New Denon AVR-1712 No Audio From TV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 04-29-2012, 05:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chrismgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was hoping someone might help as it's Sunday night and Denon support is closed. I've just hooked up my new receiver and can't seem to get audio from the TV. I've got the HDMI cable running from the TV to the Monitor ARC input on the receiver. No audio from the TV- great picture but no audio. The DVD unit works fine- video and audio. The TV is an LG. If anyone has any suggestions, I'd really appreciate them.

Thanks,

Chris
chrismgan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 04-29-2012, 05:09 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,005
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
To enable the ARC feature you must enable HDMI-CEC (SimpLink) on the LG as well as on the AVR (HDMI Control).

For more information on your new 1712, join us in the Denon XX12 Owner's thread linked in my sig, especially reviewing post #3 in that thread.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3 of 17 Old 04-29-2012, 05:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chrismgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks- The SimpLink is enabled on the LG, however I'm not sure how to enable the AVR?
chrismgan is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 04-29-2012, 05:20 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,005
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
See HDMI Control (p. 63) in your Owner's manual.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5 of 17 Old 04-29-2012, 05:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chrismgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Call me a dummy, but I'm reading pg 63 and can't figure out how to get to "select HDMI audio output device". Do I press something on the remote?
chrismgan is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 04-29-2012, 06:38 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,005
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
System Setup ---> HDMI Setup ---> HDMI Control (defaults to OFF, set to ON)

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #7 of 17 Old 04-29-2012, 07:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chrismgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok Thanks I've set the HDMI Control to ON and I still don't have any audio from my speakers. Any other suggestions? Thanks for all your help. I'm not using cable or Sat by the way, I'm receiving my signal over the air by antenna. Not sure if that makes any difference, it didn't with my old amp.
chrismgan is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 04-29-2012, 07:11 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,005
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
Ensure the TV is to "external speakers". Once set, power off the TV and AVR and then power ON again. If still no joy, connect an optical cable from the TV to the AVR for the short term until you can resolve the issue.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9 of 17 Old 04-29-2012, 08:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 22,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 351
optical cable from TV to receiver will solve all your problems.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 04-30-2012, 01:03 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chrismgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I'll try an optical cable. Thanks for all the help.
chrismgan is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 04-30-2012, 10:43 AM
Member
 
tarzan1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having the exact same problem as the OP. I just replaced my Yahama receiver with a Denon 1712 for Audyssey MultiEQ XT. ARC worked on my Yamaha just fine but when I hooked up my Denon, turned ARC function on and no sounds came out. Everything else worked just fine, including stand-by pass through. I'm not sure if I just had bad luck with a defective unit or there's some compatibility between my Panasonic Plasma with Denon receiver. Anybody else has ARC problems with Denon receiver and Panasonic TV? If it's actually compatibility issue, I shouldn't waste my time to exchange it and just get an optical cable. I can live with that. But if my unit is defective, I should ask for an exchange.
Thanks.

tarzan1234 is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 04-30-2012, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Possumgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal (L.A. area)
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarzan1234 View Post

Anybody else has ARC problems with Denon receiver and Panasonic TV?

Perhaps not what you wanted to hear, but no ARC problems between my Panny ST30 and Denon 1612. I watch OTA TV and sometimes use the Panny internet apps. As soon as I enabled Denon's HDMI-CTL, it all worked.
Possumgirl is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 04-30-2012, 12:33 PM
Member
 
tarzan1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Possumgirl View Post

Perhaps not what you wanted to hear, but no ARC problems between my Panny ST30 and Denon 1612. I watch OTA TV and sometimes use the Panny internet apps. As soon as I enabled Denon's HDMI-CTL, it all worked.

Thanks Possumgirl. In fact, this is exactly the confirmation I wanted to hear. This is a good time to appreciate Amazon's superb services...

tarzan1234 is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 04-30-2012, 12:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chrismgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I on the other hand am still without audio from the TV even after hooking up an optical cable. Any thoughts ?
chrismgan is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 04-30-2012, 12:52 PM
Member
 
tarzan1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrismgan View Post

I on the other hand am still without audio from the TV even after hooking up an optical cable. Any thoughts ?

Have you tried to re-run the setup wizard? No need to repeat the the entire process, just jump to Input setup section and select a connection for TV.

tarzan1234 is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 04-30-2012, 12:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chrismgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll give it a shot now. Thanks
chrismgan is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 04-30-2012, 01:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chrismgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That did it! Thanks so much !
Whoops- Only getting sound from two speakers on a 5.1 system.
chrismgan is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 1712 Receiver

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off