Sony STR-DA5700ES Receiver Review - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 55 Old 10-05-2012, 03:47 PM
Newbie
 
joc6820's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had one for about a month. Haven't really explored all it can do, but it's doing the basics really well. Sounds great on music and movies.
joc6820 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 55 Old 10-05-2012, 08:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
I know there are more owners out there. They must be lurkers. I get a couple messages a week from some of them. The 5700ES has a decent following...smile.gif

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #33 of 55 Old 10-05-2012, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I would hope so. Ive actually had it a week and as easy as it is some of the terminology is quite different from the Onkyos, Dennons, and elites it took some getting used to. A few things missing like thx, DSX, and Sub eq. But after a weeks use I got very used to it and do not really miss those too much. I have a 9.2 set up and use Rotel amps for 5 of the channels. It really sounds great. I am not too fond of the main remote. I liked using my Onkyo remote and set it to run my tv, Cabel, and Blu-ray and it handled most of those functions. This remot so far has me basically beat just a real challange. I love the fact that I can stream video in addition to audio. Great with vudu netflicks etc. Has theyre latest menus and The vudu HD/X is as goot as my sony 790. I just tried analog audio from Pioneer elite 58av and it sounds terrific just two shannel. But the sacd over hdmi is just as great. This unit currently is quite a value at current prices. Hope I see more activity on this thread. As I never used the video processing on my other units I do not miss it and there have been absolutely no HDMI issues so far even with the darbee in line.

william06 is offline  
post #34 of 55 Old 10-06-2012, 01:20 PM
Member
 
Alec88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I've also noticed that HDMI audio quality with the 5700 is good. Having tried HDMI with various receivers (Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo) in the past, I can say that it's much better with this. I can't use H.A.T.S. without a compatible player like the 5400ES but I know someone who has it and says that I won't really need it since I'm using a high quality HDMI cable anyways. No THX on this but the DCS modes are nice.

Any opinions on the Sound Optimizer? I've used hifi gear for my music years ago and I think that when it's on the Sony sounds like a good integrated amplifier with the tone controls set at 0. At first I was getting a little too much bass but after moving the speakers away from the wall a bit it's pretty much neutral sounding now. At least I won't be wondering where my bass is anymore. smile.gif

Sony DA5700ES
PSB Image T5, PSB Image B5, PSB Image B4, PSB Image C4
Alec88 is offline  
post #35 of 55 Old 10-06-2012, 08:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have been running with the sound optimizer off most of the time. Used it on a couple of movies . Most of my music I like two channel. I did compare the analog two channel with the hdmi two channel stereo a couple of times. and I would give the edge a bit to the analog. Just my pure listening opinion. I really have not had it long enough to come to any conclusive decisions though. I just worked my subs down a bit using my RS meter dropped them down about 10db from the sony eq setting.

william06 is offline  
post #36 of 55 Old 10-13-2012, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
am I missing something or is there no source direct mode for audio over hdmi. I know there is for 2channel analog audio. and 5.1 channel analog audio. But what about audio over hdmi.

william06 is offline  
post #37 of 55 Old 10-14-2012, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post

am I missing something or is there no source direct mode for audio over hdmi. I know there is for 2channel analog audio. and 5.1 channel analog audio. But what about audio over hdmi.




Whoops figured it ouy just set it on afd and that gives you the sound as designed dts hd ture hd 5.1 7.1 2.1 etc no other processing

william06 is offline  
post #38 of 55 Old 10-15-2012, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I did find a major issue with this receiver. Its ability to stream Netflix in 5.1 sound. I spent hours with sony and netflix today and wound up totally frustrated with the whole thing. Even though, This unit does not seem to have quite the streaming quality as the current sony blu ray models. I found netflix to buffer frequently and not send anything but 2.0 stereo. Vudu hdx seem to be ok but the pq is better from the sony 790 . I found both the answers from sony and netflix to be quite unsatisfactory.

william06 is offline  
post #39 of 55 Old 10-16-2012, 06:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
I would not use it with Netflix. It does many things right and only misses in a couple areas.

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #40 of 55 Old 10-16-2012, 07:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I understand what you are saying. But it seems that one of Sony's biggest marketing points is this is one of if not the only receiver to stream video. To leave out the ability to stream as well as theyre 790 bd player is a big mistake on theyre high end receiver. My biggest concert is not the fact it does not do 5.1 from net fliks but the fact that I have the highest internet service comcast offers and never had any issues with streaming buffering or taking forever loading or freezing on any of my other devises . Panny plasma, Oppo 93 and sony 790 , is really disconcerting. I really have to believe that something is being missed here. Other than this yes this is probably one of the best receivers out there. I am in hope down the road they will admit there is an issue and adress it. Have you or did you notice this issue. The weird part is that vudu HDX is fine. pq and 5.1 sq on the 5700. I know i am sort of decending on just one issue but being able to use just the one piece of equiptment is really nice and not have to involve a third. Just old and picky I guess.

william06 is offline  
post #41 of 55 Old 10-16-2012, 04:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
You mentioned all those other devices. Is there a reason you would need it to do Netflix? smile.gif

For the price you got it I would not worry much about it. They still could do a firmware update...

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #42 of 55 Old 10-16-2012, 04:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yes. I agree even if I had not so good a deal it is a great receiver. And yes it is a firmware issue . It really is now up to Netflix . The 5800 does have the newer app. This is an annoyance not even close to a deal breaker. I definately believe anyone looking for a good top receiver should give these es receivers a hard consideration . Great ow sq awesome user interface great ease of use and a special #to es install and tech support

william06 is offline  
post #43 of 55 Old 10-16-2012, 06:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post

Yes. I agree even if I had not so good a deal it is a great receiver. And yes it is a firmware issue . It really is now up to Netflix . The 5800 does have the newer app. This is an annoyance not even close to a deal breaker. I definately believe anyone looking for a good top receiver should give these es receivers a hard consideration . Great ow sq awesome user interface great ease of use and a special #to es install and tech support

I may Review the 5800 soon. smile.gif

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #44 of 55 Old 10-16-2012, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Look forward to that.

william06 is offline  
post #45 of 55 Old 10-19-2012, 09:34 AM
Member
 
RTSW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 30
The issue is the netflix app itself and not the streaming capabilities of the 5700ES. I've used Sony's video streaming service and it works perfectly for HD content with 5.1 sound, absolutely zero buffering.

Also I've noticed a lot of people like me have felt the subs are running too hot, this isn't actually a calibration error but one of the settings in the "HDMI Settings" menu. After selecting it you will notice at the top it will have your chosen input and right beneath it will have "Subwoofer Level". The default selection is "auto" and the other choices are 0db and 10db. I've noticed that auto pretty much always runs them 10db hot so make sure you select 0 (you will have to do this for all your inputs).
RTSW is offline  
post #46 of 55 Old 10-19-2012, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hello, I appreciate your post on netflix and the subs., First I followed up on the netflix problem I was having and still have. Mostly the 5.1. I finally got through to the ES installers line and spoke to the reps there. These guys are very knowledgeable and very courteous and patient. After going above and beyone they also discovered the app designed by netflix is of the older variety for the 5700. The 790 bd player I have has the newest app. Seems the BD designers and Receiver designers are different divisions, no one picked up or questioned the app design for the 5700. It is now up to netflix if asked by Sony to either do a firmware update or not. Time will tell. Talking to netflix is useless so far. That being said not having any sony es audio for sometime . I love this receiver and have no issues with anything else. Thanks also for the info on the sub level I will follow that up right away. I have manually turned it down on the tone level adjustment. No way would I belittle this great unit just after seeeing the netflix app on the bd 790 I woulld love to have it on the 5700 one less unit to turn on.

william06 is offline  
post #47 of 55 Old 11-15-2012, 08:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Hspecialist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 22
For the 5700ES owners, I read that the DCAC version is their "Gold" flavor and that there are different levels of the advanced versions of DCAC. It shows that the 5700 has 31 bands of EQ, can you manually go into that and adjust all 31 bands? Very interesting with the ability to mimic some of those Trinnov features, sounds very promising. Owners please chime in on the 31 band eq, thanks!

Hspecialist is offline  
post #48 of 55 Old 11-25-2012, 05:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
dan webster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: western mass.
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Does anyone here know if this receiver can do a 9.2 set up with an external amp. I have front height and rear surrounds. Also can the on screen display over hdmi be turned off. I currently have a yamaha 3000 and the onscreen display is always on over hdmi. It is very annoying.

Dan Webster
Never stop upgrading!

Updated Theater Pictures

dan webster is offline  
post #49 of 55 Old 11-25-2012, 06:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yes does 9.2 with ext amp and set on video pass thru turns off odd
Great receiver.

william06 is offline  
post #50 of 55 Old 12-28-2012, 08:06 PM
Newbie
 
Yamonsony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just ordered mine this week, after reading all this, issues are minor and not significant for me, i just can't wait to recieve it now.
Yamonsony is offline  
post #51 of 55 Old 01-01-2013, 10:04 AM
Newbie
 
Yamonsony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i need information please does this amp support aac audio files?
Yamonsony is offline  
post #52 of 55 Old 02-06-2013, 08:59 AM
Member
 
MNSACD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I was wondering if anyone could help me with a question. I recently got this receiver. I have a Sony SCDXA5400ES SACD player connected. I have HDMI running to HDMI 3 input and the stereo RCA connections running to the SACD/CD input on the receiver. There is a setting on the front of the receiver to choose between digital and analog inputs..........I have it set to AUTO. If I am reading the manual correctly. I should be able to set the input to SACD/CD, turn on the HDMI connection on the 5400ES and listened to multi channel SACD......that so far is working fine. But when I turn off HDMI on the player and just play a regular cd I do not hear anything.......from the manual it sounds like if digital signals.....HDMI are not detected......the auto mode should read the analog inputs. I cant get this to work. I have to set the priority to analog to hear two channel stereo. I hope this makes sense. If anyone else has tried it let me know your results. It worked fine on my old Yamaha RXV-3900.

Thanks!
MNSACD
MNSACD is offline  
post #53 of 55 Old 02-24-2014, 12:09 PM
Member
 
bottled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Even with the unit off, my receiver is very hot like it is running. Does anyone know what this is. I asked Sony and they said unplug from the network which i did and the unit is still the same and hot 72 hours after unplugging.
bottled is offline  
post #54 of 55 Old 11-01-2014, 08:00 AM
Newbie
 
stereomax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Upgrade to 5800?

Anyone upgrade to the 5800? Was it worth it?
stereomax is offline  
post #55 of 55 Old 11-01-2014, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MUDCAT45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by stereomax View Post
Anyone upgrade to the 5800? Was it worth it?
I sold my 5700 after owning only a few months.

I have not heard the 5800, however, I suspect they sound the same.

I have had the STRDN 1050 about 4 weeks and it sounds much better than the 5700. I would not trade the 1050 for a 5800. Unless you need pre outs I see no reason to buy the ES series.
MUDCAT45 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off