Yamaha rx-371 to turtle beach gaming headphones inquiry - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 01-04-2012, 03:22 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
taylo795's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys I apologize for being a troll...
But I am desperate and I emailed turtle beach about this and they were no help.
Ok basically I just got a set of turtle beach x12s for christmas...these are xbox gaming headphones that are powered by usb and plug into the audio out ports in order to play gaming sound. They have adjustable volume bass etc.
When I first got them I had them plugged into the audio out ports on my vizio tv and they worked fine. Now that I am at MSU in my house where I have my sound system. (Yamaha rx-371, polk tsi300 tower speakers, polk psw110 subwoofer)
My xbox is now hooked up to my receiver via hdmi and the receiver is in turn hooked up to my tv via hdmi. The sound comes out of my speakers just fine. When I introduced my turtle beaches to my system by plugging them in to the audio out port of my receiver they do not play the game volume but the speakers still play it.
Can anyone help me out on this?
Again I apologize for only signing up to ask a question. But I am just at a dead end.
Thanks guys!
taylo795 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-04-2012, 04:00 PM
Member
 
boardboy330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoIL
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you tried connecting them to the audio out on the vizio? There should be a connection in the rear for this purpose. I have the Logitech F540 wireless unit and ran into the same issue. A short cable run to the back of the TV fixed the issue.
boardboy330 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-04-2012, 08:21 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
taylo795's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no i have not tried that. I just assumed that since the audio was coming from the receiver that the audio out ports on the receiver were the proper ones to use. I will try that and let you know my results. Thanks
taylo795 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 01-04-2012, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,440
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by taylo795 View Post

no i have not tried that. I just assumed that since the audio was coming from the receiver that the audio out ports on the receiver were the proper ones to use. I will try that and let you know my results. Thanks

Hi taylo795, the RX-V371 should have an option setting to pass audio to tv speaker under HDMI Setup menu. Default setting is AMP but has available option setting to either TV or AMP+TV.
JChin is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-04-2012, 08:51 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
taylo795's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
that did not work
my response was meant to be to boardboy330...
sorry
but JChin that worked! thank you so much! You guys are a lot of help
taylo795 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-04-2012, 09:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,440
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 122
^^^ glad to help, enjoy.
JChin is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-05-2012, 06:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
garciab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Princeton, TX - USA
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
But won't that setting affect his surround sound system? He will lose his surround sound; assuming he has a full setup, he may not want that when not using the headphones.

Which 'audio out' jacks were you using on the receiver that didn't work?

bg
garciab is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off