New Receiver? with new 3D TV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 02-16-2012, 02:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
trusaleen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im looking for some guidance, im about to pull the trigger on an LG 55LW5600 3d on Amazon. When I remember that my receiver is several years old. I have an HK 247 receiver. I dont believe that its 3D compatible. Can anyone recommend a good budget 3d receiver. Sony????

Thanks for your help
trusaleen1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 02-16-2012, 02:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Tweaked05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by trusaleen1 View Post

Im looking for some guidance, im about to pull the trigger on an LG 55LW5600 3d on Amazon. When I remember that my receiver is several years old. I have an HK 247 receiver. I dont believe that its 3D compatible. Can anyone recommend a good budget 3d receiver. Sony????

Thanks for your help

Instead of getting a cheap receiver just for 3D, perhaps you could consider getting a BD player with dual HDMI ports. You could run one HDMI to your TV directly for 3D, and the other to your HK 247 for audio.
Tweaked05 is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 02-16-2012, 02:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
trusaleen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With that set up how would I run it for my cable tv? Cable video to TV and then audio to receiver?
trusaleen1 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 02-16-2012, 02:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Luisfc1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 15
i would do what tweaked said but if you insist on budget receiver people like the Pioneer VSX-521-K 5.1

http://www.amazon.com/Pioneer-VSX-52...9431665&sr=8-1
Luisfc1972 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 02-16-2012, 02:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
trusaleen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok guys thanks for the help, im just trying to see how I would connect everything for example, my cable box, my PS3, and a dual HDMI player. How would all those connections work on my current receiver so they could all play 3d?
trusaleen1 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 02-16-2012, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Luisfc1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 15
actually your ps3 slim can do 3d
Luisfc1972 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 02-16-2012, 02:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
trusaleen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do have the PS3 slim. But im still not sure how the set up would work. My cable box goes through my HK too.
trusaleen1 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 02-16-2012, 02:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Luisfc1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by trusaleen1 View Post

Ok guys thanks for the help, im just trying to see how I would connect everything for example, my cable box, my PS3, and a dual HDMI player. How would all those connections work on my current receiver so they could all play 3d?

check out this thread

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1348030
Luisfc1972 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 02-16-2012, 03:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
trusaleen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok so it looks like I can run it through my ps3 for picture but not get true loss less sound because I have to connect via optical.
trusaleen1 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 02-16-2012, 04:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by trusaleen1 View Post

With that set up how would I run it for my cable tv? Cable video to TV and then audio to receiver?

How many HDMI inputs does your TV have? If it's 3D, I assume it has at least two.

You can run one HDMI from a dual HDMI player to the TV for video, run the second to the receiver. Anything else can just run through the receiver like normal, and out to the TV. Two HDMI cables run into the TV, one from the player, one from the receiver.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 02-16-2012, 04:17 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,313
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1426 Post(s)
Liked: 1606
The PS3 cannot pass Dolby TrueHD with 3D video. You can connect the PS3 (HDMI) to the TV with optical to the AVR. It's doubtful you can tell the difference between lossless audio and the higher bitrate DD/DTS on BDs over optical.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #12 of 12 Old 03-04-2012, 12:02 AM
Member
 
gogo_vs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would keep the old receiver and use HDMI for video (BD,PS3,...->TV) and optical/coaxial for audio (BD,PS3,...->Receiver) or am I missing something?
Is there a diferrence in audio quality/delay if you use optical/coaxial over HDMI?
gogo_vs is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off