Denon AVR-2809CI Zone II issue - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-11-2012, 09:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Eric618's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys,

I have a Denon AVR-2809CI receiver that I love, but I'm having an issue... I am running a preamp out to another receiver for duplicated signal to zone II in another room. At high volumes, during intense bass passages, the receiver shuts down into protection mode. When Zone II is turned off at the receiver however, it never shuts down, regardless of volume level.

Am I doing something wrong, or is there an issue somewhere? Any ideas would be GREATLY appreciated! Thanks!
Eric618 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-13-2012, 06:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Eric618's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No ideas?
Eric618 is offline  
Old 03-13-2012, 07:29 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,444
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1963 Post(s)
Liked: 1745
Are you using the FL/FR preouts or the dedicated Zone 2 preouts? If Zone 2 preouts, do you have it set up as "fixed" or "variable" volume control? What volume is the external amp set to? What source are you playing and how is it connected? What is the volume when the 2809 shuts down?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 03-13-2012, 08:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Eric618's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Are you using the FL/FR preouts or the dedicated Zone 2 preouts? If Zone 2 preouts, do you have it set up as "fixed" or "variable" volume control? What volume is the external amp set to? What source are you playing and how is it connected? What is the volume when the 2809 shuts down?

THANKS for your response...

I honestly don't remember which preouts to the other amp I'm using. I'll check when I get home later tonight.

It's set up as a fixed volume.

The other amp is set fairly quiet. It's used for the kitchen, so the purpose isn't for volume.

This has happened on Blu-Ray source, and MP3 player source. The Blu-Ray is connected via HDMI, the MP3 player is connected via 1/8 inch to RCA ins.

The 2809 only shuts down when I'm pushing it. How hard depends on the source disc (some movies kill it at moderate volumes, while others it takes some higher volumes). On the MP3 player, as long as I have the output volume down fairly low I have no issues.. Like I said, when Zone II is turned off, I can drive the 2809 very hard with no issues whatsoever.

Does that help?
Eric618 is offline  
Old 03-13-2012, 08:21 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,444
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1963 Post(s)
Liked: 1745
What source audio is playing to Zone 2 when it shuts down as HDMI audio cannot go to Zone 2?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 03-13-2012, 10:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Eric618's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

What source audio is playing to Zone 2 when it shuts down as HDMI audio cannot go to Zone 2?

I honestly don't remember how I have it set up (I did it quite a while ago), but can't an HDMI signal still be sent via RCA preamp outs?
Eric618 is offline  
Old 03-13-2012, 10:33 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,444
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1963 Post(s)
Liked: 1745
Via the main zone preouts yes, but not via the Zone 2 preouts, which is why I asked the question. But if you're using the main zone preouts, you're not using Zone 2 at all so not sure why you're even turning it on?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 03-13-2012, 10:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Eric618's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Via the main zone preouts yes, but not via the Zone 2 preouts, which is why I asked the question. But if you're using the main zone preouts, you're not using Zone 2 at all so not sure why you're even turning it on?

I lose signal to the other amp when zone two is shut down, so I must be using the zone 2 pre-outs.

That means that I'm running a component cable (as well as HDMI) from the Blu-Ray player. I remember toying with that idea. That must be how it's run.

Keep in mind, I have the same issue with my MP3 player, which runs 1/8-to RCA ins.

Thanks for your help so far! I'm sorry for the multiple questions. I'm fairly new at this, and not having the ability to run digital outs to zone two made my wiring issues a nightmare.
Eric618 is offline  
Old 03-13-2012, 10:52 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,444
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1963 Post(s)
Liked: 1745
It more likely means you're running either an optical or analog cable from the PS3 as component would be video only. The 2809 can pass PCM 2.0 over optical or digital coax as well as analog 2.0 over RCA to Zone 2. What external amp are you using and what inputs do you have the 2809 preouts connected to on the external amp?

If you're not running a 7.1 in the main zone (or if you are, just as a test, disconnect the rear surround speakers and set AMP ASSIGN to Zone 2), you may want to try letting the 2809 power the kitchen speakers. If it works without the 2809 shutting down, it may mean there is some kind of issue with the external amp.

As a last resort, try resetting the microprocessor (p. 60) with the understanding that it will require you to run AUTO SETUP and reconfigure the AVR again.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 03-13-2012, 12:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Eric618's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

It more likely means you're running either an optical or analog cable from the PS3 as component would be video only. The 2809 can pass PCM 2.0 over optical or digital coax as well as analog 2.0 over RCA to Zone 2. What external amp are you using and what inputs do you have the 2809 preouts connected to on the external amp?

If you're not running a 7.1 in the main zone (or if you are, just as a test, disconnect the rear surround speakers and set AMP ASSIGN to Zone 2), you may want to try letting the 2809 power the kitchen speakers. If it works without the 2809 shutting down, it may mean there is some kind of issue with the external amp.

As a last resort, try resetting the microprocessor (p. 60) with the understanding that it will require you to run AUTO SETUP and reconfigure the AVR again.

The external amp is an Onkyo receiver. Not sure of the model. It's a newer one, but it's entry level. I'm not sure what input I'm using. I was using it as my main receiver before I got the Denon and never had an issue with it, so I don't think that's the problem.

I will try your test tonight. If there was an issue with the speakers or speaker wiring, would that even effect the Denon, seeing as though it's only attached to the Onkyo via RCA cables? I'd think if it was going to shut down an amp, it'd shut down the Onkyo. That's just my uneducated guess though!
Eric618 is offline  
 

Tags
Denon Avr 2809ci 7 1 Channel Multizone Home Theater Receiver
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off