Recording using Optical input/output help needed - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 03-31-2012, 06:51 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Jodi Gentzlinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've never messed around with recording before, so I need a little help please. Here's my scenario; I have an optical out from one source running into my pre amps optical 3 input. This input is looped with the optical out. Can I attach a different source component to this out to record from the component hooked to the input? The manual says only hook the out to the same component that is hooked into the in. Is this due to the different components reading a different wave? Any potential damage if I try? Many thanks.
Jodi Gentzlinger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 03-31-2012, 10:01 AM
Senior Member
 
vzphoneman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: upstate New York
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
First things first. What are you recording (audio, video, analog or digital) and more importantly, what are you trying to record it with?

The lazy man finds the easiest way ... Ben Franklin
vzphoneman is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 03-31-2012, 12:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Jodi Gentzlinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Audio thru the Opticals. Out is from a Polk Audio Sirius tuner. Thru a Denon AVP-8000. To a Yamaha CDR-HD1500. I want to record Sirius programming onto the HDD in the Yamaha.
Jodi Gentzlinger is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 04-01-2012, 10:42 AM
Senior Member
 
vzphoneman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: upstate New York
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I have never owned a Denon so I looked at a manual online. It's poorly written and confusing (as many are!) but what I think you have to do is this;

take the digital/optical from the Polk Sirius and connect it to the Denon digital/optic in 1 or 2

connect the Yamaha digital/optical's - in and out - to the Denon digital/optic "3" - in and out

to record - set the Denon to the source that you used for the Polk Sirius (digital/optic 1 or 2). Set the Yamaha to record/pause and you should hear Sirius playing through headphones plugged into the Yamaha ...or the meters should be moving...set your levels to around 0db on the meters and then hit play and you should be recording.

The lazy man finds the easiest way ... Ben Franklin
vzphoneman is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 04-01-2012, 02:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Jodi Gentzlinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. You are correct, the manual for the 8000 is horrible. I'll give that a try. I'd still like to know why it says you can't connect anything other than the same source component to Optical 3 in/out?
Jodi Gentzlinger is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 04-01-2012, 05:02 PM
Senior Member
 
vzphoneman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: upstate New York
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I think the digital "3" was mainly intended for a CD/MD/DAT recorder with a input and output much like tape deck connections. I don't see any reason why you couldn't use digital input "3" for any source if you were not going to hook up a digital recorder. Likewise you could use the output to feed another receiver such as in a whole house system.

The main thing to remember is the output of digital "3" will be whatever digital source that the Denon is playing. If the Denon is set to a analog source input like FM radio, you will get nothing out of the digital "3" output. It will only "pass" digital sources.

The lazy man finds the easiest way ... Ben Franklin
vzphoneman is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off