Denon "Vintage" AVR-810 Help needed Plz (Upgrade?) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 14 Old 02-09-2012, 10:24 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have read these forums over the years very avidly and this is always my go-to site for AV questions but have never registered before today. I find myself in a bit of a mental overload when it comes to new components and how to upgrade my system or go about getting sound from the TV to my "vintage" Denon. So many products on the market now as compared to when I made my Denon purchases all those years ago! I am a PC Technician (build/repairs) so have a good grasp on the technological for the most part.

Many years ago (approx 19 or so) I spent a lot of time and effort to make smart purchases regarding the then up and coming dolby pro logic for my "home theatre". With a lot of information backing me up I purchased a Denon Avr-810 (80 watts RMS per channel in stereo, with an additional 30 watts to the centre, 15 watts to the rears.) with the Denon 5 disc cd turntable, tape deck and laser disc player. I then purchased an Energy AS-90 powered sub and 2x Tannoy C-10 (fronts), 2x C-6 (rears) and 2x C8 (used as center chan) as speakers. These Tannoys were the older Arena series that use the ICT concept that had a lot of the performance of the pricier Dual Concentric series monitors at that time. I also have hooked up a JVC SVHS HRS7500U, Toshiba SD5109 dual tray DVD player, and my recent purchase of LG BD555C blueray player.