Do I need to disable anything when using a receiver as a pre-amp? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 03-15-2012, 10:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
JoeMG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Using my Onkyo TX-SR875 as a pre-amp, do I need to turn anything off in the receiver to disable the built-in amp section? Or just plug the pre-outs to the amp and proceed as usual?
JoeMG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 03-15-2012, 11:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

nope... just connect to the pre-outs, and away you go...

the amplifiers will still be "on" and "idling"... however, they will never do more than "idle" since you will not have a load connected to them...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 03-15-2012, 12:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
JoeMG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

^^^

nope... just connect to the pre-outs, and away you go...

the amplifiers will still be "on" and "idling"... however, they will never do more than "idle" since you will not have a load connected to them...

Great! Thanks!
JoeMG is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 03-15-2012, 04:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,845
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 106
I've only heard of a few receivers where the amp circuits could be turned off. They may drain some power, and run a little warm, but I feel the main heat source and power drain is probably from all the integrated circuits in these things...CPU, HDMI, video chips, etc.

I suspect, but have no direct evidence, that they may be a bit more efficient in recent years than they were 3 to 4 years ago, via a reduction in chip count.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 03-15-2012, 06:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
keyboardcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I saw a post a few months ago on here where the guy said that he had trouble with using the onkyo receiver as a pre amp. The repair shop told him that he will keep having the problems with it if he keeps using it as a pre amp. He had to work on the guys receiver several times. He said that older receivers are fine using it as a pre amp, but newer receivers are having problems with it.
keyboardcat is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 03-15-2012, 07:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
that would fall under the category of "bs"...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 03-15-2012, 07:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,845
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyboardcat View Post

I saw a post a few months ago on here where the guy said that he had trouble with using the onkyo receiver as a pre amp. The repair shop told him that he will keep having the problems with it if he keeps using it as a pre amp. He had to work on the guys receiver several times. He said that older receivers are fine using it as a pre amp, but newer receivers are having problems with it.

I feel like an assertion like that is in need of proof.

a) That would constitute a design flaw
b) How can a line level output connected to a bigh impedance input result in issues with a receiver? That's the only connection between the amp and the receiver?

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off