Yamaha RX-v667 3D problem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 11-14-2011, 11:33 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Gang,
This is my first time posting here on AVS. I have never had the need to post anything, as I am usually pretty good at just using google to find the answers I need. However, this 3D thing has me completely clueless as to what to do.

I have a setup consisting of: Direct TV H25-500 receiver, Yamaha RX-v667 AVR, PS3, Optoma HD33 projector.

When I have the DTV receiver connected to the v667, I get the message "TV is not capable of 3D" or something like that. When I connect the DTV receiver directly to the projector, the 3D works like a charm...of course, with no sound. I also tried playing the new Batman Arkham City PS3 game in 3D and that didn't work either (through the AVR). The projector doesn't even give me the 3D options. I have also tried a 3D movie on the PS3 (How to Train Your Dragon). When I tried to watch the movie, I get a similar message as the DTV H25: "You need a 3D compatible TV to view movie".

I looked online and found that Yamaha had released a new firmware (ver. 2.05) that dealt directly with the DTV 3D problem. I checked the version of my AVR and it had ver. 1.0X. I went ahead and updated the firmware and now my AVR is running ver. 2.05. However, I still get the same message as before: "TV is not capable of 3D".

My questions to the team are: Could this be a setup issue? Or, could this be a cable issue? Let me just mention this here, I have everything connected through HDMI. I have a 3-6 foot cable from the DTV receiver and the same for the PS3. I have a 35 foot HDMI cable from the AVR to the projector (keep in mind that the 35 foot cable works fine for 3D when I connect directly to it from the source).

This is driving me nuts.

-eeek
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 11-14-2011, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 20