Crown XLS-1500 hook-up Q's - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-16-2012, 06:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Thunderheader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

Alright I have kind of a newb question regarding integrating a Crown XLS 1500 into my HT setup.

Avr: Onrkyo TX-NR809
Front L/R Polk TSi 500
Center Polk TSi CS20
Rear L/R Polk Monitor 50
Surround Back L/R older Technics
Sub SVS PB13-Ultra x 2

So my problem is figuring out how to hook this amp up, I want to power the TSi500's with it. In my mind I did not take the learning curve into account, though there is only one way to learn, the manual is not too descriptive.

From the factory it comes in stereo bypass mode; other options are bridged-mono, crossover mode, highpass mode and lowpass mode.

What mode do I want to be using? What would you recommend? I have another one coming into tomorrow that I was going to run the center off of.
Thunderheader is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-16-2012, 07:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
kmannth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Stereo bypass mode. Let the AVR do the crossover business. The amp has a crossover (that is what those other modes are) in it for flexibility you don't seem to need.

You might set you single center channel to "mono" for even more overkill.

Have Fun!
kmannth is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-16-2012, 07:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Thunderheader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There does not seem to be sound coming out of the front l/r, the speakers are connected (bare wire) to the posts on the Crown and I have RCA's to the front pre-outs on the Onkyo. Am I doing something wrong?
Thunderheader is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-16-2012, 07:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Thunderheader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am just playing with the front l/r levels and to be able to get the fronts to 75db I have to raise the level to around +11? Is this how you calibrate with a power amp, since you have more headroom?
Thunderheader is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-16-2012, 07:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Thunderheader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I raised the levels in the Onkyo and adjusted the gain on the Crown to about 75%, it cancels out the SB r/l. They do not show up as hooked up in the Onkyo anymore, why?
Thunderheader is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 03-28-2012, 08:12 PM
Member
 
ALMFamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you ever get this figured out? I am hitting the same issue at the moment and have just started the research process.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ALMFamily is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off