Help! RCA analog out from digital in for audio - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 03-01-2012, 12:09 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mkedda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
HELP!!!

I have an Apple TV 2 that outputs audio via toslink and video via hdmi into my receiver. I have an amplifier that powers whole house audio but requires RCA analog in.

How do I get analog audio out of the receiver into my amplifier?

Thanks!
mkedda is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 03-01-2012, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,967
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkedda View Post

HELP!!!

I have an Apple TV 2 that outputs audio via toslink and video via hdmi into my receiver. I have an amplifier that powers whole house audio but requires RCA analog in.

How do I get analog audio out of the receiver into my amplifier?

Thanks!


U need 1 of these..

http://www.amazon.com/Digital-Optica...sxp_grid_i_0_1

Just my $0.02...
M Code is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 03-01-2012, 12:22 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mkedda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks! looks like I would also need a Toslink splitter.

Currently, My receiver cannot handle HDMI audio. So, I need one Toslink input into the receiver and another Toslink to RCA analog to my amplifier.

Is it possible to reliable split 1 toslink signal into 2?
mkedda is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 03-01-2012, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 4,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkedda View Post

Thanks! looks like I would also need a Toslink splitter.

Currently, My receiver cannot handle HDMI audio. So, I need one Toslink input into the receiver and another Toslink to RCA analog to my amplifier.

Is it possible to reliable split 1 toslink signal into 2?

Does your receiver have a pre-out?
bommai is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 03-07-2012, 12:32 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mkedda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have the denon AVR-1709.. The manual says it has a ...

Listening with Headphones

Plug the headphones into the PHONES jack on the main unit.
The sound from the speakers and pre-out connectors is automatically cut."


Form the sounds of that, I could do stereo out from the reciever into the amplifier and this would meet my needs?
mkedda is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 03-08-2012, 02:59 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,473
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1975 Post(s)
Liked: 1747
Not sure what the headphone has to do with it ... your best options are likely either (a) TOSLink splitter, or (b) Optical --> analog converter from ATV2 to the 1709, w/RCA cables connecting the 1709 Zone 2 preouts to your external whole house amp.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off