The "official" Yamaha RX-V673 thread. 7.2-Channel Network AVR - Page 85 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2521 of 3610 Old 10-17-2013, 06:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,786
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 930
Bond 007 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2522 of 3610 Old 10-17-2013, 06:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
kwaidonjin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Mine arrived today, a lot mor complicated then my Onkyo. I guess I will really have to READ THE MANUAL.
kwaidonjin is offline  
post #2523 of 3610 Old 10-17-2013, 06:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Cla55clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Durham, North Carolina
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Haha, rule no. 1 for AVRs: RTFM! Settin' it all up is the fun part though ...for me anyway.
kwaidonjin likes this.
Cla55clown is offline  
post #2524 of 3610 Old 10-17-2013, 08:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I didnt read my manual yet! Just pretty much hooked it up and turned it on. Found the menu pretty straightforward, though i didn't get into the calibration or anything. My pio vsx1018 downstairs is really complicated to me. I have never understood it. This 673 is for the living room upstairs. The real theater is downstairs which i am toying with the idea of replacing that pio. Really have my heart set on the onkyo 818, but i have always been a fan of yamaha. $400 is a steal for this avr, im really really really thinking of saving $300 and just getting another 673 for the downstairs too.

I like to set em up and get a feel for the unit first. Figure out as much as i can on my own. It makes it easier to understand the manual later on.
johnBlanker is offline  
post #2525 of 3610 Old 10-17-2013, 08:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
kwaidonjin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I ran YPAO and it set my fronts center and rears to large, It also set my sub xover at 200HZ. I have very large polk floor standing speakers, My center is huge.

So, now from what I read; I should set them all to small, and should I leave my sub at 200hz? That seems high.
kwaidonjin is offline  
post #2526 of 3610 Old 10-17-2013, 08:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,786
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwaidonjin View Post

I ran YPAO and it set my fronts center and rears to large, It also set my sub xover at 200HZ. I have very large polk floor standing speakers, My center is huge.

So, now from what I read; I should set them all to small, and should I leave my sub at 200hz? That seems high.
Try them all at Small and reduce the xover to 80.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2527 of 3610 Old 10-17-2013, 09:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
kwaidonjin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
On my Onkyo I could set the freq. response of each speaker. I haven't gotten far enough to see if I can do that yet?
kwaidonjin is offline  
post #2528 of 3610 Old 10-17-2013, 09:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,786
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwaidonjin View Post

On my Onkyo I could set the freq. response of each speaker. I haven't gotten far enough to see if I can do that yet?
Yes. The 673 has a built in 7 band Parametric EQ.
Menu>Setup>Manual Setup>Parametric EQ
kwaidonjin likes this.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2529 of 3610 Old 10-17-2013, 09:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
kwaidonjin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
OK, thanks. I probably shouldn't mess with that. It set my eq at flat, Is that a good start? Thanks for all your help.
kwaidonjin is offline  
post #2530 of 3610 Old 10-17-2013, 09:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,786
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwaidonjin View Post

OK, thanks. I probably shouldn't mess with that. It set my eq at flat, Is that a good start? Thanks for all your help.
Yes. Thats fine. yw

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2531 of 3610 Old 10-18-2013, 11:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 27
yes, 80hz is the usual for big tower speakers. I have klipsch quintets for the upstairs living room, hooked up to the yammy. I think I have my xover to 100 or 120hz, just because they are small and their "documented" freq response is 120hz. I like to listed to a bass drop track. Ya know, the ones where it starts off with a really high req bass note and then continues to dorp down to inaudible levels. You want to listen to holes or gaps/loud peaks, etc.

don't forget to place your sub in your main listening seat and crawl around the room to find the best bass (and then place the sub there).
johnBlanker is offline  
post #2532 of 3610 Old 10-18-2013, 11:19 PM
Newbie
 
cozmo69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am also having issues with my subwoofer and am looking for trouble shooting tips. After running ypao, the avr set my sub wooer level to +9.0 db. That seems awfully high. When listening to audio, the sub just doesn't seem very powerful, and I think it should be. If I set it to 0 db and run a test tone, I can't hear or feel the sub.

I am using a 1200. My other speakers are anrdew jones pioneers. I took the advice of the others here at set the speaker sizes all to small, but I can only really hear it on specific blurray scenes.
cozmo69 is offline  
post #2533 of 3610 Old 10-19-2013, 03:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,786
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by cozmo69 View Post

I am also having issues with my subwoofer and am looking for trouble shooting tips. After running ypao, the avr set my sub wooer level to +9.0 db. That seems awfully high. When listening to audio, the sub just doesn't seem very powerful, and I think it should be. If I set it to 0 db and run a test tone, I can't hear or feel the sub.

I am using a 1200. My other speakers are anrdew jones pioneers. I took the advice of the others here at set the speaker sizes all to small, but I can only really hear it on specific blurray scenes.
Turn the sub volume up a little and the sub xover all the way up. Then rerun YPAO. Keep playing with the sub volume until YPAO sets it at 0. Set all speakers to small and the 673 sub xover to 80. Then if the sub volume is still too low for you bump it up IN THE 673 to the desired level.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2534 of 3610 Old 10-19-2013, 07:15 AM
Newbie
 
cozmo69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

Turn the sub volume up a little and the sub xover all the way up. Then rerun YPAO. Keep playing with the sub volume until YPAO sets it at 0. Set all speakers to small and the 673 sub xover to 80. Then if the sub volume is still too low for you bump it up IN THE 673 to the desired level.

Many thanks, this is helpful. I have to set my gain on my sub to 2 o'clock the sub to be aligned with the rest of the speakers in YPAO. By aligned, I mean the sub level is set to -.5 db, and all the other speakers are close to that.
cozmo69 is offline  
post #2535 of 3610 Old 10-19-2013, 07:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 27
the sub doesn't have to be at the same level as the speakers. Just set it to how it sounds the best to you. I usually put it the sub level at zero in the receiver and adjust the volume knob on the back of the sub (its prob around half way) and then i just fine tune the level in the receiver every now and then. Sub is a real beotch. It's really never going to sound balanced, between BR discs, dvd, tv, pandora, airplay, the sub is really going to sound different. find the one thing you listen to the most and fine tune it to that. Im sure there is a quick shortcut to speaker levels on the remote? I haven't found it yet.
johnBlanker is offline  
post #2536 of 3610 Old 10-19-2013, 09:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,786
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post

the sub doesn't have to be at the same level as the speakers. Just set it to how it sounds the best to you. I usually put it the sub level at zero in the receiver and adjust the volume knob on the back of the sub (its prob around half way) and then i just fine tune the level in the receiver every now and then. Sub is a real beotch. It's really never going to sound balanced, between BR discs, dvd, tv, pandora, airplay, the sub is really going to sound different. find the one thing you listen to the most and fine tune it to that. Im sure there is a quick shortcut to speaker levels on the remote? I haven't found it yet.
Bad advice. If you dont know how to do it properly thats fine. You can do it any way you want but you shouldnt suggest the wrong way to everyone else.
Shortcut to speaker levels: Menu > Setup > Manual Setup > Level

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2537 of 3610 Old 10-19-2013, 09:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,786
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 930
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2538 of 3610 Old 10-19-2013, 09:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,786
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by cozmo69 View Post

Many thanks, this is helpful. I have to set my gain on my sub to 2 o'clock the sub to be aligned with the rest of the speakers in YPAO. By aligned, I mean the sub level is set to -.5 db, and all the other speakers are close to that.
Good deal. You can leave the sub alone now and bump up the sub volume in the 673 if desired. Is the sub xover in the 673 set at 80?
kwaidonjin likes this.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2539 of 3610 Old 10-19-2013, 11:27 AM
Newbie
 
cozmo69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

Good deal. You can leave the sub alone now and bump up the sub volume in the 673 if desired. Is the sub xover in the 673 set at 80?

Yup, seems to be working good now. Thank you again.
cozmo69 is offline  
post #2540 of 3610 Old 10-19-2013, 11:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,786
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by cozmo69 View Post

Yup, seems to be working good now. Thank you again.
YW. Glad to hear it.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2541 of 3610 Old 10-19-2013, 06:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
kwaidonjin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So, will I get better surround out of movies if I use my back rear surrounds or use them as front presence and use DSP 3d?
kwaidonjin is offline  
post #2542 of 3610 Old 10-19-2013, 06:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
kwaidonjin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am glad I got mine when I did price just jumped $100 on Amazon
kwaidonjin is offline  
post #2543 of 3610 Old 10-19-2013, 06:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,786
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwaidonjin View Post

So, will I get better surround out of movies if I use my back rear surrounds or use them as front presence and use DSP 3d?
I prefer FP most of the time. But I have mine set up so that I can use either. I have both hooked up and can switch with the remote.
kwaidonjin likes this.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2544 of 3610 Old 10-19-2013, 06:46 PM
Newbie
 
Munky0512's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone, by any chance is there someone who can provide me with the service manual for this receiver? Or someone who knows where can I get it. Thanks.

Enviado desde mi GT-I9500 usando Tapatalk
Munky0512 is offline  
post #2545 of 3610 Old 10-19-2013, 06:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,786
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Munky0512 View Post

Hi everyone, by any chance is there someone who can provide me with the service manual for this receiver? Or someone who knows where can I get it. Thanks.

Enviado desde mi GT-I9500 usando Tapatalk
Do you mean Owners Manual?

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2546 of 3610 Old 10-19-2013, 08:01 PM
Newbie
 
Munky0512's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, the service manual shows the whole system parts, circuits boards, parts and components.

Enviado desde mi GT-I9500 usando Tapatalk
Munky0512 is offline  
post #2547 of 3610 Old 10-19-2013, 08:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,786
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Munky0512 View Post

No, the service manual shows the whole system parts, circuits boards, parts and components.

Enviado desde mi GT-I9500 usando Tapatalk
I have no idea who would have something like that other than Yamaha or a service center.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2548 of 3610 Old 10-19-2013, 09:05 PM
Newbie
 
Munky0512's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sometimes you can find them online, but I can't find it. Thanks anyway, Also Im looking for parts, the thing is my less than a month old 673 decided to stop working, and because I bought it from outside the United States I can't send it back for exchange, the cost would be almost half of the price I payed for it. So a technician adviced me to repair it.

Enviado desde mi GT-I9500 usando Tapatalk
Munky0512 is offline  
post #2549 of 3610 Old 10-19-2013, 10:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

Bad advice. If you dont know how to do it properly thats fine. You can do it any way you want but you shouldnt suggest the wrong way to everyone else.
Shortcut to speaker levels: Menu > Setup > Manual Setup > Level
Thats how i do it. Dont judge my knowledge of av science. Instead of critiquing my advice, then share your expert opinion grand master. And thats not a shortcut, that exactly how to get the speaker level setup in the menu.
johnBlanker is offline  
post #2550 of 3610 Old 10-21-2013, 01:32 PM
Newbie
 
Munky0512's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was it my fault ?
Last time i used my RX-V673, I was testing some settings and adjusting other stuff, the day before I was complaining about how low was the volume and started searching for an answer, then I found someone who was going through the same and some told him to turn up the tone level or the volume trim so i did the same, but i didn´t thought of how much was too much and turned up to the top which is +6 and for the subwoofer +3 (which is not the top) ..... Long story short, The technician told me there was a blown channel and need´s repair. Do you think the problem was because of the tone level being too high or could there be another reason? I already checked the wiring, the place where the receiver is, it´s well ventilated, speakers are 8 ohm and match the receiver capabilities (HKTS15) , Volume level was at -30 and was in use for about an hour or two. I'm worried something else has been damaged by this, what do you think?
Munky0512 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Rx V673 Receiver
Gear in this thread - V673 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off