Using a Receiver Amp Section to Power Pre/Pro - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 03-21-2012, 08:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AVGeek99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I know this scenario isn't ideal but if you are in the position where you need to use the amp section of a receiver to power a Pre/Pro here are some instructions. I was forced into an early upgrade so am doing this now. I was given some ideas but I couldn't find any explicit instructions anywhere so maybe these will help someone in the future.

1. Do a factory reset on the receiver
2. Connect DVD/BRD player to receiver
3. Use a setup disc that has test tones, I used my old Digital Video Essentials DVD
4. Play the test tones from the set up disc and measure output with an SPL meter
5. Turn the volume up on the receiver until the output = 75db
6. Make note of the volume setting of the receiver; always set the volume of the receiver to that setting and never change it
7. Use the multi-channel input on the receiver and any direct or pure audio mode so there is no additional processing done in the receiver

AVGeek99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 03-21-2012, 09:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,532
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Those are pretty much the steps I would follow as well

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off