Recording using Optical input/output help needed - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Audio > Receivers, Amps, and Processors > Recording using Optical input/output help needed

Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Jodi Gentzlinger's Avatar Jodi Gentzlinger
07:51 AM Liked: 10
post #1 of 6
03-31-2012 | Posts: 20
Joined: Dec 2006
I've never messed around with recording before, so I need a little help please. Here's my scenario; I have an optical out from one source running into my pre amps optical 3 input. This input is looped with the optical out. Can I attach a different source component to this out to record from the component hooked to the input? The manual says only hook the out to the same component that is hooked into the in. Is this due to the different components reading a different wave? Any potential damage if I try? Many thanks.
vzphoneman's Avatar vzphoneman
11:01 AM Liked: 18
post #2 of 6
03-31-2012 | Posts: 348
Joined: Jan 2009
First things first. What are you recording (audio, video, analog or digital) and more importantly, what are you trying to record it with?
Jodi Gentzlinger's Avatar Jodi Gentzlinger
01:08 PM Liked: 10
post #3 of 6
03-31-2012 | Posts: 20
Joined: Dec 2006
Audio thru the Opticals. Out is from a Polk Audio Sirius tuner. Thru a Denon AVP-8000. To a Yamaha CDR-HD1500. I want to record Sirius programming onto the HDD in the Yamaha.
vzphoneman's Avatar vzphoneman
11:42 AM Liked: 18
post #4 of 6
04-01-2012 | Posts: 348
Joined: Jan 2009
I have never owned a Denon so I looked at a manual online. It's poorly written and confusing (as many are!) but what I think you have to do is this;

take the digital/optical from the Polk Sirius and connect it to the Denon digital/optic in 1 or 2

connect the Yamaha digital/optical's - in and out - to the Denon digital/optic "3" - in and out

to record - set the Denon to the source that you used for the Polk Sirius (digital/optic 1 or 2). Set the Yamaha to record/pause and you should hear Sirius playing through headphones plugged into the Yamaha ...or the meters should be moving...set your levels to around 0db on the meters and then hit play and you should be recording.
Jodi Gentzlinger's Avatar Jodi Gentzlinger
03:34 PM Liked: 10
post #5 of 6
04-01-2012 | Posts: 20
Joined: Dec 2006
Thanks. You are correct, the manual for the 8000 is horrible. I'll give that a try. I'd still like to know why it says you can't connect anything other than the same source component to Optical 3 in/out?
vzphoneman's Avatar vzphoneman
06:02 PM Liked: 18
post #6 of 6
04-01-2012 | Posts: 348
Joined: Jan 2009
I think the digital "3" was mainly intended for a CD/MD/DAT recorder with a input and output much like tape deck connections. I don't see any reason why you couldn't use digital input "3" for any source if you were not going to hook up a digital recorder. Likewise you could use the output to feed another receiver such as in a whole house system.

The main thing to remember is the output of digital "3" will be whatever digital source that the Denon is playing. If the Denon is set to a analog source input like FM radio, you will get nothing out of the digital "3" output. It will only "pass" digital sources.
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3