Yamaha receiver subwoofer volume very low - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Audio > Receivers, Amps, and Processors > Yamaha receiver subwoofer volume very low

Receivers, Amps, and Processors

rc05's Avatar rc05
10:44 PM Liked: 58
post #1 of 50
01-11-2012 | Posts: 417
Joined: Oct 2011
Hi guys,
Got a different receiver, an old Yamaha RX-V467, and everything works, but the subwoofer volume is incredibly low. I've got an Infinity PS-8, and it's hooked up to the LFE input from the receiver sub out. I've tried two different cables, made sure speakers were set to small, crossover at 80 (and max on the subwoofer), and tried adjusting the level on the receiver to max, and turning the level on the sub up to max. Also reset the receiver to default. No matter what I do, the volume coming out of the sub is almost inaudible. When I play the test tones, I can hear all the channels clearly, but really have to press my head against the sub to hear it rumble. In fact, the light on the back of the sub says it's not even receiving a signal most of the time.

I had an RCA to headphone jack adapter that I plugged directly into my computer to the red/white RCA inputs on the sub, and the sub worked nice and loud at a little less than mid volume. So I don't think it's the sub.

Thanks for your help, I really want to get this working.
YeuEmMaiMai's Avatar YeuEmMaiMai
07:44 AM Liked: 11
post #2 of 50
01-12-2012 | Posts: 1,076
Joined: Apr 2002
go into your speaker setup and adjust the LFE level, it sounds like it is set to -10db or something. The manual for your receiver will show you how to adjust the LFE level. LFE level is a seperate setting from SUB level...
rc05's Avatar rc05
10:27 AM Liked: 58
post #3 of 50
01-12-2012 | Posts: 417
Joined: Oct 2011
Thanks for the suggestion, I looked in the manual and through all the menus and I can only find settings referring to the subwoofer, which I already tried adjusting.
dannyg40's Avatar dannyg40
10:55 AM Liked: 10
post #4 of 50
01-12-2012 | Posts: 70
Joined: Nov 2011
I have an RX-467 but only use it for stereo mode with 2 big front speakers. I had a Pioneer VSX-820 and a Sony 8" sub. It sounded good. Last year I decided to upgrade to a Polk Audio 10" sub. Spent $300 on it and could not hear a thing just like you describe. I tried everything. Nobody had any idea why either. I ended up taking it back after messing with it for 3 days, and had my Sony hooked up. I was thinking that some subs just need a "higher or stronger" signal to run right. Did you set up everything with the Yamaha YPAO setup and microphone ? Then you can fine tune it if needed. If that don't help, Im lost cause I went through that with my Pioneer receiver also.
mf15's Avatar mf15
11:00 AM Liked: 10
post #5 of 50
01-12-2012 | Posts: 106
Joined: Nov 2002
If you go into manual speaker setup, then go to level. At what level is the sub set at by the AVR. If it is at -10 db then raise it to 0 or higher.
Old Mike
rc05's Avatar rc05
11:09 AM Liked: 58
post #6 of 50
01-12-2012 | Posts: 417
Joined: Oct 2011
Thanks for the advice, interesting to see you had the same problem. I haven't used YPAO. The Yamaha uses bars to indicate the levels, and it's right in the middle for subwoofer level. I think that's the default. I tried moving the bar all the way to the right but it didn't help.
YeuEmMaiMai's Avatar YeuEmMaiMai
11:12 AM Liked: 11
post #7 of 50
01-12-2012 | Posts: 1,076
Joined: Apr 2002
if you have adjusted the receiver and the sub output does not change, it is a problem with the sub most likely. Do you have another sub to test the receiver functionality with? what does the receiver put out on the sub outputs? what does the sub accept for the input range?
rc05's Avatar rc05
12:20 PM Liked: 58
post #8 of 50
01-12-2012 | Posts: 417
Joined: Oct 2011
I don't have another sub unfortunately, but I do have another receiver that I can dig out of the closet, but it may be broken. I'll try that when I get home. It did work with the red/white RCA cables from my computer, but I guess that doesn't really pinpoint where the problem is.
YeuEmMaiMai's Avatar YeuEmMaiMai
01:50 PM Liked: 11
post #9 of 50
01-12-2012 | Posts: 1,076
Joined: Apr 2002
If your sub has speaker level inputs you can set your main speakers to LARGE and LFE from SUB to MAIN

Next, run wire from receiver MAIN L R Speaker terminals to sub speaker L R in termals and then another set from sub speaker L R out terminals to L and R main speakers. You will need to use the variable high cut to blend your sub in with your mains.

Receiver may not be putting out enough on the SUB out terminal to power the AMP for your sub. This is why you need to see what the output is for your sub out and then see what the line input requirements are for your sub

On my htr-5635 it is 150mv max variable line out and it matches well with the input required by my YST-SW215 subs
rc05's Avatar rc05
02:04 PM Liked: 58
post #10 of 50
01-12-2012 | Posts: 417
Joined: Oct 2011
That's a good idea, I was thinking of trying something like that, but I'm very cautious about wiring these things else I damage the equipment. So I looked at the Infinity PS-8 manual and it does have speaker level inputs for L/R, but it doesn't have outputs. In addition, the manual says how to hook up the sub this way that you described, but slightly differently because there's no speaker out on the sub. It says to have two sets of wire come out of the receiver main L/R and go into both the sub AND the regular left and right speakers. I want to make sure that this is a proper way of hooking up the left/right and sub before I do it, because I don't want to damage the receiver/sub.

Thanks for all your help, I bet that this method is the one that'll work!
YeuEmMaiMai's Avatar YeuEmMaiMai
02:10 PM Liked: 11
post #11 of 50
01-12-2012 | Posts: 1,076
Joined: Apr 2002
that just does not sound right but if that is what the manual states, proceede with caution
rc05's Avatar rc05
02:12 PM Liked: 58
post #12 of 50
01-12-2012 | Posts: 417
Joined: Oct 2011
Exactly, that's what I was thinking. I really don't want to damage anything. Here's a picture of the manual for better clarity. Does it make sense, or is the manual wrong?


LL
JHAz's Avatar JHAz
02:59 PM Liked: 176
post #13 of 50
01-12-2012 | Posts: 4,117
Joined: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by rc05 View Post

That's a good idea, I was thinking of trying something like that, but I'm very cautious about wiring these things else I damage the equipment. So I looked at the Infinity PS-8 manual and it does have speaker level inputs for L/R, but it doesn't have outputs. In addition, the manual says how to hook up the sub this way that you described, but slightly differently because there's no speaker out on the sub. It says to have two sets of wire come out of the receiver main L/R and go into both the sub AND the regular left and right speakers. I want to make sure that this is a proper way of hooking up the left/right and sub before I do it, because I don't want to damage the receiver/sub.

Thanks for all your help, I bet that this method is the one that'll work!


If the sub is connected to the eft and right outputs, it is NOT connected to the subwoofer output, so it is not receiving any sound routed to the subwoofer in the receiver. ANd of course, the sub level controls affect the sub channel, not the left and right, so no great surprise, really, that changing the sub level did nothing.

Seems to me you want to use RCA cable from sub out to LFE in, and NOT speaker level signals to the sub.
rc05's Avatar rc05
03:03 PM Liked: 58
post #14 of 50
01-12-2012 | Posts: 417
Joined: Oct 2011
Yes, that's the way it's connected now, from receiver sub out to lfe in on the sub. With that connection, the sub is barely audible at any level. I was just trying the RCA red/white from my computer, bypassing the receiver, to see if the sub worked at all, and it did. Since the lfe sub receiver connection isn't working, we were seeing whether speaker level inputs would work, which the manual seems to suggest will, but with a peculiar (maybe not) wiring method.
YeuEmMaiMai's Avatar YeuEmMaiMai
03:12 PM Liked: 11
post #15 of 50
01-12-2012 | Posts: 1,076
Joined: Apr 2002
not sure what to think of that as they are obviously not filtering out the LFE to send to the sub and the rest to the mains....

typically the input goes into the sub which has an internal crossover to route LFE to sub amp and then route the rest to the mains. The variable high cut would then be used to blend the sub into the mains...

typical sub back panel where you can see speaker level input and output



inside the sub it goes like this
speaker in goes to variable crossover with everything above the high cut sent to mains and everything below sent to sub amp.

it will work fine for your diagram but I am not sure how the high cut would work???
rc05's Avatar rc05
03:17 PM Liked: 58
post #16 of 50
01-12-2012 | Posts: 417
Joined: Oct 2011
Yes that's what I was thinking a little. I guess my main question is if it's safe to wire the sub and left/right speakers according to the diagram I posted above. I can then see how the sub sounds wired like that and if it's ok or not
JHAz's Avatar JHAz
03:30 PM Liked: 176
post #17 of 50
01-12-2012 | Posts: 4,117
Joined: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by rc05 View Post

Yes that's what I was thinking a little. I guess my main question is if it's safe to wire the sub and left/right speakers according to the diagram I posted above. I can then see how the sub sounds wired like that and if it's ok or not

It should be fine. The sub will present a VERY high impedance (likely over 1000 ohms) to the left and right speaker inputs to convert them into line level. The sub will use effectively zero power from teh receiver, and the mains will get essentially all the power. The sub will use its own amp to raise the volume. Turn off bass management (no crossovers for main speakers) and if it's crossover point is adjustable and you want to try to tune it, you want the sub to roll in below the point where the mains roll off.

BTW, you may or may not get the LFE channel, (the .1 on a 5.1 DVD) with this approach, depending on whether the Yamaha attempts to mix it into the front speakers.
YeuEmMaiMai's Avatar YeuEmMaiMai
03:46 PM Liked: 11
post #18 of 50
01-12-2012 | Posts: 1,076
Joined: Apr 2002
^ should be an option to send LFE to SUB, SUB+MAIN, or MAIN only
rc05's Avatar rc05
04:21 PM Liked: 58
post #19 of 50
01-12-2012 | Posts: 417
Joined: Oct 2011
Ok that sounds great. I'll give it a try and report back. One last settings check, on the receiver, turn subwoofer Off, set front l/r speaker size to Large, and bass management Off

Thanks a lot for your help!
rc05's Avatar rc05
01:33 PM Liked: 58
post #20 of 50
01-14-2012 | Posts: 417
Joined: Oct 2011
Ok, well I tried connecting it to speaker level inputs and it didn't work. I'm going to double check the connections now. I did, however, plug the sub into a different receiver through its LFE input/output, and with the other receiver, the sub worked properly. So it must be the Yamaha. Thanks for all your help!
YeuEmMaiMai's Avatar YeuEmMaiMai
01:52 PM Liked: 11
post #21 of 50
01-14-2012 | Posts: 1,076
Joined: Apr 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by rc05 View Post

Ok that sounds great. I'll give it a try and report back. One last settings check, on the receiver, turn subwoofer Off, set front l/r speaker size to Large, and bass management Off

Thanks a lot for your help!

if you want to use the line level inputs you would have to set mains (well all speakers actually) to SMALL, turn subwoofer ON and bass management ON

Typically when you turn bass management on you should get access to a new menu that offers stuff like

LFE: mains, mains+sub, or sub only
LFE Level: typically -10 to 0 dB

and in the speaker level menu you can set the sub anywhere from -10 to 0 dB (different receiver models may have different ranges)

Once you have that setup, reply back

Edit: found your manual and it on page 49 it shows how to manually setup your speakers. This is the sequence I would use, personally, but you can do it how you want.

1. Go to setup menu -> speaker setup -> config->Subwoofer. This should be set to ON and all other speakers set to SMALL

2. Setup menu->Speaker Setup->Level->Subwoofer and set to the highest it lets you (for now)

3. Setup menu -> Speaker setup -> Config-> Crossover and set your crossover to what is recommended for your speakers (the default is 80Hz on the receiver)

After you have confirmed your settings do a test by

4. Setup menu -> Speaker setup -> Test Tone (on or off)

Adjust Sub as needed by following step # 2 above (I am not sure receiver will generate test tone when you navigate away from that menu, if it does when you are done adjusting just return to test tone menu item and select off).

Most importantly make sure that if your sub is using auto sense on and off to disable it or lower the sensitivity needed to activate the sub. Your manual seems to indicate that that the receiver may have troubles with it. From page 70 left side botton No sound from subwoofer Turn the subwoofer power on. If the subwoofer includes an Auto Power Off function, then lower the Auto Power Off sensitivity settings.

My Yamaha YST-SW215 has an "auto on" feature and I just plain disabled it as it didn't work well for me. This control will typically be found on the back of the sub.
rc05's Avatar rc05
02:22 PM Liked: 58
post #22 of 50
01-14-2012 | Posts: 417
Joined: Oct 2011
Thanks for replying. It turns out that on this Yamaha, the only "bass management" is something like sub only or mains + sub. They call it "Extra Bass" and it doesn't open a new LFE menu to adjust the levels.

Sorry to be confusing, but here's the two ways I'm trying this
1) Connect sub to receiver via LFE input/output. On the receiver, crossover set to 80 Hz, Subwoofer On, All other speakers set to Small. If I turn the sub to max volume, I can get a noticeable thud, but it's only barely noticeable over the rest of the speakers. When I connected via LFE to a different receiver, the sub was loud with the sub volume knob only at halfway.

2) Speaker level inputs
Connecting sub speaker level input R/L to the same R/L as my mains. On the receiver, subwoofer set to Off, Front L/F are forced to Large, crossover still at 80Hz on both the receiver and the sub. I can only hear the sub if I press my ear against the sub, with its volume knob turned all the way up. Turning the crossover knob all the way up seems to help.

If you need more information, just let me know. I think it's safe to assume that the receiver is the problem here, not the sub, right? If I've exhausted all my options in getting this thing to work, then that's fine, I can live without a sub until I get a new receiver. I really appreciate all your help, I wouldn't know where to start!
YeuEmMaiMai's Avatar YeuEmMaiMai
02:43 PM Liked: 11
post #23 of 50
01-14-2012 | Posts: 1,076
Joined: Apr 2002
Set all ur speakers to LARGE not just the front ones if you use the speaker level inputs on your suib. and also turn the sub OFF in the config menu

I'm sorry I do not have your particular model of receiver so I am unfamillar with it......and quite obviously fumbling through the manual
rc05's Avatar rc05
02:50 PM Liked: 58
post #24 of 50
01-14-2012 | Posts: 417
Joined: Oct 2011
No problem, I appreciate your help! I tried that and no change. In fact, the sub doesn't even come back on from auto off when I start playing something. Connecting through the LFE in/out worked better, but it's just not loud at all even with receiver sub level turned up and sub volume knob turned up.
robollama's Avatar robollama
06:05 PM Liked: 10
post #25 of 50
07-03-2012 | Posts: 27
Joined: Aug 2007
I'm running into the same problem.... Yamaha receiver outputting hardly any bass to the sub. Did you ever figure it out?
altitudearts's Avatar altitudearts
03:51 PM Liked: 10
post #26 of 50
07-31-2012 | Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2012
Hi Gang,

Boy, was I happy to find you guys. I had the same problem, called Yamaha US (714) 522-9105 and they walked me through a global reset of the receiver. This undoes the YPAO settings, which were screwing up my sub level. (And I guess that's why my LFE/SUB level adjustment was grayed out.)

****************************************************************************************************************

Resetting: http://faq.yamaha.com/us/en/article/audio-visual/av-receivers-amps/rx/rx-v671_black_u/5795/7138/

or

Resetting/Initializing the receiver to factory settings

Warning: This will erase all settings and return the unit to its original factory settings.

Note: This procedure is done on the front panel of the receiver only.

1. Set the unit to Standby by pressing the Power button.
2. While holding down the Straight button, press the Power button.
3. SP IMP. 8 Ohm Min (Or 6 ohm) will come up on the Front Panel.
4. Press the Right Program Arrow button repeatedly until INIT-CANCEL comes up.
5. Press the Straight Button repeatedly until INIT-ALL comes up.
6. Press the Standby button to turn off the receiver.
7. The next time the receiver is powered on, the factory settings will take effect.

****************************************************************************************************************

No biggie, as I'm running a 2.1 system here.

Anyway, as soon as the YPAO was undone, all was well. Instead of an LFE level adjustment, it gives you the option of trimming that channel up in db. So I did that first, made sure it worked, but ended up leaving it at 0db, and leaving my sub, an Infinity 8", at about 60%.

Also, if you set your front speakers to "large" (recommended for 6" or bigger drivers) you ALSO have the option of turning on "extra bass" in the setup>speaker>configuration menu.

Hope that helps!

-Pauly
Sunny Colorado
cheritoga
06:44 AM Liked: 0
post #27 of 50
06-20-2014 | Posts: 3
Joined: Jun 2014
Hi everyone

nice to meet you . I have a very similar problem, yet none of the solutions worked for me. Here's the deal:

Yamaha rx-v675 receiver
Dali Zensor 1 fronts
Dali Zensor center
BK XLS-200 subwoofer

I set sub cross-over at max, low gain mid-way, LFE filter out to let receiver drive the bass (as per manual), phase to 0. Ran YPAO, it found the speakers large, found the subwoofer, set cross-over to 40 Hz, level to 0db for all, distances correct. Subwoofer volume was barely audible. I changed speakers to small, cross-over at 80hz. No change. Moved it a bit in the room back and forth - no change.
Ran test tones - speakers audible, sub barely a very discreet rumble.
Turned level up to +10db, the sub became audible, but not sure it's "healthy", and not sure it's a correct sound (have no experience with this stuff). Shouldn't it work with the level at 0db?

Did a factory reset, ran another YPAO, same results as before. Then ran another YPAO with sub gain know down around a quarter, it set the sub at +10db and speakers at -6.5db. Odd.

Tried different sources, net radio, HDTV via HDMI, PS3 movie, no big difference. Tried pure direct (although i know that has no sub, just to see the difference), tried 7.1, tried all PEQ options, all pre-set sound options - nothing. I even switched the power cable in the socket 180 degrees as I saw on one thread. Nothing. Connections as in the image below. Light on the back of the sub is red - does that have to be green?





Tried Sub 2 from the receiver, tried Left connection on the sub, to no avail.

To see if the sub works with another source I hooked it to a media player, white audio out - my ears hurt from the sound, 'cause i forgot to turn the volume down - it works, very loud.

There MUST be something in the receiver settings, I refuse to believe the receiver is faulty - 3 months old, bought new. But I have no more ideas, and Tom from BK doesn't either - he's been very helpful but we couldn't crack it. The sub needs only 0.01V to be driven, Yamahas are supposed to give 0.7V. Sub doesn't have "auto on" as far as I can tell.

What to do? I haven't come to terms with leaving the sub at +10db, even so it is not too loud. I'll do a sub crawl but placement can't be the issue, I don't hear much of an improvement regardless where I stand in the room.

Room is rectangular, closed, speakers by the short wall, subwoofer at the right, long wall around the middle, close to the receiver (don't have a long enough cable just yet to move it to the corner). Listening position against the glass window and door - i know it's not an ideal arrangement, but it will have to do. Approximate layout here:

Has any of you had a similar combination sorted out?
Thank you so much in advance for any ideas!
MichaelJHuman's Avatar MichaelJHuman
09:28 AM Liked: 125
post #28 of 50
06-20-2014 | Posts: 18,999
Joined: Nov 2006
Using the test tones as a guide, you should be able to get the subwoofer to the same level as the other channels. If not, and the subwoofer is working ( and it sounds like it's working,) it may be that the receiver is not working properly and needs service.
cheritoga
02:21 PM Liked: 0
post #29 of 50
06-20-2014 | Posts: 3
Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelJHuman View Post
Using the test tones as a guide, you should be able to get the subwoofer to the same level as the other channels. If not, and the subwoofer is working ( and it sounds like it's working,) it may be that the receiver is not working properly and needs service.
Thank you Mike. The test tone for the subwoofer, even at +10db, is way below the speakers (at 0db). During the YPAO it is louder, but not as loud as the speakers. What could be wrong? I dread having to send it to service...
MichaelJHuman's Avatar MichaelJHuman
03:32 PM Liked: 125
post #30 of 50
06-20-2014 | Posts: 18,999
Joined: Nov 2006
Someone else had a problem like this. I think they ended up with a new receiver. So never found out what was wrong.

I expect electronics that power up and last a month to last years, but sadly that's not always the case.

Triple check all connections. I realize there's only one connection to the sub, but sometimes people will accidentally connect the subwoofer to the wrong output. Make sure you check that carefully.

I can see why you dread service, and there's lots of horror stories about service. But I don't know what else to recommend as it does not seem to be working properly and if you can't find any user mistake, sounds like it's broke.

Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3