The "official" Yamaha RX-V673 thread. 7.2-Channel Network AVR - Page 130 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 58Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2017, 02:10 PM
Member
 
Halicarnassus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NC
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Peterson View Post
Is there a setting on the RX-V673 I need to change to enable the 4K passthrough? Or something else?

Thanks.
If there's a setting for this, it'll be at Setup > Video >Video mode > Processing >Resolution menu

Mine shows '4K' as an option, which is surprising because V673 is supposed to not support 4K. I haven't tested it, but if you do, I'd be interested in what you find.

..just the beginning..
Halicarnassus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-23-2017, 02:14 PM
i2k
Senior Member
 
i2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I think it has 4K passthrough, but the HDMI ports may not support the latest standards? Or is it just 4K up convert?
I could never get the 4K pass through from my TIVO BOLT to work.

_____________________________________
Yamaha AV Reciever RX-A2060
KEF Q Series Speakers (5.1.4)
LG OLED C Series 2016
SVS PB2000 Sub
NVIDIA Shield Gen 2
i2k is offline  
Old 01-23-2017, 02:57 PM
Member
 
Halicarnassus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NC
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by i2k View Post
I think it has 4K passthrough, but the HDMI ports may not support the latest standards? Or is it just 4K up convert?
I could never get the 4K pass through from my TIVO BOLT to work.
Ah yes! That jogged my memory. What V673 doesn't support is HDCP 2.2 (copy protection for 4K content) and so the V673's HDMI never successfully does the handshake. So, really, the receiver having a 4K option is a bit pointless as most (all?) 4K sources will require HDCP 2.2.
i2k and ChromeJob like this.

..just the beginning..
Halicarnassus is offline  
 
Old 01-23-2017, 03:29 PM
i2k
Senior Member
 
i2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halicarnassus View Post
Ah yes! That jogged my memory. What V673 doesn't support is HDCP 2.2 (copy protection for 4K content) and so the V673's HDMI never successfully does the handshake. So, really, the receiver having a 4K option is a bit pointless as most (all?) 4K sources will require HDCP 2.2.
This is what prompted my upgrade path to the A2060.

_____________________________________
Yamaha AV Reciever RX-A2060
KEF Q Series Speakers (5.1.4)
LG OLED C Series 2016
SVS PB2000 Sub
NVIDIA Shield Gen 2
i2k is offline  
Old 01-23-2017, 05:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rich Peterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: St Paul, MN
Posts: 2,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Oh darn it. I thought I was future-proofing myself when I bought the receiver with 4K passthrough. Should have known.

What's interesting is the picture through the RX-V673 is really really good as if it is in 4K. I just keep getting an annoying popup telling my 4K isn't supported. So either the Directv box is sending out 4K (even though the error says it's sending 1080P) and it's getting passed through the RX-V67, or the upscaling of 1080P is incredible. But I can't put up with the constant error popups, so I'll have to change my connections anyway. Disappointing.

Thanks for the feedback.
Rich Peterson is online now  
Old 04-03-2017, 09:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Cla55clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Arvada, Colorado (Denver area)
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Here we go again with the native Pandora app. Says access error and no internet connection even though net radio works beautifully. Firmware version 1.96.

Sent from my Nexus 5X
Cla55clown is offline  
Old 04-04-2017, 10:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,598
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1079 Post(s)
Liked: 539
Send a message via Yahoo to ChromeJob Send a message via Skype™ to ChromeJob
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cla55clown View Post
Here we go again with the native Pandora app. Says access error and no internet connection even though net radio works beautifully. Firmware version 1.96.

Sent from my Nexus 5X
If you haven't set a static IP address for the AVR, try that. Resolved most if not all of my "Access Error" issues.

“Phil? Phil Connors?!”
Are ya new here? Please read FAQs and forum stickies. Like posts that help you. Don't ask a question and then disappear.
A: Yamaha RX-V775. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Samsung UN40ES6150, Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen.
ChromeJob is online now  
Old 05-15-2017, 12:15 PM
Member
 
JeffAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Was looking to move this AVR to family room with powered speakers. Looks like the Zone 2 out is fixed so can't control the volume to powered speakers. Any thoughts on using the headphone out (with 1/4" plug to RCA female), or using speaker to line adapter? Anyone recommend such an adapter, or another potential solution? (I like these powered speakers for TV, but may just need to buy new speakers..oh no!)
JeffAV is offline  
Old 05-25-2017, 07:02 AM
Newbie
 
gadrago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Stephenson, VA
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
On firmware 1.98 since April 4, 2017. Pandora was working initially on my RX-V773 on this firmware release but quit working in recent weeks with the 'Access Error' and 'No network found' messages, even though vTuner continued to work. My receiver was already on a static IP address from the router end. As suggested elsewhere, I got Pandora access restored by going into the receiver Setup, Network, IP address section and disabling DHCP. I then manually entered the receiver's static IP address, the router's subnet mask and gateway address, and changed the primary and secondary DNS servers from '0.0.0.0' to the Google '8.8.8.8' and '8.8.4.4', respectively. Pandora access was immediately restored. The same fix may work successfully if experiencing difficulty connecting to Pandora with the RX-V673.
ktbos, ChromeJob and Cla55clown like this.
gadrago is offline  
Old 05-25-2017, 07:52 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,019
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 648 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Does anyone know if any of these updates correct anything other than these Internet issues as in audio issues??

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1977. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
Old 06-07-2017, 09:41 AM
Member
 
ECEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking into moving to a 4k setup soon, which will involve replacing my tv.

I can't find confirmation that this receiver does or does not support HDR/4K from a PS4 Pro. Can anyone here tell me? I've looked through the manual and can't find anything, and there isn't any information in the update notes.
ECEC is offline  
Old 06-07-2017, 10:01 AM
Member
 
Halicarnassus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NC
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by ECEC View Post
I'm looking into moving to a 4k setup soon, which will involve replacing my tv.

I can't find confirmation that this receiver does or does not support HDR/4K from a PS4 Pro. Can anyone here tell me? I've looked through the manual and can't find anything, and there isn't any information in the update notes.
See posts 3871 thru 3873 above. The V673 does not support HDCP 2.2 so the HDMI handshake with PS4 will likely fail. Caveat: I haven't tested the 4K option in the V673's menu as I don't have an external 4K source.

..just the beginning..
Halicarnassus is offline  
Old 06-07-2017, 10:07 AM
Member
 
ECEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halicarnassus View Post
See posts 3871 thru 3873 above. The V673 does not support HDCP 2.2 so the HDMI handshake with PS4 will likely fail. Caveat: I haven't tested the 4K option in the V673's menu as I don't have an external 4K source.
That's what I was thinking, but it wasn't 100% clear. Thanks for the info!

Man, that means moving to 4k is a new TV, a new console, AND a new receiver.
ECEC is offline  
Old 06-07-2017, 10:46 AM
Member
 
Halicarnassus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NC
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by ECEC View Post
That's what I was thinking, but it wasn't 100% clear. Thanks for the info!

Man, that means moving to 4k is a new TV, a new console, AND a new receiver.
Not necessarily. It's not a rule to have your 4K signal pass thru the receiver. I am still happily using my V673 with the Samsung KS8000 and I am using TV as the "hub/switcher" - everything gets connected to the TV's HDMI ports. One of the TV's HDMI ports supports ARC (Audio Return Channel) so it's also an output. That way I can have the V673's surround sound for whatever I am watching, and control the volume on the receive via the TV's remote.
ChromeJob likes this.

..just the beginning..
Halicarnassus is offline  
Old 06-07-2017, 11:04 AM
Member
 
ECEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halicarnassus View Post
Not necessarily. It's not a rule to have your 4K signal pass thru the receiver. I am still happily using my V673 with the Samsung KS8000 and I am using TV as the "hub/switcher" - everything gets connected to the TV's HDMI ports. One of the TV's HDMI ports supports ARC (Audio Return Channel) so it's also an output. That way I can have the V673's surround sound for whatever I am watching, and control the volume on the receive via the TV's remote.
Hmm...that might work, then. I guess I'll have to research it quite a bit more.

Thanks for the answers!
ECEC is offline  
Old 06-07-2017, 01:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,598
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1079 Post(s)
Liked: 539
Send a message via Yahoo to ChromeJob Send a message via Skype™ to ChromeJob
The 2015 or newer AVRs had HDCP 2.2, so anything like an RX-v679/779 would support it and the new 60 hz refresh rates for 4K. So you can look to pick up a refurb or second hand unit.

Prices are dropping for the x81 series, e.g. there's a $40 rebate through 6/19 at Costco for the TSR_5810 (RX-v581 renumbered for retailer). Think it's $349 with the rebate, and there may be a $25 off purchase of $250 or more that you can combine with it for online orders. Of course you have to be a member…

Also check Accessories4less.

“Phil? Phil Connors?!”
Are ya new here? Please read FAQs and forum stickies. Like posts that help you. Don't ask a question and then disappear.
A: Yamaha RX-V775. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Samsung UN40ES6150, Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen.
ChromeJob is online now  
Old Yesterday, 07:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yamaha RX V673 Not Outputting Video Via HDMI

I'm new to the forum so please forgive me if my question is improper or premature. I looked as much as possible in the official 673 thread to find an answer but couldn't find it.

I purchased the Yamaha RX V673 used from a friend who mainly used it for his movie room. It outputs the audio from the HDMI out but not the video to my Sharp LC-52LE640U. I performed an update already on the receiver and even switched and tested all of the cables used.

When I use the HDMI cables directly from the Motorola U-Verse or Panasonic Blu Ray everything shows fine on the TV as it did before. Once I connect both units to the 673 directly then out to the TV from the 673, I get sound, but no video.

Best,
Magnificent
magnificentdj is offline  
Old Today, 12:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,598
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1079 Post(s)
Liked: 539
Send a message via Yahoo to ChromeJob Send a message via Skype™ to ChromeJob
The "official" Yamaha RX-V673 thread. 7.2-Channel Network AVR

Try a factory reset, it's covered in the manual under Advanced Options. Your friend gave you the manual, right? You can download it from Yamaha if not.

“Phil? Phil Connors?!”
Are ya new here? Please read FAQs and forum stickies. Like posts that help you. Don't ask a question and then disappear.
A: Yamaha RX-V775. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Samsung UN40ES6150, Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen.
ChromeJob is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
firmware update , pandora , Yamaha Rx V673 Receiver
Gear in this thread
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off