my 3009 as Pre Pro, somebody please point out how to do it that I do not have to use the amp of it.

Thanks.
Simply plug your interconnect cables from the pre-outs on the 3009 into the amplifier inputs. Viola! 3009 is now a pre-pro.
candoan likes this.
climber07 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo , Onkyo Tx Nr3009 , Transformers Dark Of The Moon Three Disc Combo Blu Ray 3d Blu Ray Dvd Digital Copy , The Fifth Element Remastered Blu Ray , Onkyo Ht Rc160 7 2 Channel A V Surround Home Theater Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off