The "official" Yamaha RX-V673 thread. 7.2-Channel Network AVR - Page 70 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2071 of 3557 Old 07-10-2013, 12:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Michigan.
Posts: 1,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by emileg View Post

You are the first to mention the firmware 1.80 update. Has anyone else run the update and what are your impressions?

According to Yamaha's website (see link below):
This firmware
1. Improves connectivity and stability with AV Controller App
2. Improves DLNA network function stability
3. Other bug fix

Sadly, there is no mention of fixing the bug many of us experience when turning on cable TV (STB into HDMI-2 and ARC to TV). The audio starts correctly at HDMI-2 and then switches to AV4, as if the audio was coming from the TV. You would think this would be a fairly

http://download.yamaha.com/search/detail/?site=usa.yamaha.com&language=en&category_id1=16445&category_id2=16446&product_id=1645667&asset_file_language=EN&asset_id=60029


Thanks for the posting on the update.

Ralph
zapper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2072 of 3557 Old 07-10-2013, 06:27 PM
Member
 
emileg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Well, I ran the 1.80 firmware update. Unfortunately, Yamaha did not fix the HDMI-2 - AV4 glitch when using ARC to and from the TV. I haven't noticed any differences from the previous version. If and when I do so, I will be sure to post. ronnymills: if you are reading this, thank you.
emileg is offline  
post #2073 of 3557 Old 07-11-2013, 04:11 AM
Newbie
 
thornden4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfonzo Roman View Post

At the risk of looking like a narcissist by quoting my prior post... just wanted to update my calibration/sound experience on the V673. I watched a sporting event that was being broadcast in Dolby Digital 5.1 and was disappointed that the sound field was very focused on the front/center speaker. It didn't have that great immersive impact that I had with audyssey calibration on the Denon. The sound comes out very bright and hissy on the treble and light on bass/sub. I was able to easily modify the trim on the sub, and increased the crossover slightly, to sound good. The treble was a problem and was not able to modify settings to make it sound natural.

On the surround, I tried some different Scene modes, and there was one (I believe it was Sporting Event or Stadium Event or something like that) that produced a much more life-like effect that the standard surround mode. I also reduced the center levels to allow the ambient stadium sound to be more pronounced. I would say the result was passable.

I still have time to return this thing but if anyone has suggestions on ways get the sound maximized, I would be grateful.

I am in the same boat as you. I had a Denon AVR 2310 for years and I am very disappointed with the sound from the 673. Fiddled for ages with settings and cannot get the sound I like. I also do not like not seeing on the front panel what is being decoded. Returning mine and am now trying to see what I want as a replacement. The choice is Denon AVR X2000 or Onkyo TXNR 717.
thornden4 is offline  
post #2074 of 3557 Old 07-11-2013, 08:28 AM
Member
 
emileg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I suppose how much we like the sound from our receivers depends so much on what we are listening to. We enjoy classical music as well as movies and non-sports TV programming. We have found the 673 to be a huge improvement in sound quality over our two previous JVC AV receivers and are totally satisfied.

I might add that I have four JBL Century L-100s from around 1974. These speakers were designed as studio masters. They did not require subwoofers, though I did add a subwoofer when I bought the 673. I purchased two of the speakers in 1974 and I bought two more on eBay a few years ago when I decided to add surround sound. What is fascinating is how these almost 40 year old speakers are used in ways no one ever imagined back then.
emileg is offline  
post #2075 of 3557 Old 07-11-2013, 09:20 AM
Senior Member
 
insync44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 18
After the demise of my Denon 1913 and Onkyo 616, I am looking at the Yamaha. I can get a BNIB 671 for $390 CDN and an open box 673 for $500. Is the 673 worth a $100 more than the 671. I am not interested in Airplay etc.

Thanks
insync44 is offline  
post #2076 of 3557 Old 07-11-2013, 02:41 PM
Member
 
emileg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by insync44 View Post

After the demise of my Denon 1913 and Onkyo 616, I am looking at the Yamaha. I can get a BNIB 671 for $390 CDN and an open box 673 for $500. Is the 673 worth a $100 more than the 671. I am not interested in Airplay etc.

Thanks
I think $500 is pretty high right now for a discontinued model. When the 675s came out in May, I was able to get the 673 from Best Buy for $354 by using an online price match with Electronics Expo. And that was a sealed box, but the last one in the store.
emileg is offline  
post #2077 of 3557 Old 07-11-2013, 04:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 881
Quote:
Originally Posted by insync44 View Post

After the demise of my Denon 1913 and Onkyo 616, I am looking at the Yamaha. I can get a BNIB 671 for $390 CDN and an open box 673 for $500. Is the 673 worth a $100 more than the 671. I am not interested in Airplay etc.

Thanks
http://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-RX-V673-7-2-Channel-Network-Receiver/dp/B007JF85WE/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1373581082&sr=1-2&keywords=yamaha+rx+v673

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2078 of 3557 Old 07-11-2013, 04:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 881
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2079 of 3557 Old 07-11-2013, 07:28 PM
Member
 
ronnymills's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by emileg View Post

Well, I ran the 1.80 firmware update. Unfortunately, Yamaha did not fix the HDMI-2 - AV4 glitch when using ARC to and from the TV. I haven't noticed any differences from the previous version. If and when I do so, I will be sure to post. ronnymills: if you are reading this, thank you.

from Yamaha re: ARC, he first recommended turning off HDMI control.
"The receiver is switching inputs because of the information it receives from the TV. Turning off HDMI control prevents this, but yes it also turns off the ARC function. "
ronnymills is offline  
post #2080 of 3557 Old 07-11-2013, 08:43 PM
Member
 
emileg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronnymills View Post

from Yamaha re: ARC, he first recommended turning off HDMI control.
"The receiver is switching inputs because of the information it receives from the TV. Turning off HDMI control prevents this, but yes it also turns off the ARC function. "
Yes,I am aware of that workaround. I prefer to keep the HDMI control and ARC so that my wife can operate the whole system with just the DVR remote as well as keep the spaghetti to a minimum. The reason I believe there is a flaw is because when you turn on the system from the DVR remote, the receiver at first correctly identifies HDMI-2 as the input. After a few seconds it changes to AV-4 even though the TV is sending no sound back up to the receiver. Our workaround is just to press HDMI-2 on the receiver remote, a lot simpler than following Samsung's suggestion and having to use three remotes just to watch T,V.
ronnymills likes this.
emileg is offline  
post #2081 of 3557 Old 07-12-2013, 09:49 AM
i2k
Senior Member
 
i2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone else experiencing drop outs on Pandora after upgrading to the 1.80 firmware? Is there a way to downgrade? And where would I find the firmware file.. ugh. Absolutely flawless previously and if I play my iPad/Pandora/Airplay to the receiver it isn't interrupted at all.

i2k

Samsung LED 65" UN65FH6001F
Yamaha AV Receiver RX 673
Mission/Polk Audio speakers
i2k is offline  
post #2082 of 3557 Old 07-12-2013, 11:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 881
Quote:
Originally Posted by i2k View Post

Is anyone else experiencing drop outs on Pandora after upgrading to the 1.80 firmware? Is there a way to downgrade? And where would I find the firmware file.. ugh. Absolutely flawless previously and if I play my iPad/Pandora/Airplay to the receiver it isn't interrupted at all.
I have experienced "access error" on my 671 and 675. Call Yamaha and complain. Thats the only way it will ever get fixed. They have come out with a batch of crappy updates lately.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2083 of 3557 Old 07-12-2013, 02:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Michigan.
Posts: 1,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

I have experienced "access error" on my 671 and 675. Call Yamaha and complain. Thats the only way it will ever get fixed. They have come out with a batch of crappy updates lately.


Currently satisfied with my old version, now reading that some of us are not really satisfied with the latest update, so will be sitting on the fence in this upgrade.

Ralph
zapper is offline  
post #2084 of 3557 Old 07-12-2013, 03:38 PM
i2k
Senior Member
 
i2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

I have experienced "access error" on my 671 and 675. Call Yamaha and complain. Thats the only way it will ever get fixed. They have come out with a batch of crappy updates lately.

Access error yep that's it. I'll log it with support. Does anyone have a link to the previous version (is it even possible to downgrade)?

i2k

Samsung LED 65" UN65FH6001F
Yamaha AV Receiver RX 673
Mission/Polk Audio speakers
i2k is offline  
post #2085 of 3557 Old 07-12-2013, 07:01 PM
Member
 
Avedis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by emileg View Post

I suppose how much we like the sound from our receivers depends so much on what we are listening to. We enjoy classical music as well as movies and non-sports TV programming. We have found the 673 to be a huge improvement in sound quality over our two previous JVC AV receivers and are totally satisfied.

I might add that I have four JBL Century L-100s from around 1974. These speakers were designed as studio masters. They did not require subwoofers, though I did add a subwoofer when I bought the 673. I purchased two of the speakers in 1974 and I bought two more on eBay a few years ago when I decided to add surround sound. What is fascinating is how these almost 40 year old speakers are used in ways no one ever imagined back then.

I have a pair of L-100's that I bought in 1977. They are in mint condition except for the foam grilles that decayed which was standard for that material. I bought a JBL L-100 cloth grille kit 13 years ago and replaced the foam. Other than that, they are perfect including the cabinets. They've been boxed for the last few years and I sort of expect the caps in the crossovers will dry out and need to be replaced someday. There are L-100 crossover kits out there so I'm not worried. Those suckers go for big bucks on eBay if they are in good condition. I've thought about selling them but they sound so good I can't bear to part with them.
emileg likes this.
Avedis is offline  
post #2086 of 3557 Old 07-14-2013, 04:00 PM
Newbie
 
newbadboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ive used my 673 for a couple of months now and im basicaly satisfied but there is a small issue ive noticed twice. It only has occured watching dvd/bd.

The issue is that the on screen info dissapears, by this i mean that it does not show the actuall volume when i change it. It doesnt either show any other info such as chosen dsp program or whatever. If i change the hdmi input to a different one it shows the osd. When changin back to dvd player hdmi input it still doesntw show osd.

Turning on/of the reciever doesnt help.

If i eject the dvd and put it back in the osd works as it should. This has as i mentionef happened only twice during a couple of months so its no big problem. But it would be nice to know if anyone has seen and maby can explain whats going on?
newbadboy is offline  
post #2087 of 3557 Old 07-15-2013, 09:42 AM
Member
 
mattbooty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A quick DSP / Sound field question. I just got this as an upgrade from an older Yamaha receiver. I have a 7.1 setup, but the majority of my content is still 5.1 (between blu ray and streaming). What setting is ideal to upconvert the 5.1 to 7.1 to take advantage of the backs, and will that negatively effect any legitimate 7.1 sources I play?

Thanks!
mattbooty is offline  
post #2088 of 3557 Old 07-15-2013, 01:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattbooty View Post

What setting is ideal to upconvert the 5.1 to 7.1 to take advantage of the backs, and will that negatively effect any legitimate 7.1 sources I play?

I would use Dolby PLIIx. To enable it for 5.1 sources you have to change the Extended Surround setting (page 80 in the manual PDF) to PLIIx Movie (Auto won't work for most sources). When a true 7.1 source is played, PLIIx won't do anything, and with a 5.1 source it redistributes the two surround channels to the four surround speakers (while leaving the front and centre channels alone).

You might also try raising all surround speaker levels a couple of dB if you're playing at moderate levels and don't find that you hear enough from the surrounds.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #2089 of 3557 Old 07-15-2013, 01:14 PM
Member
 
mattbooty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post

I would use Dolby PLIIx. To enable it for 5.1 sources you have to change the Extended Surround setting (page 80 in the manual PDF) to PLIIx Movie (Auto won't work for most sources). When a true 7.1 source is played, PLIIx won't do anything, and with a 5.1 source it redistributes the two surround channels to the four surround speakers (while leaving the front and centre channels alone).

You might also try raising all surround speaker levels a couple of dB if you're playing at moderate levels and don't find that you hear enough from the surrounds.

Awesome, thank you! The levels seem good when i have a true 7.1 source playing, will see if that holds true with PLIIx.

Once I enable that setting in the extended surround option, what sound field should i use or doesn't it matter? i.e. Standard, sci-fi, adventure, etc (or will all redistribute to 7.1 just with different results, and if so do you have a suggestion based on experience?)
mattbooty is offline  
post #2090 of 3557 Old 07-15-2013, 06:07 PM
Member
 
dherrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: S. Florida
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by i2k View Post

Is anyone else experiencing drop outs on Pandora after upgrading to the 1.80 firmware? Is there a way to downgrade? And where would I find the firmware file.. ugh. Absolutely flawless previously and if I play my iPad/Pandora/Airplay to the receiver it isn't interrupted at all.

After upgrading I have often gotten the same access error and failure to recognize my DNLA Server however after a period of which could be up to a half hour, the Pandora connection and server are both recognized.

It happened when I upgraded to v 1.80. Now that both Pandora and my Server are both recognized, they seem to be able to be accessed more quickly than with the previous version.

i have the previous firmware v 1.77 file, but it 18MB zipped. This forum will not let me upload it due to its size. PM me with your email and I can send it if your service will take such a large attachment.
dherrick is offline  
post #2091 of 3557 Old 07-15-2013, 10:40 PM
Member
 
kenc1103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My old Martin Logan Dynamo subwoofer just broke down. Will this Polk PSW505 work well with the RX-V673? Or any other suggestions?
http://www.amazon.com/Polk-Audio-12-Inch-Powered-Subwoofer/dp/tech-data/B000092TT0/ref=de_a_smtd
kenc1103 is offline  
post #2092 of 3557 Old 07-15-2013, 11:35 PM
Member
 
kneo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick query to all Yammy owners.

Does your audio/video play stutter/blinks when you switch on the connected devices? e.g. if I am playing music through WDTV (which is connected to the AVR via HDMI) and I switch the TV on or off, the music stops playing for a second or two when the TV is being powered on (from standby). It resumes normally after that. My TV does not support ARC and I own a Yamaha 473.
kneo is offline  
post #2093 of 3557 Old 07-16-2013, 04:59 AM
Newbie
 
HarR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kneo View Post

Quick query to all Yammy owners.

Does your audio/video play stutter/blinks when you switch on the connected devices? e.g. if I am playing music through WDTV (which is connected to the AVR via HDMI) and I switch the TV on or off, the music stops playing for a second or two when the TV is being powered on (from standby). It resumes normally after that. My TV does not support ARC and I own a Yamaha 473.

Yes this is normal behaviour. My Onkyo did the same (until it brroke down after 3 years). I suppose this is the HDMI chain re-syncing.
HarR is offline  
post #2094 of 3557 Old 07-16-2013, 06:16 PM
Newbie
 
banman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dherrick View Post

After upgrading I have often gotten the same access error and failure to recognize my DNLA Server however after a period of which could be up to a half hour, the Pandora connection and server are both recognized.

It happened when I upgraded to v 1.80. Now that both Pandora and my Server are both recognized, they seem to be able to be accessed more quickly than with the previous version.

i have the previous firmware v 1.77 file, but it 18MB zipped. This forum will not let me upload it due to its size. PM me with your email and I can send it if your service will take such a large attachment.

I just "upgraded" to 1.80 as well and I regret it already. AV Controller simply can't find or connect to the receiver, even if I manually input the IP address. I phoned Yamaha tech support and they said this is the first time they've heard of a problem with 1.80.

Any chance you could e-mail or upload the 1.77 firmware to a Dropbox folder? I'll PM you with details.
banman is offline  
post #2095 of 3557 Old 07-16-2013, 07:01 PM
Member
 
dherrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: S. Florida
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by banman View Post

I just "upgraded" to 1.80 as well and I regret it already. AV Controller simply can't find or connect to the receiver, even if I manually input the IP address. I phoned Yamaha tech support and they said this is the first time they've heard of a problem with 1.80.

Any chance you could e-mail or upload the 1.77 firmware to a Dropbox folder? I'll PM you with details.

Sure. PM me with the details. I've got v1.64 as well if you want that.
dherrick is offline  
post #2096 of 3557 Old 07-16-2013, 10:03 PM
Newbie
 
banman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dherrick View Post

Sure. PM me with the details. I've got v1.64 as well if you want that.

I may have erred in blaming the firmware update for the AV Controller problem....something went wonky with my network that was probably unrelated.

I'd still like to have a backup copy of the old firmware just in case, though. Send me a PM with your e-mail address and I'll send you a Dropbox link where you can upload it.
banman is offline  
post #2097 of 3557 Old 07-16-2013, 10:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 881
Quote:
Originally Posted by banman View Post

I may have erred in blaming the firmware update for the AV Controller problem....something went wonky with my network that was probably unrelated.

I'd still like to have a backup copy of the old firmware just in case, though. Send me a PM with your e-mail address and I'll send you a Dropbox link where you can upload it.
You can get old firmware any time you want by calling Yamaha.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2098 of 3557 Old 07-17-2013, 12:55 PM
Member
 
emileg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Had a weird experience last night. A few minutes after turning off the receiver using HDMI control via the DVR remote, the receiver started turning itself on and off spontaneously for about five minutes. If it did it before, I wasn't around to notice. About a week ago I updated the firmware to v. 1.80.

Has anyone else had a similar experience?
emileg is offline  
post #2099 of 3557 Old 07-17-2013, 04:13 PM
Newbie
 
pqht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All,

New member here, this is my first post. Looking for some help from the crowd. Hooked up my RX-V673 last night. Before I write the problem, here is my setup summary:
Blu-Ray (Panasonic) -> RX-V673 (HDMI1); UVerse STB (Motorola) -> RX-V673 (HDMI2); Wii -> RX-V673 (AV5)
RX-V673 -> Samsung LED TV UN55EH6050 (HDMI1)

RX-V673 standby pass-through enabled, HDMI control off. Not sure of all the other settings, probably factory defaults.

Everything seemed to work well last night. However, when I powered on the TV this morning but left RX-V673 in standby, the cable set-top box seemed to go through a reboot process. After the reboot completed, all was working fine. Reboot takes over a minute, and the whole thing is just generally annoying. If I plug UVerse STB directly into Samsung TV over HDMI, there is no problem. Note, the STB is not the DVR, which is in another room. I had an identical issue with another AVR (Sony STR-DN1030, which I returned for other reasons). Even had the STB replaced (on the Sony AVR), but the problem persists. It only happens if the TV has been powered off for a while, say more than an hour or so (but I haven't measured this precisely).

So, it seems like UVerse STB and/or Samsung TV don't like having an AVR in between them.

Anyone else have this issue? And, can anyone suggest some ideas to try?

I googled around for a while, but didn't find anything useful. I think I recall stumbling on some forum (which I can't find again) that suggested adding a separate dedicated HDMI switch in between AVR and TV (or maybe it was between UVerse STB and AVR?) They didn't use this separate switch to do any actual switching, it was just some sort of powered "HDMI buffer" that kept the STB's HDMI signaling in "sync" or "hot". I'm probably butchering the technical details. But I don't want to spend more $money$ on another item to add and keep powered, unless that's the only way around this.

Thanks for any thoughts!

P.S. FWIW, in just the few hours of fiddling last night, I already like the RX-V673 much better than the Sony STR-DN1030, in case anyone was curious.
pqht is offline  
post #2100 of 3557 Old 07-18-2013, 01:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,221
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 117
I believe you can avoid HDMI problems with the UVerse STB by connecting it directly to the TV. Most Samsung TVs will pass DD 5.1 (from the onboard ATSC/QAM tuner as well as any device connected to the HDMI input) through the TV's optical output to an optical input on your AVR. Once you have connected the Samsung to the Yamaha using an optical cable, you should see an option to select either PCM or DD within the TV's audio setup menu. You may also need to check the audio output settings on the UVerse STB; it should also give you similar options for its HDMI output.
Rudy1 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Rx V673 Receiver
Gear in this thread - V673 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off