Suddenly: No more image but sound is ok ??? - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 12-05-2011, 10:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SimonB27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I installed my receiver about three months ago, and everything was working perfectly.
However, suddenly, one morning, I wanted to watch TV, but I was getting no more image (just a black screen) but the sound was ok.

My setup is: PS3 and Cable box both connected to the receiver (DENON 1612), and the receiver connected to a Panasonic 1080p plasma screen.
As I said, I get no more image from the cable box through the receiver but the sound is still ok. However with the PS3 (again through the receiver) its perfect.
And, however again, if I connect the cable box directly in the TV its working fine!!

So: receiver works with PS3 but not anymore with cable box, but cable box still works if connected directly in the TV.

I already tried different cables and all HDMI ports of the receiver and its not the source of the problem (since anyway it works fine with PS3).

Any idea??

Thanks very much,

Simon
SimonB27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 12-05-2011, 04:29 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,469
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3767 Post(s)
Liked: 2186
You could try resetting the microprocessor (p. 94) although as cable/sat boxes often have HDMI handshake issues, you may also simply want to consider leaving it cable box (HDMI) to the TV w/ cable box (optical) to the AVR.

To learn more about your new 1612, join us in the Denon XX12 Owner's thread linked in my sig ... reviewing especially post #3 for more tips where you can try doing an HDMI reset.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 12-05-2011, 07:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SimonB27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your answer.
I finally been able to resolve my problem by:
1-Turning everything off
2-Unplugging cable box to reset it and replugged after 10 seconds.
3-Waited 3-4 minutes.
4-Turned TV on, then AVR on, then cable box on.
And its now working perfectly!
SimonB27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off