Optical input or HDMI - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-04-2011, 06:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Hannzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys:

I have yamaha a2000. I am wondering weather Optical cable would produce better sound quality or HDMI cable. Please comment. Thanks
Hannzz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-04-2011, 07:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,385
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Optical cannot handle high resolution audio.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-04-2011, 07:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Hannzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, I ordered HDMI cable. Somehow I was under the impression since optical cable has light means less resistance and hence better sound quality. I guess I was wrong.
Hannzz is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 12-04-2011, 07:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Optical is immune to RF interference, but most quality cables are shielded enough for that to be a non-factor. Not sure where resistance came from.

HDMI enables the lossless audio from blu-ray discs to be used, which as Kal said can't be used with optical. For DVD playback, HDMI and optical will be the same using legacy Dolby Digital and DTS 5.1 lossy codecs. But HDMI carries audio and video, so there is usually no need to use an optical cable with whatever playback device you're using.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 12-04-2011, 07:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Joeforsale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here's a pretty good explanation of the limitations: http://solidlystated.com/hardware/hd...s3-or-blu-ray/
Joeforsale is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 12-05-2011, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KidHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Derwood, Maryland
Posts: 2,713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 163
In most cases, it doesn't matter if you use HDMI or toslink. With some of the newer 7.1 codecs, you need hdmi, but to be honest, I can't tell much difference when the new codecs are played via hdmi or toslink.

The only real advantage to toslink is you avoid handshake issues.
KidHorn is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off