Setting up zone 2 on yamaha rx-a800 help needed!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 02-26-2012, 01:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tc51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So i just purchased some B&W M1s to use for a 2.0 system for my music. I wanted to connect them to the zone 2 on my receiver and play my cds through my sony Blu ray player. I hooked everything up, selected the 7.1 + zone on my receiver settings and popped in a cd and nothing. When i turn the zone on it says input dock, which is confusing since i don't have a dock. Then i read that you need audio cables going from the source into the receiver, but there is no input for the zone only outputs. Just wondering if what I'm trying to do can't be done or I'm missing something, any help would be appreciated!


Thanks
Tom
tc51 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 02-26-2012, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,500
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Hi tc51, Zone 2 can only player analog audio so connect a set of RCA cables (red & white) from BD player to either AUDIO-1 or AUDIO-2.
JChin is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 02-26-2012, 03:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tc51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post

Hi tc51, Zone 2 can only player analog audio so connect a set of RCA cables (red & white) from BD player to either AUDIO-1 or AUDIO-2.

Do i need to change any settings on the receiver?
tc51 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 02-26-2012, 04:18 PM
Senior Member
 
UndersAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Set the receiver input selection on your remote control to the corresponding RCA input that you have the Blu-ray player connected. That's it. Easy peasy.
UndersAVS is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-26-2012, 04:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tc51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there anyway to keep the onscreen display of the blu ray player? When i change the output it just goes to the receivers default picture
tc51 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-26-2012, 05:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tc51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Got it!!! took a little playing around with the settings but i finally figured it out thanks for the help guys!
tc51 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Rx A800 7 1 Channel Audio Video Receiver Black
Gear in this thread - A800 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off