Pioneer VSX-918V No center or surround sound - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 01-31-2012, 07:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rubixcube22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i just recently bought my Pioneer VSX-918V receiver and I just can't seem to get the center or surround sound to work. I went in troubleshooting in the manual and did everything it suggests but i still can't seem to get it to work. If i go into the channel levels where you can test the levels of each speaker i can hear the test sound coming from both the center and the surround speakers, but when i try playing music, watching tv, a movie ect. i get nothing out of them. Any suggestions?
Rubixcube22 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 02-01-2012, 01:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rubixcube22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump
Rubixcube22 is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 02-01-2012, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,526
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Hi Rubixcube22, more info about your setup and settings would help.
JChin is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 02-01-2012, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rubixcube22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
uhhh, I have two Acoustic Audio 300w surround sound speakers, an 150w Acoustic Audio center speaker, a 90w samsung subwoofer, two MA Audio front speakers, and a dual speaker MA Audio Synergy connected. I have my Phillips flatscreen hooked up through DVR/VCR in, my xbox 360 hooked up in CDR/TAPE, and i have my turntable hooked up in AUX. I didn't lower or raise any of the channel levels. I have the subwoofer set at yes, and all the other speakers set at large.
Rubixcube22 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 02-01-2012, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,526
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubixcube22 View Post

I have my Phillips flatscreen hooked up through DVR/VCR in, my xbox 360 hooked up in CDR/TAPE, and i have my turntable hooked up in AUX. I didn't lower or raise any of the channel levels. I have the subwoofer set at yes, and all the other speakers set at large.

Appears you're using RCA (white & red) audio cables. If so that is the reason you're getting 2Ch.
JChin is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 02-01-2012, 05:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rubixcube22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what should i do to fix this?
Rubixcube22 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 02-01-2012, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,526
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 132
For the Xbox 360, connect an optical cable Xbox 360 to receiver OPT-1.

Do you have a cable box or OTA (tv antenna)?
JChin is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 02-01-2012, 09:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rubixcube22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cable box
Rubixcube22 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 02-01-2012, 10:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubixcube22 View Post

uhhh, I have two Acoustic Audio 300w surround sound speakers, an 150w Acoustic Audio center speaker, a 90w samsung subwoofer, two MA Audio front speakers, and a dual speaker MA Audio Synergy connected. I have my Phillips flatscreen hooked up through DVR/VCR in, my xbox 360 hooked up in CDR/TAPE, and i have my turntable hooked up in AUX. I didn't lower or raise any of the channel levels. I have the subwoofer set at yes, and all the other speakers set at large.

first thing, set all your speakers to small and let your subwoofer handle the low frequencies.

second choose a sound mode like Dolby Pro Logic II or DTS:Neo6. Then you'll get sound from all your speakers.

Use optical connections from your cable box if it is HD and optical from Xbox 360 to receiver.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 02-02-2012, 12:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rubixcube22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


choose a sound mode like Dolby Pro Logic II or DTS:Neo6. Then you'll get sound from all your speakers

how do I do that?
Rubixcube22 is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 02-08-2012, 11:50 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rubixcube22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i did exactly what you said. I figured out how to switch it to dolby pro logic and used an optical connection, but i still don't have sound in all my speakers...
Rubixcube22 is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 07-29-2013, 08:00 PM
Newbie
 
lazyydesi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rubix... how did u get this to work? i have a new SC-67 and i can't seem to get the sound on surround or center speakers during the test tone or a movie.

regards,

Hassan
lazyydesi is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off