TV/AVR HDMI Issues - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 02-02-2012, 06:55 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rockitdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rocky Mountains
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This may be an old issue, maybe not. I have an Integra 30.3 AVR connected to my Sony EX55 via HDMI. When I connect my LG BD player via HDMI through the BD input on the Integra, I get quick 1 second flashes of video, then black for 3 seconds or so, then 1 sec video, then black, on and on. If I run the BD directly into the TV, no problem. Changed HDMI's, same issue. This happened with my old Denon AVR, too. That's why I switched to the Integra. So, not the AVR. Not the cables. Took the LG to a Best Buy for Geek Squad help. It did it for them, too into an Insignia TV through a Yamaha AVR. Bad BD player, right? Nope. Replaced the LG with a new PS3 Slim. Same same when connected to the Game input. Tried new firmware for TV. Tried turn-on sequence changes. First the AVR, then the PS3, then the TV. Same same. Tried PS3 first, then AVR, then TV. Same same.

Oh, audio is unaffected. When I go to Pandora, herky jerky one second at a time not being able to see the screen steadily, audio is fine.

I reset the PS3 and connected via red white yellow analog to the AVR. Works fine. I'll settle for this if I can't get the HDMI to work, but it seems a shame to not use HDMI with a BluRay device.

?????????????????

Any help appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
rockitdoc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 02-02-2012, 06:58 AM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
This is becoming more common with the latest updates for devices, which is causing more hdcp handshaking issues. Only way around it, is to use component not hdmi connections for devices.
gregzoll is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 02-02-2012, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,506
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockitdoc View Post

I reset the PS3 and connected via red white yellow analog to the AVR. Works fine. I'll settle for this if I can't get the HDMI to work, but it seems a shame to not use HDMI with a BluRay device.

?????????????????

Any help appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Hi rockitdoc, on the PS3 try turning off "Deep Color/Colour Output (HDMI)" under Display Settings.
JChin is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off