Is this a BAD idea (order Pre/Pro from Hong Kong)? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 02-13-2012, 09:54 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I badly need a new Pre/Pro and was waiting for the new Outlaw 978, but gave up after 18 months of delays. I turned my sights to the Onkyo PR-SC5508, only to find the horrifying "Onkyo XX08 failure" thread , so I decided to wait for the new version, the PR-SC5509. It was released in Europe in October so it should've been here around the same time. Wrong! February now and still not in sight on this continent; Onkyo H.O. says we MAY see it in Q2/Q3 . Can't wait that long!

I DID find a Hong Kong dealer that would ship a 5509 to me in Canada. Total cost landed at my door is less than the best price I found here for the older 5508 . But the unit is 220-240V, so would require a step-up transformer. I have no experience with such a device and ask if anyone has any experience or advice on running A/V equipment in this manner. Any risks/downside I should be aware of ?

I'm sure that my warranty would not be valid here, and any warranty service would need to be done via a return to the dealer in Hong Kong. But since my savings would be substantial (~$800 I am guessing vs what the 5509 will cost upon release in Canada), in the event that I DO need any service, I would still break even considering shipping charges of $220 each direction.

Any thoughts? Am I crazy to do this? Any other Audyssey MultEQ XT32 capable Pre/Pro's available here, now, in the $2000-3000 range that I should consider??
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 02-13-2012, 10:03 AM

Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrRx View Post