Video problem with Onkyo TX-NR609 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 02-10-2012, 05:01 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Jason Merrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just got a brand new Onkyo TX-NR609 from Amazon, after like 4 hours of taking apart my old system and setting everything up, I turn it on and get no picture through the HDMI out. I have tried turning everything off and back on in different orders, tried resetting the receiver with the VCR/DVR+Power button to no avail.

The thing is I briefly see ONKYO on my TV when I turn it on, or sometimes when I switch inputs on the TV but after about 10 seconds the ONKYO goes away and the tv says No Signal. I can hear audio through the receiver, just no picture being sent out to my TV.

I'm still searching this forum and others for possible solutions, but I figured I'd post here while I'm looking in case there is some simple solution I'm missing.

Thanks in advance.
Jason Merrick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 02-10-2012, 05:32 AM
Member
 
mde8965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Merrick View Post

Just got a brand new Onkyo TX-NR609 from Amazon, after like 4 hours of taking apart my old system and setting everything up, I turn it on and get no picture through the HDMI out. I have tried turning everything off and back on in different orders, tried resetting the receiver with the VCR/DVR+Power button to no avail.

The thing is I briefly see ONKYO on my TV when I turn it on, or sometimes when I switch inputs on the TV but after about 10 seconds the ONKYO goes away and the tv says No Signal. I can hear audio through the receiver, just no picture being sent out to my TV.

I'm still searching this forum and others for possible solutions, but I figured I'd post here while I'm looking in case there is some simple solution I'm missing.

Thanks in advance.

Try a different HDMI cable if you have one. Also make sure the input in the TV is set corrently.

Too many toys
mde8965 is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 02-10-2012, 05:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Jason Merrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Could it be a cable even though I saw the ONKYO logo on the screen? The TV input is not the problem.
Jason Merrick is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 02-10-2012, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,526
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Hi Jason Merrick, maybe more info on your equipment (sources, monitor), connection type and settings might narrow down the problem.
JChin is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 02-10-2012, 07:39 AM
Member
 
Midnight Smoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am so new not sure I should even attempt to offer advice. Is the HDMI port assigned in the receiver?
Midnight Smoke is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 02-10-2012, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,526
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midnight Smoke View Post

I am so new not sure I should even attempt to offer advice. Is the HDMI port assigned in the receiver?

Hi Midnight Smoke, out of the box there's no need to assign when using the default settings, it should simply be plug and play.
JChin is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 02-10-2012, 08:20 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Jason Merrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Amazingly enough, I apparently found the one bad cable Monoprice will make this year. I had purchased several new HDMI cables, a few 3-footers for devices that were in the same rack as the new receiver and a 12-foot, higher quality premium cable (thicker gauge, mesh casing) to run from the receiver to the TV. Before I was going to call Onkyo, I decided to just switch out the cable to make sure, and my 4-year old Monoprice run o' the mill HDMI cable worked instantly.

Oh well, just when you think the obvious CAN'T be the problem for YOU, it is. Lesson learned. Thanks for the attempts at help though!
Jason Merrick is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 05-23-2012, 04:03 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Jason Merrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Ironic that I find my own old thread when searching for Onkyo TX-NR609 video problem... after just 3.5 months, looks like my Onkyo has blown it's HDMI board. Yesterday it just stopped displaying a picture. Still get audio, but no video.

As much as I've loved Onkyo in the past, it looks like they really have dropped the ball on quality control these days. Won't be recommending Onkyo anymore.

=(
Jason Merrick is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 10-08-2012, 07:33 PM
Newbie
 
vljenkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe my HDMI board has also gone out after 8mos and it looks like there isn't a service center in Phx. Ugh!!
vljenkin is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 10-09-2012, 02:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Jason Merrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
When I had the video issue with my HDMI I was able to solve the problem with a hardware reset of the receiver (Press and Hold the VCR/DVR button then press POWER). The downside is you lose all of your configuration settings and will have to set it all up like it's new again. After having to do this twice, I changed my HDMI configuration to always send my DirecTV through the HDMI when the receiver is off. Since setting it up that way, I haven't had another HDMI failure.
so2r and Solidsnake316sr like this.
Jason Merrick is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 01-20-2013, 04:40 PM
Newbie
 
so2r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for saying how to reset the NR609. I had not read that in the manual and you saved me from buying a replacement. My HDMI output died this weekend and I thought it had died after 9 months of ownership but with a reset, I'm back in business. I wish there was a way to store all the unit's settings but I have not researched to see if that is possible.

Thanks again for the post!!!!
so2r is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 03-02-2013, 03:30 PM
Newbie
 
TimTamTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This has happened to me NUMEROUS times. You have to reset the unit and it's a pain in the butt because you lose all of your settings. Basic settings are not easy to re-do, but inputting 30 My Favorites presets on the NET function sucks. They should fix this in an update or do a recall - they know it's an issue and they've done nothing to help. I have spoken to a half dozen people who have had this issue or know about it.
TimTamTom is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 03-02-2013, 06:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I had to do the reset today to restore audio passthrough when the receiver is off. This is with my "new to me" 609 refurb I just got from ShopOnkyo 2 days ago. PITA to have to do all the settings and Audessy all over again. Sure hope this isn't a frequent problem.rolleyes.gif

Ed
old corps is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Nr609 7 2 Channel Network Thx Certified A V Receiver
Gear in this thread - Nr609 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off