Ideas & Suggestions on my proposed system? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 3 Old 04-01-2012, 10:35 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi. Im kinda new to learning about amps and just wanted a second opinion on the system I will be installing in the next month. I have a good friend that this in the audio/visual business that has strongly recommended a system to me (and given us a very decent discount off MSRP). We are just drywalling our basement now so we will be putting the entertainment system in in the next 2 months. So far we are looking at getting the below. Any advice would be appreicated.

Video
Epson Pro 6010 Projector
106" dropdown motorized screen (high contrast screen)
Marantz SR7005 Home Theater Receiver

Audio
Marantz MM7025 Front 2 Channel Amp
Marantz MM7055 Surround 5 Channel Amp
Monitor Gold GX200 Front tower speakers (2)
Monitor Gold GX150 Center speaker
Monitor Gold GXFX Side speakers (2)
Monitor Gold GXW15 Subwoofer
Monitor C380X In ceiling rear speakers (2)
Center high speakers also prewired (9.1 optional)

Other Items
Marantz UD7006 Blue-ray player
Panamax M5300PM Rack Line Conditioner
Shaw Satelite 630 Receiver
WII
Apple TV (generation 1)
LG Computer TV connection

Remote System
RTI RF Advanced Processor XP6 (RF/Zigbee)
RTI Color Remote (T2CS)
Ipad control APP
Multi Location dimmers (2)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 04-01-2012, 11:41 PM
XJ6

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi,

This is just something to consider and I have nothing against Marantz or Monitor Audio. The amp+receiver+bluray player do not have to be of the same brand. Have you checked out the Oppo-93, 95 or something else from another brand? On the speakers, there are good reasons to have them coming from the same make, especially the front three. But the sub can be from another make, too. So, for those two combos you don't have to, but you can certainly mix and match.