The "official" Yamaha RX-V673 thread. 7.2-Channel Network AVR - Page 121 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3601 of 3603 Old 02-13-2015, 06:44 PM
Senior Member
 
sjm817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarR View Post
What for me has worked is to add a 2 second delay and again the correct input command for the Yamaha in the activity on the Harmony.
With my Sony AVR even a 20 sec delay was not enough. I could not find any way to make it work connected to the AVR. With it connected to the TV, its perfect. 99% of the time I'm watchin FiOS or a Smarthub app such as Netflix. Both are the same "TV" input. Its always on the correct setting. I've used a Harmony One for many years and am glad I no longer need it. The CEC and Samsung Universal Remote work everything perfectly. Best setup Ive ever had!

BE aware that when connected to TV instead of AVR very well may limit you to 2 CH audio. My setup has a nice work around for that. If I didnt, I'd still be looking for a different fix.

Last edited by sjm817; 02-13-2015 at 06:51 PM.
sjm817 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3602 of 3603 Old 02-13-2015, 06:48 PM
Senior Member
 
sjm817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by encendido5 View Post
Haha, yeah, I think that's the consensus I'm coming to as well. It sounds like a good idea on paper, but in practice, it's just not fleshed out well yet.

I just use ARC for all the TV apps. I actually use Youtube, Netflix, and Vudu pretty frequently now that they are easy to use. I could use an optical cable, but I thought I read that 5.1 was limited through it. I'll have to mess around with it to see what the best settings would be.
IME ARC = Optical in function and limitations. The only difference is the physical connection.
sjm817 is offline  
post #3603 of 3603 Old Today, 03:36 AM
Member
 
The111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an HTPC connected to my RX-V673 over HDMI. The HTPC has Realtek onboard audio and Intel HD 4600 video (Gigabyte GA-H97M-D3H mobo).

If I just let the audio pass through the PC and have the receiver do the processing, which is obviously preferable, I run into a small issue from time to time. The audio will drop out for a fraction of a second, and the receiver screen will change from "Dolby Digital" to "Decoder Off" while this is happening. The weirdest part is it is not random; it happens at fixed places in certain media files only. For example it will happen at 19:45-19:46 on a certain media file, I can play that section again and it will happen at exactly the same place. It is typically places where the background noise in the movie drops to almost nothing, and the dialogue too gets very quiet, for example the actor is mumbling. I read about the silent stream bug and excitedly thought that was my problem, but unfortunately I don't think it is, since the fix in that thread does not change anything, nor does the integrated setting in XBMC to "keep audio device alive."

The problem occurs in multiple media players that pass through pure Dolby Digital sound. In other media players that do their own processing, they pass PCM to the receiver and the problem does not exist! But obviously this is not a solution since I was to pass a pure signal to receiver.

Any ideas? Thanks!
The111 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Rx V673 Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off