Denon Receiver (4311) and the Trigger Out 12v/150Ma, Controlled AC Outlet. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 01-05-2012, 10:17 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I have a Denon 4311 and would like to use the TRIGGER OUT to turn on a controlled AC outlet when the Denon is on & shut off a controlled AC outlet when the Denon is off.

I have all my components in a rack, so I'm using the (to be) switched outlet to turn on a cooling fan.

I've looked at the:

Xantech AC-1
Russound ACT-1
Furman MA-15

Xantech says their device requires constant, I read Furman requires a dry contact closure...I called Denon, they say the TRIGGER OUT is a pulse, not constant....but I've never heard of that. Any ideas?

I simply want a product that is a DC Controlled (by the Denon) AC Outlet. What do I need?

Thanks!
Dreamliner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 01-05-2012, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KidHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Derwood, Maryland
Posts: 2,713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 163
It sounds like you want to be able to turn on a bunch of things at a single touch of a button. Why don't you get single remote controlled switch instead of using the denon as your master on/off switch?

http://www.amazon.com/s/?ie=UTF8&key...l_86s4ov6iqe_e
KidHorn is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 01-05-2012, 10:38 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by KidHorn View Post

It sounds like you want to be able to turn on a bunch of things at a single touch of a button. Why don't you get single remote controlled switch instead of using the denon as your master on/off switch?

http://www.amazon.com/s/?ie=UTF8&key...l_86s4ov6iqe_e

I only want 1 thing, FANS. Turn on with receiver, turn off receiver.

...This would have been easier if Denon still had switched AC outlets....
Dreamliner is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 01-05-2012, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KidHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Derwood, Maryland
Posts: 2,713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post

I only want 1 thing, FANS. Turn on with receiver, turn off receiver.

...This would have been easier if Denon still had switched AC outlets....

OK, but doesn't everything funnel back to a 110v 60Hz electrical source that you can funnel through a single AC outlet?
KidHorn is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 01-05-2012, 10:46 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by KidHorn View Post

OK, but doesn't everything funnel back to a 110v 60Hz electrical source that you can funnel through a single AC outlet?

Yes. But I want it controlled be the Denon.
Dreamliner is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 01-05-2012, 10:48 AM
Member
 
aaks38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Springfield, VA
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im using the triggers to cycle my amps and can assure you this is not a pulsed signal. Most trigger devices require a constant +5 to +12 as it is required to hold a relay or even a ttl logic driver in its constant closed position.

What you need to ensure is that you dont exceed the 12V 150ma spec as you can damage the output device driver in the 4311. As a safe rule of thumb you shouldnt draw no more than 120mA from this line. Fans will draw a lot of current on initial startup but once moving, they draw less current..
aaks38 is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 01-05-2012, 10:51 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaks38 View Post

Im using the triggers to cycle my amps and can assure you this is not a pulsed signal. Most trigger devices require a constant +5 to +12 as it is required to hold a relay or even a ttl logic driver in its constant closed position.

What you need to ensure is that you dont exceed the 12V 150ma spec as you can damage the output device driver in the 4311. As a safe rule of thumb you shouldnt draw no more than 120mA from this line. Fans will draw a lot of current on initial startup but once moving, they draw less current..

I think the Xantech AC-1 will work then (I know its a 12v 2ma trigger). Right?
Dreamliner is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 01-05-2012, 12:27 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,801
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
You also have the option of using USB powered fans.

Also note there is a dedicated Denon 4311CI Owner's thread for more information.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 01-05-2012, 01:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Slare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I assume you used to have an AC adapter running fan(s) that was simply plugged into the switched outlet of your old AVR... I do the same thing with the switched outlets on my older Denon.

If this is the case and you don't actually want to have trigger control to turn them on or off when the AVR is in use (just always on with the AVR) then just use a smart strip. Dead simple and it will work.

It's also a nice way to trigger your back lighting if you have any. People think I'm rich when they see the lights come on with the HT being fired up.
Slare is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 01-05-2012, 01:48 PM
Member
 
aaks38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Springfield, VA
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like the xantech draws 10-15ma at 12VDC so you should in theory be able to trigger about 8 of these devices safely. I am also doing the same thing with my 4311 in that i am triggering 2 emotiva amps and a belkin switched ac outlet which enable my subwoofers amps as i ran out of switched AC outlets. So you should be fine.

An AC strip with switched AC outlet control using 12VDC triggers is the way to go with the 4311.
aaks38 is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 01-05-2012, 01:59 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slare View Post

I assume you used to have an AC adapter running fan(s) that was simply plugged into the switched outlet of your old AVR

Exactly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaks38 View Post

and a belkin switched ac outlet which enable my subwoofers amps as i ran out of switched AC outlets. So you should be fine.

My subwoofer has been plugged in and never really shut off in the opposite corner of the room than my equip rack. Should I run a ~100' remote signal cable and add another remote AC outlet turn on for it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaks38 View Post

An AC strip with switched AC outlet control using 12VDC triggers is the way to go with the 4311.

What products are you using.
Dreamliner is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 01-05-2012, 08:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Slare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You said I hit the nail on the head for what you want to do, a $20 smart strip will accomplish it. No trigger setup, no costly trigger hardware. Plus you'll have several other outlets that are effectively switchable with your AVR.

My .02 is don't worry about the sub. The auto-turn on circuitry is one of the most common relays to fail, and leaving it on avoids unintentional shut down issues that will occur on movies with rare lfe content.
Slare is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 01-05-2012, 08:58 PM
Member
 
aaks38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Springfield, VA
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah the strip is a good idea but im not sure if it requires a device to be plugged in which it can detect the current draw and therefore shut off the ac power to the other outlets..but if it can work standalone with the sub itself, this would be the way to go as running a long trigger wire would be a pain. I personally prefer a dc trigger as it gives you true synchronization

Im using my 4311 to trigger a belkin pureav ac outlet but all of my gear is in the same vicinity.
aaks38 is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 01-06-2012, 02:27 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,801
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
Note that the SCGX series Smart Strips by BitsLtd do not always work with an AVR as the "control" item.

http://www.amazon.com/Smart-Energy-S.../dp/B000P1QJXQ

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 01-06-2012, 05:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
@dreamliner...

drop me a pm... i've got a bunch of triggered outlet devices sitting around doing nothing... i'll send you one for the cost of shipping...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 01-06-2012, 12:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Slare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Note that the SCGX series Smart Strips by BitsLtd do not always work with an AVR as the "control" item.

http://www.amazon.com/Smart-Energy-S.../dp/B000P1QJXQ

Haven't had any problems with my Denons (2807, 3808, 4308, 790, 890, 3310) or Yamahas (1000, 2000, 3000). They have an adjustable sensitivity range for the current draw of the switching item which required turning down relatively low to work with the AVR's... I think a lot of the people having problems don't realize that and expect it to just work out of the box.
Slare is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 01-06-2012, 01:14 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,801
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
^^
A 2112CI owner recently posted that even with adjustments, the SCG3 wouldn't work correctly and when he asked the mfr about it, turns out the mfr doesn't recommend the SCGX series with an AVR as the control.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 01-06-2012, 02:42 PM
Senior Member
 
e2g_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was looking at this the other day it was on sale the other day ($15-$19):

http://www.amazon.com/Belkin-Conserv...ref=pd_cp_hi_1

If I understand it correctly, plug the Denon 4311ci into the master and the fans into the Master Controlled, and for your always on/standby components, there are two outlets on the opposite end of the master outlet.

Of course, there are other alternatives probably already discussed in this thread.
e2g_ is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 01-06-2012, 05:24 PM
Member
 
mr.pope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
+1 on the smart strip. I use on with my Denon 2112 to turn fans and other things on and off with the amp. You can get them at Menards (if you have them) to test if they work for you.
mr.pope is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 01-07-2012, 05:29 AM
Member
 
mr.pope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I guess some smart strips don't work very well. I am using this one that I bought at Menards with no issues.
mr.pope is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 01-29-2012, 02:01 PM
Member
 
mr.pope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As a follow up. I just found out leaving the network standby on my denon draws too much power to trigger the smartstrip to shut off.
mr.pope is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 01-21-2013, 05:57 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I gotta say, I never figured this out. Regardless of if I connect to trigger out 1 or trigger out 2, the 4311 triggers 12v even if the 4311 is off or if ANY of the trigger options are set in the menu. If I shut all the trigger options off for BOTH triggers it doesnt turn on (obviously), but if I turn on even 1 condition, the denon will trigger the 12v even if the denon is off and regardless of what trigger out im connected to...mad.gif
Dreamliner is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off