Need for optical cables with HDMI receiver? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-01-2012, 05:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nyguy4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, lurker for YEARS.. first time poster.

I'm pretty knowledgable with HT stuff, but I'm new to receivers with HDMI ins and outs.

Here is what I have -
Directv HD DVR
PS3
Apple TV
Yamaha Receiver (no HDMI capability)

I've always connected HDMI cables from each device to the TV separately - and ran 3 separate optical's to my receiver. All the video directly to the TV, all the audio directly to the receiver. Not sure if that was ideal or "right", but that's how it was - and it worked great.

I just purchased a Pioneer VSX 1021. It has 4 HDMI ins, and 1 out. Again, new to HDMI receivers. Assuming I should run my video through the receiver, correct? So, each of my HDMI devices to the receiver - one out to the TV - correct? With that said, will this eliminate the need for any optical cables?

Sorry for the basic question, but I just want to make sure my thinking is right.

Thanks in advance.
nyguy4u is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-01-2012, 05:40 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,103
Mentioned: 272 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12466 Post(s)
Liked: 5699
If (and that's a big if) all HDMI devices work correctly when connected to the AVR, then you shouldn't need any optical cables; however, more often than not, cable/sat boxes have HDMI handshake issues with AVRs which require connecting the HDMI from the cable/sat box to the TV directly with optical to the AVR (as you are likely doing now).
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-01-2012, 05:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9,010
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Correct. No need for optical. HDMI does audio and video.
BIslander is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 Old 01-02-2012, 04:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nyguy4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for the responses.

I sure hope my DTV won't give me issues, because I want to eliminate switching inputs on the TV altogether.

As for HDMI - I never knew that HDMI could handle 7.1. Thanks for the heads up!
nyguy4u is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off