Getting the most out of my TSi's - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 13 Old 02-18-2012, 10:16 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, Im a newb, I have TSi 400's, cs10, owm3 for rears, and a klipsch sub 10. Powered by a pioneer 521. I am using monster speaker cable and my room is 14' x 23'. My system sounds good but Im not ''blown away'' when listening to music at high volumes. I listen to music in 5 channel stereo. It seem to sound the best. I wanna be able to play my music louder without compromising sound quality. I realize my amp isnt all that great.
My question is, will a better receiver with more watts help me out? I gonna stick with this system for a while and wanna get the most out of it. I was looking a the pioneer 1121. It has 30 more watts per channel and on sale for $450. Is that enough to make a significant difference? Do I need more wattage? Im willing to upgrade the receiver and the rears. What about adding the 6th and 7th channel?
Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 02-18-2012, 10:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 348
5 channel stereo isn't the best sound mode to use if you want your system to sound its best. I only use that for background music at parties. For serious music listening I'd just use plain stereo.

Those Polks tend to compress at high volumes, so unless you plan to replace all your speakers you're stuck on that one.

You also might be better off with a better receiver. The 521 is Pioneer's entry level model. The 1121 should be better but also look at something like the Onkyo NR709 or Denon 2112 which should be around the same price range.

People also love Marantz receivers. Maybe a refurb for accessories4less could be in your budget.
http://www.accessories4less.com/make...AirPlay/1.html