Technics SH-AC500D Issue - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 02-24-2012, 02:26 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
aerial_22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having an issue with my my Technics SA-AX6/SH-AC500D setup. When I initially turn on my TV and then my receiver and digital sound processor I get a lot of popping coming from my speakers. I have to keep adjusting the overall output level on the digital processor until the problem finally goes away. This issue only occurs at start-up. Once the system has been on the problem never occurs again. If I turn everything off and come back later in the day it will repeat the same issue. It seems to primarily happen on digital input 1 that is connected to my Tivo box via an optical cable. It only happens when I am connected to a digital souce. This never happen when I use the tuner to listen to the radio. Any thoughts on what could be causing the issue?
aerial_22 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 02-27-2012, 11:22 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
aerial_22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump for reply. Any suggestions would be great!
aerial_22 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 02-27-2012, 12:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
commsysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,284
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 256
It sounds as if you have a bad chip or maybe a bad solder joint somewhere in the digital processor circuitry. That may be a tough one for a technician to find.

If you are lucky, maybe it will get more persistent, which should make troubleshooting easier.



Quote:
Originally Posted by aerial_22 View Post

I am having an issue with my my Technics SA-AX6/SH-AC500D setup. When I initially turn on my TV and then my receiver and digital sound processor I get a lot of popping coming from my speakers. I have to keep adjusting the overall output level on the digital processor until the problem finally goes away. This issue only occurs at start-up. Once the system has been on the problem never occurs again. If I turn everything off and come back later in the day it will repeat the same issue. It seems to primarily happen on digital input 1 that is connected to my Tivo box via an optical cable. It only happens when I am connected to a digital souce. This never happen when I use the tuner to listen to the radio. Any thoughts on what could be causing the issue?

commsysman is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 02-27-2012, 01:49 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
aerial_22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks commsysman! I was kind of thinking something along those lines. I found an article on line with a similar issue that ended up being a bad capacitor. I have a technician I work with that restores old A/V equipment on the side. I may take it to him and have him take a look at it for me.
aerial_22 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off