Amplifier capacitors help - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 04-03-2012, 08:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Razvanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The power supply capacitors in my Gemstone Blue Diamond amplifier have started leaking. I would like to buy new capacitors to replace the bad ones but I couldn't find any of the same size on the Internet. I don't know who the manufacturer is, maybe someone here has an idea? I've included pics below:
LL
Razvanel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 04-03-2012, 08:44 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 11,149
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 718 Post(s)
Liked: 421
Try here..

http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/...%2fjn72fM0M%3d

Hold on to your hat they are expensive..

Just my $0.02..
M Code is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 04-03-2012, 08:44 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,997
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 148
They don't have to be the exact size I think. But they need to be spec'd properly, such as the voltage spec. Is gemstone not still in existance to get the specs on?

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 Old 04-03-2012, 09:22 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 11,149
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 718 Post(s)
Liked: 421
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelJHuman View Post

They don't have to be the exact size I think. But they need to be spec'd properly, such as the voltage spec. Is gemstone not still in existance to get the specs on?

The capacity in uF has a tolerance of -10% & +75%, voltage should be equal or higher...

Just my $0.02..
M Code is online now  
post #5 of 5 Old 04-03-2012, 09:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Razvanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Ideally they should be the same size - especially the diameter and the distance between the screws on the bottom so that they fit into the original board - and specs. Hard to find them... I'm not sure that the Cornell Dubilier in the link above would work but thanks M Code.

Gemstone hasn't replied yet, probably never will. I did contact Sim Audio, they made the amp for Gemstone, but they were not willing to help at all...

Still looking, wonder if anyone knows what the 'A' on the capacitor stands for i.e what company that might be?

R
Razvanel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off