Denon AVR-5805 - Main speakers have no bass... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 03-22-2012, 08:05 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jeremy112's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello to all!

I recently got a Denon AVR-5805 and Ive been in the process of setting it up. However, I am having difficulty getting good bass response from the main speakers. basically when im listening to stereo, it should have GOOD amounts of low frequencies coming from the towers... This is not the case...

When I used my Pioneer VSX-80TXV in stereo, I got the results anyone would expect from a receiver in stereo mode...

Anyone who is familiar with these receivers please help. I would like to hear the receivers power before I resort to having to have a subwoofer hooked up.

My Home Theater Thread

The real honest reason I am using my Bose, is because one of the JBL woofers blew out.
Jeremy112 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 03-22-2012, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
commsysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,290
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Which speakers? What are they?

You should completely turn off all room correction software and check them that way.

Main speaker settings need to be set for full-range or whatever, for all bass to go to the front speakers.

With the power available from that unit, you sure should have plenty of bass if the speakers can deliver it.

I think that unit wins the prize for most jacks on the rear panel...lol.

Unless you have something rated to go down to 25 Hz for your front speakers, such as the KEF Q900 speakers, you will undoubtedly want a good subwoofer anyway, such as the Rhythmic F12SE.





Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy112 View Post

Hello to all!

I recently got a Denon AVR-5805 and Ive been in the process of setting it up. However, I am having difficulty getting good bass response from the main speakers. basically when im listening to stereo, it should have GOOD amounts of low frequencies coming from the towers... This is not the case...

When I used my Pioneer VSX-80TXV in stereo, I got the results anyone would expect from a receiver in stereo mode...

Anyone who is familiar with these receivers please help. I would like to hear the receivers power before I resort to having to have a subwoofer hooked up.

commsysman is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 03-22-2012, 08:32 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jeremy112's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by commsysman View Post

Which speakers? What are they?

You should completely turn off all room correction software and check them that way.

Main speaker settings need to be set for full-range or whatever, for all bass to go to the front speakers.

With the power available from that unit, you sure should have plenty of bass if the speakers can deliver it.

I think that unit wins the prize for most jacks on the rear panel...lol.

It certainly does!! lol

I have the speakers set to Large as per the manual states to allow all lower frequencies to pass through, the subwoofer setting is set to LFE+Main (again as per manual to allow low frequencies to pass to the mains)

Room EQ/auto EQ is off, all I am using is Tone Control....

Ill be the first to admit that the 30 year old pair of homebrew speakers that this receiver is on right now (I have it in the kitchen since Im testing it before I install it) are not the elite of speakers, however I know what kind of bass reproduction they have, and I am not hearing it...

It COULD be the speakers, but I have to beleive that this thing has the power to make these puppes pound

My Home Theater Thread

The real honest reason I am using my Bose, is because one of the JBL woofers blew out.
Jeremy112 is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 03-22-2012, 08:35 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jeremy112's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I should add, that with my old pioneer VSX-80TXV my normal listening volume for the amount of low frequencies im expecting was set at -50db, this receiver I have set to that and as said, I cannot feel bass, i can hear it, but cannot feel it.

I can turn up one of my 60wpc vintage sansuis and it has more bass than the AVR at a lower decibel level

My Home Theater Thread

The real honest reason I am using my Bose, is because one of the JBL woofers blew out.
Jeremy112 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 03-22-2012, 08:39 AM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Check to see if the AVR is set with the speakers to 'Large' and NOT 'small'.
Splicer010 is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 03-22-2012, 08:44 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jeremy112's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splicer010 View Post

Check to see if the AVR is set with the speakers to 'Large' and NOT 'small'.

I have the speakers set to LARGE as per the manual says to allow all lower frequencies to pass to the main speakers.

I have to have it at -26db to feel good amounts of bass, but then the highs and mids are too loud (or correct volume, and the lows are too quiet, which would make sense for my issue)

My Home Theater Thread

The real honest reason I am using my Bose, is because one of the JBL woofers blew out.
Jeremy112 is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 03-22-2012, 09:12 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,255
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1391 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy112 View Post

I would like to hear the receivers power before I resort to having to have a subwoofer hooked up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy112 View Post

It certainly does!! lol

I have the speakers set to Large as per the manual states to allow all lower frequencies to pass through, the subwoofer setting is set to LFE+Main (again as per manual to allow low frequencies to pass to the mains)


If you have no external sub connected, the front speakers will default to LARGE. Also the sub setting LFE+MAIN would not apply as again, there is no sub connected, not to mention that setting sends the front main low bass to the sub (which is why it's a sub setting). Without a sub connected, there should be no reason that the low bass isn't passing to the front mains. You may want to reset the microprocessor per the instructions in the manual.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #8 of 14 Old 03-23-2012, 07:48 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jeremy112's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

If you have no external sub connected, the front speakers will default to LARGE. Also the sub setting LFE+MAIN would not apply as again, there is no sub connected, not to mention that setting sends the front main low bass to the sub (which is why it's a sub setting). Without a sub connected, there should be no reason that the low bass isn't passing to the front mains. You may want to reset the microprocessor per the instructions in the manual.


jdsmoothie, thanks for your input. I have already reset the microprocessor twice on this receiver, no luck with that either. I am suspecting there is an issue with the unit, which would explain why it gets unbeleivably hot.

I am thinking that there is an issue in the power regulator circuit, unsure, but possibly

My Home Theater Thread

The real honest reason I am using my Bose, is because one of the JBL woofers blew out.
Jeremy112 is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 03-23-2012, 08:02 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,255
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1391 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
^^
If not done recently, I would retest the speakers with another AVR to confirm no speaker woofer issues, otherwise hopefully you can return the unit to the seller.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10 of 14 Old 03-27-2012, 06:09 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jeremy112's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Jd,

I bought the unit as-is off ebay in this condition (actually rather worse than this condition) so I knew I wasnt getting a full on working unit.

I fixed the aesthetic issues it had, as well as the display PCB since it was cracked, a few other cracked PCBs and eventually I got it to work as it should except for the issue we've been discussing.

I actually have a 2nd AVR 5805 here, but the problem with that one is, I cannot switch inputs (function knob will not change them) and there is no audio output on it as well.

I shold note that the 2nd 5805 is not iin protection mode either, it appears to work except the function knob and audio output.

I really picked myself some beasts to have for HT audio :-S

My Home Theater Thread

The real honest reason I am using my Bose, is because one of the JBL woofers blew out.
Jeremy112 is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 03-27-2012, 06:17 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,255
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1391 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
Yeh ... beasts is putting it mildly ... and two of them to boot!

You should be able to also switch inputs using the remote or the buttons under the front panel flap.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #12 of 14 Old 03-28-2012, 08:42 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jeremy112's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Yeh ... beasts is putting it mildly ... and two of them to boot!

You should be able to also switch inputs using the remote or the buttons under the front panel flap.

JD, I dont suppose you know what board is responsible for input switching/processing of the audio inputs and output? Its not the main digital board, that board is fully working in the other unit in this one unit though it will do everything except switch inputs with the function knob, and output audio.

The amplifiers are both fine as well. It would be nice to get this issue fixed on this unit, then it should be working.

Lets put it this way.... It would be nice to have either of them working :P

My Home Theater Thread

The real honest reason I am using my Bose, is because one of the JBL woofers blew out.
Jeremy112 is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 03-28-2012, 08:56 AM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I would just send it in to Denon and have them fix it and be done with it. But that's just me, poor, broke, me.
Splicer010 is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 03-28-2012, 12:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,924
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Did you try playing test tones through them to try to narrow down the issue? Have you ensured there's no out of phase issue resulting in loss of bass?

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off