Marantz Remote Control Receiver - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 01-15-2012, 03:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
TommyV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 2,530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Marantz amp we purchased uses an RCA connection for remote control. I cannot find a compatible IR receiver that has RCA output for the Marantz. Is there a device that works with the Marantz using the RCA input on the back?

Why did they not use regular 3.5mm?
TommyV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 01-15-2012, 11:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Xantech makes a compatible RC5 type device, but why not just use an IR flasher on the front?

B>
Brian B is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 01-16-2012, 01:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
walbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyV View Post

The Marantz amp we purchased uses an RCA connection for remote control. I cannot find a compatible IR receiver that has RCA output for the Marantz. Is there a device that works with the Marantz using the RCA input on the back?

Why did they not use regular 3.5mm?

It should have a standard IR input as well; the RCA jack is for RC5 (which is their own thing; it's designed to connect the receiver to amplifiers and some other components). You can likely get converters (As someone has mentioned; I don't know anything about that though).

An IR flasher is probably easier overall - just bypass the whole thing.

On the SR7005, for example, there's "remote control" I/O (which is RC-5), and "Flasher" in (which is what you want). On older models it may be labeled differently.
walbert is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 01-16-2012, 01:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
TommyV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 2,530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by walbert View Post

It should have a standard IR input as well; the RCA jack is for RC5 (which is their own thing; it's designed to connect the receiver to amplifiers and some other components). You can likely get converters (As someone has mentioned; I don't know anything about that though).

An IR flasher is probably easier overall - just bypass the whole thing.

On the SR7005, for example, there's "remote control" I/O (which is RC-5), and "Flasher" in (which is what you want). On older models it may be labeled differently.

I am already using the IR eye on the front of the unit and it is not working very well with volume control. I am not sure if the emitter is bad but I am using the harmony RF setup that comes with the 900. For some reason the Marantz is not responding very well to volume control. It would be nice to be able to bypass the IR on the front and send all the commands through a cable the connects to the back. It would also look better.
TommyV is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 01-18-2012, 04:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
walbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyV View Post

I am already using the IR eye on the front of the unit and it is not working very well with volume control. I am not sure if the emitter is bad but I am using the harmony RF setup that comes with the 900. For some reason the Marantz is not responding very well to volume control. It would be nice to be able to bypass the IR on the front and send all the commands through a cable the connects to the back. It would also look better.

Which Marantz do you have?
walbert is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 01-19-2012, 08:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
TommyV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 2,530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by walbert View Post


which marantz do you have?

pm8004
TommyV is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 01-19-2012, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
walbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Unfortunately, that unit only offers RC-5; if your flasher isn't working properly you'll need the converter would be my guess.
walbert is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 01-21-2012, 03:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
TommyV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 2,530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by walbert View Post

Unfortunately, that unit only offers RC-5; if your flasher isn't working properly you'll need the converter would be my guess.

Does the RC-5 work with the PM8004?

I replaced the logitech IR/RF system with a Sewell IR repeater and it seems to be working well now. It was a waste to get the 900, I would have rather got the Harmony One.
TommyV is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 01-21-2012, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Yeah...don't you see the orange RCA remote plugs in the back of the unit? Don't you have a manual? It should all be explained in there...

B.
Brian B is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 01-21-2012, 06:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
TommyV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 2,530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian B View Post

Yeah...don't you see the orange RCA remote plugs in the back of the unit? Don't you have a manual? It should all be explained in there...

B.

Yes read the original post
TommyV is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 01-21-2012, 06:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
walbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyV View Post

Does the RC-5 work with the PM8004?

I replaced the logitech IR/RF system with a Sewell IR repeater and it seems to be working well now. It was a waste to get the 900, I would have rather got the Harmony One.

From what I can figure from the Marantz manual, RC-5 is the *only* option for the PM8004 (as silly as that is). So basically that means something like the AV7005 could "control" it and act as an IR bridge.

It's probably just a matter of the original IR repeater not working with whatever freq the Marantz wanted (and oddly, Marantz components usually are the ones that "dislike" repeaters, at least IME).

Glad to hear the Sewell is working at least.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian B View Post

Yeah...don't you see the orange RCA remote plugs in the back of the unit? Don't you have a manual? It should all be explained in there...

walbert is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off